Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Putting it all together  (Read 2574 times)

Leif

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:September 18, 2010, 11:39:37 pm
Putting it all together
« on: November 07, 2006, 10:40:05 am »
I've been trolling for 2 years now... time to sign up.  I've been working on my cabinet for what seems like forever and I'm trying to wrap it all up in the coming weeks.  If you don't mind me asking a few questions as I seem a bit lost "finishing" this thing up.  As a quick note to anyone building a cabinet... DO NOT TURN THIS THING ON WITHOUT BEING COMPLETELY FINISHED.  I went six months without touching it progress wise and just played the hell out of it, un tmolded and a blank unfinished MDF panel in place... worst mistake ever.   :laugh2:

Question 1:

What comes first... the chicken or the egg.

Or in this case, the wood or the artwork?

Should I cut the wood first and then cut the artwork?  Print the artwork, cut it out and then transfer that to wood?  What about the acrylic?  How do I drill through the acrylic into the artwork to line up my button holes if I don't want to remove the protective covering?  Do I drill from behind the board and into the acrylic?

Question 2: