Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: keywiz help please  (Read 2084 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kiddk1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • Last login:May 08, 2017, 12:53:02 pm
  • HAP KI DO
keywiz help please
« on: December 17, 2006, 10:01:51 pm »
well my keywiz has been a PITA ever since I got it, it works when it feels like it, I had it programmed and working fine by the end of the summer, I fired up the game a couple days ago and went to play and none of the custom buttons are working, I went into the program mode everything is still as I programmed it, I loaded that profile and still nothing, I give up.  I was thinking of the IPAC???
« Last Edit: December 18, 2006, 09:22:45 am by kiddk1 »
Its easy to like someone,

If you dont know them very well.

Donkey_Kong

  • heh. I dont know what it stands for but I'm immature and thats hilarious.
  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1693
  • Last login:February 24, 2019, 01:21:03 pm
    • CNC Machines
Re: Getting rid of my keywiz soon need a recommendation for another encoder
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2006, 10:07:55 pm »
Pretty contrasting information compared to a statement you made a few months ago...

I have a keywiz it works great and RandyT is excellent in helping you with anything you need.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=56750.msg558143#msg558143


Care to enlighten us on what has transpired since then?
Carved Signs, Custom Gameroom Signs, and Arcade Game Decor and now CNC MACHINES by Melissa Jones

Fozzy The Bear

  • Handbags at dawn in here!!!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:September 18, 2011, 11:29:59 am
  • It's Been One Of Those Days... Don't Ask!
Re: Getting rid of my keywiz soon need a recommendation for another encoder
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2006, 10:09:45 pm »
well my keywiz has been a PITA ever since I got it, it works when it feels like it, I had it programmed and working fine by the end of the summer, I fired up the game a couple days ago and went to play and none of the custom buttons are working, I went into the program mode everything is still as I programmed it, I loaded that profile and still nothing, I give up.  I was thinking of the IPAC???

This is a rare occourance!! It's not common for the KeyWiz to be any problem at all.  If you're having this sort of problem then contact Randy, he'll no doubt be happy to sort it out for you.

Making this sort of post on here is not helpful, and could lead Newbies reading it, to misinterpret your comments, and believe that there is a problem with the KeyWiz in general, which is simply not the case.

Best Regards,
Julian (Fozzy The Bear)
Most bottles and jars contain at least twenty-five percent recycled Pacman.
And research indicates that Space Invaders are strongly attracted to people who have recently eaten meat pies.

Donkey_Kong

  • heh. I dont know what it stands for but I'm immature and thats hilarious.
  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1693
  • Last login:February 24, 2019, 01:21:03 pm
    • CNC Machines
Re: Getting rid of my keywiz soon need a recommendation for another encoder
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2006, 10:19:22 pm »
What Fozzy said...and you should maybe give Randy a shot on some Tech support.

I could be wrong, but it sounds like you gave up REALLY easy on it! Then again...How much $$ do you want for it?

Carved Signs, Custom Gameroom Signs, and Arcade Game Decor and now CNC MACHINES by Melissa Jones

loadman

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4304
  • Last login:March 13, 2019, 03:09:17 am
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Getting rid of my keywiz soon need a recommendation for another encoder
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2006, 11:48:35 pm »
What Fozzy said...and you should maybe give Randy a shot on some Tech support.
Ditto

It's very rare for a keywiz or I-pac to Fail...

I would only 'dump' on a product if it failed and my call for support from the supplier proved unsatisfactory
« Last Edit: December 17, 2006, 11:54:04 pm by loadman »

Havok

  • Keeper of the __Blue_Stars___
  • Trade Count: (+17)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4505
  • Last login:December 26, 2018, 02:53:34 pm
  • No law or ordinance is mightier than understanding
Re: Getting rid of my keywiz soon need a recommendation for another encoder
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2006, 01:30:06 am »
I've had a KeyWiz for almost a year now, and it continues to perform flawlessly in my cab. Do you get any error messages? What kind of troubleshooting have you performed? Have you tried re-downloading the KeyWiz software?

