Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: 3D modeling with artwork  (Read 2178 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NAH

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 64
  • Last login:November 17, 2016, 06:32:02 pm
    • Mame Journal
3D modeling with artwork
« on: April 18, 2003, 05:32:32 pm »
What program is good to use if you want to add artwork you have made onto a 3D model of your arcade cabinet?
I've seen a few people do this but haven't figured out how... I'm not much of a graphic artist..

or add controls on top of your artwork in an isometric view.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2003, 05:33:11 pm by NAH »

shmokes

  • Just think of all the suffering in this world that could have been avoided had I just been a little better informed. :)
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10471
  • Last login:September 24, 2016, 06:50:42 pm
  • Don't tread on me.
    • Jake Moses
Re:3D modeling with artwork
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2003, 05:49:09 pm »
3D Studio Max is great, but costs an arm and a leg and is very complex.

I don't know what else people are using.  Oscar has made 3D models of many arcade parts, trackball, joystics, buttons, etc. in Autocad, but I don't know if you can apply textures (artwork) to your 3D designs in Autocad or not.
Check out my website for in-depth reviews of children's books, games, and educational apps for the iPad:

Best Kid iPad Apps

VMJ Team

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 465
  • Last login:July 09, 2007, 09:29:50 am
    • Virtual Music Jukebox
Re:3D modeling with artwork
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2003, 09:37:17 pm »
Yes, textures can be applied in autocad...Acad is not as robust as 3d studio...but in my opnion...much easier to use...but then again, I learned AutoCAD way back in High school when it was known as DiscoverCad!

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17482
  • Last login:Today at 01:45:27 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re:3D modeling with artwork
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2003, 11:21:58 am »
Autocad will get you by, but if you want the model to look halfway shaded and photorealistic then consider maya or 3dsmax.  

**Hint**  Do you think peter and myself can actually afford to pay for max or maya to do all of those 3darcade models?  

Cue-Ball

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 176
  • Last login:August 28, 2006, 07:43:02 pm
  • Discs of Tron > *
    • Grant's Game Grid
Re:3D modeling with artwork
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2003, 04:12:54 pm »
Actually, just about anyone can afford Maya as long as it's for non-commercial use.  You can download a copy for free or get a copy of Maya with a DVD tutorial and book for only $20.

http://www.aliaswavefront.com/en/products/maya/ple/index.shtml

Now, if only i knew how to use it....

)p(

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:March 27, 2009, 03:38:15 am
  • We are the Galaxians...
    • Emulaxian:cabinet and frontend
Re:3D modeling with artwork
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2003, 02:14:54 am »
Actually, just about anyone can afford Maya as long as it's for non-commercial use.  You can download a copy for free or get a copy of Maya with a DVD tutorial and book for only $20.

http://www.aliaswavefront.com/en/products/maya/ple/index.shtml

Now, if only i knew how to use it....


can you export to other fileformats then the special mamya learing format with it though?

ps. hc is right me to uses a ... version of 3dstudio...we have a whole bookshelf of older versions of 3dstudio and autocad though...but they belong to my girlfriend  ;)