Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: At what stage should the cabinet be "stable"  (Read 2527 times)

Teebor

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:June 04, 2009, 12:39:06 pm
  • What does this button do??
At what stage should the cabinet be "stable"
« on: January 25, 2007, 12:43:23 pm »

This is my first time actually constructing a cabinet shell and certainly first attempt at constructing it from wood(had several goes at the control panel with varying successes  ;D )

So far interior shelf is in and fitted (with additional supports for the outsize monitor) and attached firmly to the side panels.

The base is on and a small section of the back panel as well as the "shelf area" for the control panel to be mounted.

Now these are not a great deal of side to side surface area contact parts but the cabinet still seems "wobbly" to me.

Still to go on are several of the upper parts of the cabinet (roof, monitor area,etc) which will constitute a much larger support structure than is currently in place.

But my concern is that it just doesn't feel sturdy currently, and although the parts to go on yet should strengthen it more, it is additional weight for the top.

So I guess what I am asking from you more seasoned veterans is, at what point in the cabinet construction can it be considered "strong" for moving or for judging if it requires additional support, etc??