RandyT

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6249
  • Last login:Today at 10:41:22 am
  • Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
    • GroovyGameGear.com
Re: Getting rid of my keywiz soon need a recommendation for another encoder
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2006, 04:01:30 am »
well my keywiz has been a PITA ever since I got it, it works when it feels like it, I had it programmed and working fine by the end of the summer, I fired up the game a couple days ago and went to play and none of the custom buttons are working, I went into the program mode everything is still as I programmed it, I loaded that profile and still nothing, I give up.  I was thinking of the IPAC???

Sounds like something on your system has changed.  Have you tried testing your panel with Notepad or Ghostkey to see if the KeyWiz is putting out what you expect it to?  If it is, then the issue lies elsewhere. 

Drop me an email and I'll try to see if I can help you find what is going on with your setup.

RandyT


*edit*

I see that a few months ago I sent a copy of Ghostkey to you and asked you to do a couple of tests and report back.  You didn't tell me the results of the tests, only that you had it working.   :dunno   

Program the unit with the software in interactive mode then run Ghostkey and compare what you see what you set up in the software.  Once you do this, drop me an email with the results and we can go from there.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2006, 04:20:57 am by RandyT »

kiddk1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • Last login:May 08, 2017, 12:53:02 pm
  • HAP KI DO
Re: Getting rid of my keywiz soon need a recommendation for another encoder
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2006, 09:19:53 am »
Pretty contrasting information compared to a statement you made a few months ago...

I have a keywiz it works great and RandyT is excellent in helping you with anything you need.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=56750.msg558143#msg558143


Care to enlighten us on what has transpired since then?

Donkey, thanks for your words of wisdom
it was working great once I programmed it, it will not load my setup now and it only loads the default rom values. Randy sorry about not getting back to you notepad did put out the proper key functions, I will test it again, can you send me ghostkey again kiddk1@yahoo.com, thanks


fozzy you are correct, I edited the title.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2006, 09:23:23 am by kiddk1 »
Its easy to like someone,

If you dont know them very well.

_) (V) (-)

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 545
  • Last login:November 19, 2018, 11:56:39 am
  • There's supposed to be an earth shattering KaBoom!
Re: keywiz help please
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2006, 11:53:16 am »
So how much do you want for it?

(2nd dibs, Just in case Donkey Kong dosen't want it)  8)

Donkey_Kong

  • heh. I dont know what it stands for but I'm immature and thats hilarious.
  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1693
  • Last login:February 24, 2019, 01:21:03 pm
    • CNC Machines
Re: keywiz help please
« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2006, 12:13:48 pm »
So how much do you want for it?

(2nd dibs, Just in case Donkey Kong dosen't want it)  8)

Wow are believers or what! Maybe just suckers...bidding on broken stuff!

I was just trying to make a point by that statement as I'm sure you are CykoMF.
Carved Signs, Custom Gameroom Signs, and Arcade Game Decor and now CNC MACHINES by Melissa Jones

kiddk1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • Last login:May 08, 2017, 12:53:02 pm
  • HAP KI DO
Re: keywiz help please
« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2006, 12:49:22 pm »
randy t is helping me now, well see what happens
Its easy to like someone,

If you dont know them very well.

_) (V) (-)

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 545
  • Last login:November 19, 2018, 11:56:39 am
  • There's supposed to be an earth shattering KaBoom!
Re: keywiz help please
« Reply #11 on: December 18, 2006, 01:04:56 pm »
My point is: I thought I destroyed mine by getting it too hot and melting traces off the PCB. After a little repair job, it works fine.
Chances are it is a change in something else (like a program) causing his problems.

kiddk1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • Last login:May 08, 2017, 12:53:02 pm
  • HAP KI DO
Re: keywiz help please
« Reply #12 on: December 18, 2006, 01:42:31 pm »
nope no changes, I turned off my cab back in aug/sept, and fired it up the other day and it seems none of the keys are working, other than the ones in the default rom.  Randy sent me ghostkey so I will run it as soon as I get time and see what happens.  thanks
Its easy to like someone,

If you dont know them very well.