Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Compaq  (Read 2780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

twist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • Last login:December 06, 2002, 04:03:20 pm
Compaq
« on: June 26, 2002, 05:33:00 am »
I am using a compaq keyboard for my control panel. I'm not sure how to tell the 2 different rows.

Here are some pics:
http://www.f.bz/DCP_0052.JPG
http://www.f.bz/DCP_0053.JPG
http://www.f.bz/DCP_0054.JPG
http://www.f.bz/DCP_0055.JPG


I think that the first 4 and last 4 is the small group, and the 17 in the middle is the big group. See how, on the last picture, the first 4 are not connected, and the last 4 are not connected.

Also, on the other matrix sheet (with the buttons), only those 8 are connected; so I figured that's what it is.

Am I right?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

twist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • Last login:December 06, 2002, 04:03:20 pm
Re: Compaq
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2002, 02:05:43 pm »
Anyone? Any help?  ???
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

JustMichael

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1438
  • Last login:September 27, 2015, 01:19:40 am
  • Mmmmm!! Cheesecake!!
Re: Compaq
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2002, 03:04:40 pm »
Normally, one sheet of mylar connects to one side of the matrix and the other sheet of mylar connects to the other side of the matrix.
You will need to find where on the mylar the key you want is at and then trace it back to where it connects to the pcb on each sheet of mylar.  Connecting these two points on the pcb will act like that key is being pressed.

If you are going to use this on a 1-player cab with a couple buttons then it will most likely work quite well (and cheap too).

If you are trying to do this for a 2-player Street Fighter style controls then you will in all likelyhood have problems with keys not getting recognized because of too many keys being pressed at once.  An I-PAC would be a far better choice for such a control setup.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

twist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • Last login:December 06, 2002, 04:03:20 pm
Re: Compaq
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2002, 03:25:39 pm »
Quote
Normally, one sheet of mylar connects to one side of the matrix and the other sheet of mylar connects to the other side of the matrix.
You will need to find where on the mylar the key you want is at and then trace it back to where it connects to the pcb on each sheet of mylar.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

u_rebelscum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3633
  • Last login:April 21, 2010, 03:06:26 pm
  • You rebel scum
    • Mame:Analog+
Re: Compaq
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2002, 02:31:08 pm »
Quote
it's only going to be a 1 player thing, with 6 buttons and 1 joystick. Is that OK?

Most keyboards, even if you get around ghosting, can only handle 4 keys pressed at the same time, even though the original IBM PC keyboard spec called for 6.  With a 4 key limit, you can only get two buttons + a diagonal on the joystick at a time.  With a 6 key limit, you can get a diagonal and 4 buttons at a time (if you can find the correct keys to solder to get around the ghosting problems).

I bet the compaq keyboard has a cheap encoder with a four key limit.  So probably not okay. :(
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
Robin
Knowledge is Power

twist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • Last login:December 06, 2002, 04:03:20 pm
Re: Compaq
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2002, 03:14:42 pm »
So I can have 1 joystick, 2 buttons, 1 start button, and a 1player button? Ug...
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

The Man

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Last login:August 27, 2009, 03:41:49 pm
  • I'm easy like Sunday mornin!
Re: Compaq
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2002, 03:21:02 pm »
I have hacked a keyboard, used a Hagstrom encoder, used an I-Pac encoder and hacked a joy pad.

u_rebelscum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3633
  • Last login:April 21, 2010, 03:06:26 pm
  • You rebel scum
    • Mame:Analog+
Re: Compaq
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2002, 05:11:55 pm »
Quote
So I can have 1 joystick, 2 buttons, 1 start button, and a 1player button? Ug...

I wasn't including the start buttons or coin buttons, just the action buttons and the joystick in the limits.  You should not worry about pressing starter start, coin, button 1, and the joystick at the same time.

But the usual maxium limit for a keyboard hack is 1 joystick, 2 action buttons, and (almost) any number of UI buttons (start, coin, pause, escape, tab, etc) :(.  The reason the number of UI bottons aren't as limited is because you don't need to press them at the same time, like you do need with the joystick and action buttons.  A third action button can be added if it is not used at the same time as the other buttons.  

Of course, it does depend on the keyboard encoder of the keyboard you are hacking.  A high quality encoder could handle 1 joystick and 4 buttons pressed at the same time if hacked correctly.  So these encoders might be okay for a 1 joystick, 6 action button hack, if you don't need to press more than four buttons and the joystick at a diagonal.
This is what people have been trying to say about the problems with keyboard hacking.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
Robin
Knowledge is Power

twist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • Last login:December 06, 2002, 04:03:20 pm
Re: Compaq
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2002, 05:13:33 pm »
I'm going to try the keyboard hack, to see if it works. If it doesn't work, I'll eith hack a gamepad or buy an I-PAC.

I also just realized that I can hook more than 1 wire per each of the small pack of wires. Now I can have the buttons I want.

Also, I'm probalbly not going to be pressing more than 2 buttons at a time, so no problem (1 joystick direction, and a button)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

u_rebelscum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3633
  • Last login:April 21, 2010, 03:06:26 pm
  • You rebel scum
    • Mame:Analog+
Re: Compaq
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2002, 05:39:04 pm »
Quote
I'm going to try the keyboard hack, to see if it works. If it doesn't work, I'll eith hack a gamepad or buy an I-PAC.

I also just realized that I can hook more than 1 wire per each of the small pack of wires. Now I can have the buttons I want.

Also, I'm probalbly not going to be pressing more than 2 buttons at a time, so no problem (1 joystick direction, and a button)

Remember that a diagonal direction is two button pressed at the same time (left & down for example).  So that's three pressed at the same time.  Of course, you know you cannot press (left & right) or (up & down) at the same time, which means you don't need to worry about them ghosting each other.

But three buttons at a time can work fine with keyboard hack, just watch for ghosting.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
Robin
Knowledge is Power

twist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • Last login:December 06, 2002, 04:03:20 pm
Re: Compaq
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2002, 05:56:07 pm »
Thanks URS for the tip.

What stinks about my cab is that I don't have a circular saw to cut the wood easily. I'm doing all of it with a hand saw :(. I spent almost all day working on it, and didn't get much done. Boo-hoo!

Anyways -- I'm hoping the keyboard hack works for my purposes. This is defienetly comin' along.

There was a Dual Terminal Barrier Strip from RadioShack, but they discontinued it. I either have to buy a 5-position one that is the same, with less positions, or buy some other ones.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

fullerlee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
  • Last login:November 30, 2003, 07:19:07 pm
  • I'm building my second MAME cabinet. Oh yes.
    • Cocktail Cab
Re: Compaq
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2002, 05:24:37 pm »
I hacked a keyboard to give 2 players each with an 8way joystick and 6 buttons. The keyboard is a cheapo $5 form Fry's. I have no problems whatsoever

This is an very good tutorial on avoiding ghosting/blocking:
http://www.mameworld.net/emuadvice/keyhack2.html

I also went the handsaw route. Hard work. Good job I had a rasp to striaghten all those wonky edges.

Good luck.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

twist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • Last login:December 06, 2002, 04:03:20 pm
Re: Compaq
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2002, 07:40:42 pm »
I just realized my computer wouldn't fit in my cabinet with a screen, so I'm either going to put my comp next to or under my cocktail.

Fullerlee...I'm happy to see I'm not the only one who "handsawed." Yeah, it's annoying fixxing all the jagged and rough edges, but I manage; also, I won't notice them after I cover my cab.

Thanks for the support.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »