Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Monitor problem need input!!  (Read 2104 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Heavy Barrel

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Monitor problem need input!!
« on: March 19, 2002, 03:09:21 pm »
Hello all, I'm new to the board and have a question about one of my arcade monitors.  I picked up a Double Dragon game a couple of weeks ago for just the cabinet and the thing works great.  The only problem is the monitor has a slightly pulsing purple spot a little up and to the left of the center.  It doesn't ruin the game play at all, allthough when the blue player goes into it he looks like the red player other than that the picture is clear and crisp exceptfor the very top of the screen.  It slants to the left at the top 1/4" of the screen.  The screen is black when the power is off with no burn in of images.  That about explains it, now what I need to know if a cap kit and resoldering the wires will fix it or I need to do somthing else.  I plan on using the monitor for my mame cabinet if I can get it fixed.  Any info would be very helpful. ???
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Dave_K.

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1806
    • Arcade Fever
Re: Monitor problem need input!!
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2002, 09:48:21 am »
Sounds like magnetic interferance (or the automatic degauser isn't working on the monitor).

DerrickRe

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Monitor problem need input!!
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2002, 04:22:12 pm »
Quote
The only problem is the monitor has a slightly pulsing purple spot a little up and to the left of the center.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Heavy Barrel

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Monitor problem need input!!
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2002, 04:49:43 pm »
Quote

First get the monitor test program.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/article.php?sid=960

Then click on the colour setting.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

DerrickRe

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Monitor problem need input!!
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2002, 08:07:28 pm »
Quote

I have read all the dangers on monitors and electrical shock.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Dave_K.

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1806
    • Arcade Fever
Re: Monitor problem need input!!
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2002, 09:48:54 am »
Derrick, great post!!!

tetsu96

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • MAME On...
    • My Old Cabinet / MAME32 build site
Re: Monitor problem need input!!
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2002, 10:05:05 pm »
Not to contradict, but wasn't the purity pair of rings the rings FURTHEST from the CRT screen?

My bad if I'm wrong... ;D

A few other things - Convergence probably will never be "perfect" so settle when you get to "really good".  And I also recommend either having a friend help or to have a mirror so you can watch what you're doing to the screen as you adjust the rings...

Here's a good site that touches on just about everything for Television CRTs (and Arcade Monitors fall into the same category for the most part):  http://www.repairfaq.org/REPAIR/F_monfaq.html
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

bullish4

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Monitor problem need input!!
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2002, 06:26:57 am »
Before you go through all of that, try an external degaussing coil first.  You can buy them online for $25, or a local TV repairman may lend you his probably not much more than $10 if you leave a deposit.  

I give a 90% chance that is all it will take to fix your problem.

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31