Main Woodworking Reviews Software Monitor/Video Maximus Arcade
Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Project Announcements Artwork Consoles Buy/Sell/Trade Meet Up
Arcade Miscellaneous Everything Else Politics n Religion Forum Discussion Wiki Discussion GroovyMAME
DOS/WinCab Merit/JVL Touchscreen Automated Projects Driving & Racing Project Arcade Old Boards
Linux Restorations Pinball MaLa Frontend controls.dat Old Archives

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Arcade | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS


  

Author Topic: Cruisin' USA in MAME??  (Read 1574 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

scuzzie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • I'm a llama!
Cruisin' USA in MAME??
« on: July 28, 2007, 03:35:55 am »
Hey guys, just got hold of a Cruisin' USA cab complete and was wondering if the controls, (steering wheel, pedals and gear shift), can be adapted to MAME?

many thanks on anyone's thoughts . . .

rockin_rick

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
Re: Cruisin' USA in MAME??
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2007, 06:50:30 pm »
I don't know what you are trying to accomplish, but it would probably cost less to just use a original PCB/HD.  MAME Cruisin' needs mucho CPU power, like a top of the line core 2 duo.

Part 2 - I would think that you can adapt all of that with available products.  If cruisin has a force feedback wheel (I'm unsure), then that may throw a kink in it.

Good luck,
Rick
If I do not respond to your post in a timely manner, feel free to PM me.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+53)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8655
  • Globally Moderated
Re: Cruisin' USA in MAME??
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2007, 07:02:14 pm »
Id say your better off retro fitting a PC wheel into the cab, and like the previous poster said, Cruisin USA takes alot of CPU power, but if youre gonna run a model 2 EMU or even just play Pole Position, you should be ok

scuzzie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Cruisin' USA in MAME??
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2007, 01:56:15 am »
Thanks for your replies, what I'm hoping to do is use the Cruisin'USA cab for all the MAME driving games  . . . . I've alrady built a MAME cab with Keybourd emulator etc and was wondering if the original controls in the Cruisin' cab can be interfaced in this way.

thanks

Green Giant

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Cruisin' USA in MAME??
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2007, 03:20:52 am »
Another option is a modded xbox or ps2.  There are tons of driving games out there for either system, and they have been used in the past for driving cabs.  Most driving games for mame are old, and the newer games run to slow.  With an xbox or ps2, you could also run the mame games you want along with games from snes, gen, nes, and what not.
"He lives down there in his valley,
The cat stands tall and green,
Well, he ain't no prize, and there's no women his size, And that's why the cat's so mean"

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1133
Re: Cruisin' USA in MAME??
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2007, 09:07:55 am »
Thanks for your replies, what I'm hoping to do is use the Cruisin'USA cab for all the MAME driving games  . . . . I've alrady built a MAME cab with Keybourd emulator etc and was wondering if the original controls in the Cruisin' cab can be interfaced in this way.

Another question you may want to find an answer to is whether you can adapt your cabs driving controls with the newest version of the M2 emulator.  It emulates several racing games.  Daytona, Indy 500, Sega Rally Ch., Sega Touring Car Ch., etc...  Also Project64 emulates the N64 version of Cruisin' USA...

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28