Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Free Credits!! a Radio Mode bug in 3.1.1  (Read 1466 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Cadder

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Last login:February 15, 2008, 09:58:10 am
Free Credits!! a Radio Mode bug in 3.1.1
« on: September 20, 2006, 09:03:29 am »
I have wincab set up for the default 3 plays per credit.

Do the following:
1. don't put any coins in.
2. press radio mode button. (turns Radio mode off, a random song appears in the playlist.
3. let it start playing.
4. press radio mode button again. (turns off radio mode)
5. press radio mode button again. (turns on radio mode - another song appears in the queue)
6. repeat steps 4,5 a few times until there are a few songs in the queue.
7. press clear queue.
Viola! you get a credit for every song in the queue.

Perhaps radio mode should check if there are songs in the queue before it adds one, or alternatively, songs added to the queue have a flag to tell wincab what method was used to add them to the queue and credit accordingly?

cheers
Cadder
Cad nominatim, CAD per professio, cad per vis.

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4575
  • Last login:September 21, 2019, 04:59:49 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: Free Credits!! a Radio Mode bug in 3.1.1
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2006, 09:35:21 am »
Radio mode is supposed to check to see if a song is playing; this must be a new bug introduced when I rewrote the virtual disc changer.  I'll take a look at it.

(There is at least one other way to fool the credits system, noted in the other thread.  I'm tempted to leave these bugs in to prevent the jukebox from being used commercially... LOL)

Thanks for the bug report!

--Chris
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4575
  • Last login:September 21, 2019, 04:59:49 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: Free Credits!! a Radio Mode bug in 3.1.1
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2006, 08:01:03 pm »
Radio mode is supposed to check to see if a song is playing; this must be a new bug introduced when I rewrote the virtual disc changer.  I'll take a look at it.

(There is at least one other way to fool the credits system, noted in the other thread.  I'm tempted to leave these bugs in to prevent the jukebox from being used commercially... LOL)

Thanks for the bug report!

--Chris
OK, this is fixed; it'll be in tonight's 3.1.2 release.

--Chris
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com