Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: TV vs std monitor (newbie q)  (Read 1896 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

waoh

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
TV vs std monitor (newbie q)
« on: March 25, 2002, 08:41:53 am »
By surfing around I've seen a couple of dudes using PC-monitors in their cabs...
I plan to use a TV in my, and don't see any reasons to use a monitor. (I'm only gonna use it for playing old "lowres" games).

Monitors for me doesnt get any arcade feeling at all, im I wrong?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4941
Re: TV vs std monitor (newbie q)
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2002, 09:00:37 am »
Dont' go composite, to crappy.

SVid is the best option in my mind.  

http://www.xiaou2.homestead.com/turbo.html

Take a look at the differences.   This should answer all questions.

You can also go with a true arcade CRT using a jpac or hacked cable.  But you will be stuck in dos and have to worry about killing the monitor until you get the configs right.  You should get better output (ANYONE HAVE A DIGITAL CAMERA AND BOTH ARCADECRT / SVID TV?) but if you don't have the monitor, it will cost you!

So go svid and you wont be sorry.

btw, the trouble is usually finding a 25" since they are almost always 27".  some 27" will fit in a standard cab, but bring a tape measurer to the store.  Also, stay away from a geforce card since you don't know the TV-out chip since every manufacturer sells different versions.  Some a great, some suck donkey d@!#.  ATI is GREAT for tvout (real ATI not the licensed from ATI onces you can find on EBay).  And after all this, you should be good to go.


« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

SteveJ34

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 806
Re: TV vs std monitor (newbie q)
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2002, 07:45:09 pm »
After much reading of other posts both here and other site links, I went with an ATI All-In-Wonder 128 Pro for S-Video out and a Toshiba model 27A41 for TV.

The Toshiba is 27 inch screen with width dimensions less than 26 inches so it fits within the cab layout I'm following for basic desing from Lusid's plans.

I've had the computer and TV setup working for a couple of weeks now as I build the cab and cp.

Looks good to me.

Best of Luck with your design and build. I know I am enjoying mine.

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

tetsu96

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • MAME On...
    • My Old Cabinet / MAME32 build site
Re: TV vs std monitor (newbie q)
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2002, 11:22:18 pm »
You can use an arcade monitor with windows - just throw a scan converter in there.

The best quality is gonna be a direct connection from pc to arcade monitor using arcadeos, but for slightly less quality, the scan converter works fine and makes life a LOT easier...

But if you do stick with a TV, then definatey s-video.  And make sure you use a vid card that does good tv-out (nvidias are great cards but don't do tv-out very well, ati from what I hear does).
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31