Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: # of buttons for LEGO Star Wars?  (Read 833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ninten-doh

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 584
  • Last login:March 31, 2017, 10:37:18 am
  • I promise sweetie, this is my last cab purchase
# of buttons for LEGO Star Wars?
« on: June 27, 2006, 08:45:34 am »
My son will take a sledge hammer and crush my soon to be built cab if it does not have enough buttons to play LEGO Star Wars.  I did a search and I've read anywhere from 4 to 6 per player.  I was hoping to get away with 4 buttons per player.  Is this sufficient?

gavkiwi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 235
  • Last login:January 11, 2020, 10:22:20 am
  • 'I am from a Land Down Under'
Re: # of buttons for LEGO Star Wars?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2006, 10:24:06 am »
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=53082.0

this was talked about a few weeks ago... someone mentioned u need 6 buttons.

hope this helps

Gav.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2006, 10:27:04 am by gavkiwi »

Steve B.

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:July 22, 2017, 10:32:41 am
Re: # of buttons for LEGO Star Wars?
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2006, 10:32:45 am »
Lego Star Wars is my daughter's favorite game as well. My cabinet has 4 buttons per player and that is the minimum number for controlling your character (1-Attack, 2-Jump, 3-Force, 4-Tag another character). To fully complete the levels you will also need an extra button or 2 to cycle through the list of available characters. I wound up using the 'coin' button for this purpose since it wasn't being used in this game.

-Steve

Ninten-doh

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 584
  • Last login:March 31, 2017, 10:37:18 am
  • I promise sweetie, this is my last cab purchase
Re: # of buttons for LEGO Star Wars?
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2006, 10:38:37 am »
Thanks guys.
Gav - I read that thread, but it was unclear whether you NEEDED 6 or "4-5" as someone else mentioned, so I was unsure.   :dizzy:

Steve B. - Great idea with the coin button.  I wonder if that would work with Player 1 and/or Player 2?  My coin buttons might be on the coin door if I get crazy enough.

Steve B.

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:July 22, 2017, 10:32:41 am
Re: # of buttons for LEGO Star Wars?
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2006, 11:10:11 am »
I wonder if that would work with Player 1 and/or Player 2?
You'll probably wind up using the P1/P2 buttons for the administrative buttons that allow each player to pause / drop in / drop out of the game.

My coin buttons might be on the coin door if I get crazy enough.
Or you could wire it up to your coin mech. "You want to be Darth Vader? It'll cost you a quarter!" :)

-Steve