Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: wincab breaking down ?  (Read 1740 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Last login:May 23, 2007, 11:23:54 am
wincab breaking down ?
« on: February 19, 2006, 07:38:39 am »
hello , hope anybody can help me
i got wincab set up working fine,
set "maxque" to 5 ,and randomplay  to true, no duplicates.
now on startup randomplay works everything is ok,
after selcting 5 songs , wincab ads for every played song one song in the upcomming list (the same song)
and after playing the last selected song is crashes.
set maxque to 4 it does the same except for the adding of songs in upcomming list,(it crashes)

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4575
  • Last login:September 21, 2019, 04:59:49 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: wincab breaking down ?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2006, 02:04:45 pm »
This is a bug; it only occurs when MaxQueue is set to a really low number.  I haven't found the cause of it, but this report will definately help me narrow it down... thank you!

--Chris
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

jp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Last login:May 23, 2007, 11:23:54 am
Re: wincab breaking down ?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2006, 01:33:27 pm »
first i like to thank you for this great program,
when i found it it was just right for my purpose (a true jukebox)
did a lot of surching for it

problem:
did some more testing:
removed the strict album message's (put a "#" in front of it)
maxque stil 4 ,
it plays the  4  selected songs but fills "upcoming" with a (random selected ) song (4 times the same)
and plays this song (over and over ) until i select another song (or more ) which is placed on top of "upcoming" and are normaly played ("upcoming" list stil getting filled with the same song)
 
hope this helps
jp

jp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Last login:May 23, 2007, 11:23:54 am
Re: wincab breaking down ?
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2006, 02:36:16 pm »
and more testing
set maxque to 100 (you said it happened when maxque is set to "a really low number" , (100 songs more than 6 hours of music))
it still fils maxque with a song (after restarting this song is the first "random "song)

put strictalbums back in (maxque still 100)
it does not fill maxque with a song but after the last song it exits (quits)


jp
« Last Edit: February 20, 2006, 02:40:46 pm by jp »

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4575
  • Last login:September 21, 2019, 04:59:49 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: wincab breaking down ?
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2006, 11:40:36 am »
and more testing
set maxque to 100 (you said it happened when maxque is set to "a really low number" , (100 songs more than 6 hours of music))
it still fils maxque with a song (after restarting this song is the first "random "song)

put strictalbums back in (maxque still 100)
it does not fill maxque with a song but after the last song it exits (quits)

Hmm... very interesting.  This probably isn't the problem I thought it was, then; it's more likely to be a buffer overflow or something.

This is very helpful... thank you!
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4575
  • Last login:September 21, 2019, 04:59:49 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: wincab breaking down ?
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2006, 11:41:04 am »
I found and fixed the maxqueue related issues, but couldn't find anything wrong with the StrictAlbum stuff.  Might be a red herring, or the StrictAlbum array getting smashed by the prior bug.  I've tested queue sizes all the way down to 1.  (The error was happening with any queue size below 1000, it was just far more obvious and likely to happen on smaller queues.)

The fixes are in the preview version of WinCab; DOSCab will hopefully soon follow.

--Chris
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

jp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Last login:May 23, 2007, 11:23:54 am
Re: wincab breaking down ?
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2006, 03:56:45 pm »
don't know if strictalbums had anything to do with it ,
just noted that normally one song kept playing over and over again, whit strictalbums out wincab crashed (stopped)
just tested beta9 and everything worked fine (at least the way i wanted it to work)
moving on to  version 10
BTW just love the program .