Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Atari regulator / audio ii  (Read 1257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

zudmsc

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 179
  • Last login:September 07, 2011, 07:44:26 am
Atari regulator / audio ii
« on: April 15, 2006, 09:14:53 am »
Ok how do I power this up?  I mean I still need a regular power suppy first to change my 110V AC to DC and then connect it to this board?  This is for my Arkanoid project I am trying to get together.

Zud

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Atari regulator / audio ii
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2006, 10:27:26 pm »
The A/R II boards had 2 purposes.  First to convert and output the DC voltages to the game board. Second to amplify the audio.

If you are using a switching power supply, I assume that you just want to use it to amplify the audio.

They can be used that way. I do that in my Food Fight cabinet.  To amplify the audio, I just feed the 36vac from the Atari power block to the A/R II board. Then the output from that goes to the volume pot and speaker.

If I missed your question then disregard.  This message will self-destruct in 5 seconds ;D

zudmsc

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 179
  • Last login:September 07, 2011, 07:44:26 am
Re: Atari regulator / audio ii
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2006, 09:44:50 am »
<<If you are using a switching power supply, I assume that you just want to use it to amplify the audio>>


That was my question I guess.  Do I need a switching power suppy or can I connect my 110v AC right to this board?

Zud

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Atari regulator / audio ii
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2006, 05:00:11 pm »
An Audio Regulator II board was used in early Atari games along with the "power block"

Basically the 110vac fed into the main power unit. It sent 110v to the marquee light, to the Isolation transformer which then went to the monitor for power.

The main power unit also was used to step down the voltage to 36vac which was used as the input voltage to the Audio Regulator II board. The main unit also had a bridge rectifier which output 10.3vdc to the Audio Regulator II board and the game board.

All the other voltages used by the mainboard came from the Audio Regulator II board.

There are several "flavors" of the A/R II board which have additional voltages.  The use of the A/R II board meant that a switching power supply wasn't needed.

The answer to your question is that you can't hook 110v directly to the A/R II board. It needs other voltages as input that come from the main power supply of Atari Games.

Also, you cannot use a switching power supply to power it.

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 17, 2018, 11:19:59 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Atari regulator / audio ii
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2006, 12:43:11 pm »
Arkanoid is not an Atari game. Do not use an AR-II board. Do not use an Atari power supply. Install a $30 switching power supply.
NO MORE!!

zudmsc

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 179
  • Last login:September 07, 2011, 07:44:26 am
Re: Atari regulator / audio ii
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2006, 03:54:08 pm »
Yeah I think I learned that from the previous post.  I just bought all this stuff from a guy and it almost looked like it went together, but after some research it looks like I have an extra arcade part.

Anyone need one?

Zud

cw

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 771
  • Last login:May 25, 2019, 05:04:14 pm
  • Game over man game over
    • The Cab
Re: Atari regulator / audio ii
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2006, 04:31:55 pm »
sure....