Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: total newbie woodworking question  (Read 4989 times)

Mani

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 19, 2005, 11:20:16 pm
  • total arcade addict
    • my homepage
total newbie woodworking question
« on: January 17, 2003, 01:44:12 pm »
Greetings,

First, please excuse my cluelessness, being a software guy I'm totally inexperienced with working with my hands.

I have a CP that is too thick for my joysticks, as in the sticks come up too short. Now I've seen CP's where a square was perfectly "pushed into" the wood where the joystick mounting base would fit into, so that the sticks come up higher.

I've often heard people call this process "routing", but to me it seems more often than not routing has to do with cutting grooves into wood for things such as t-molding. Are these the same thing? Can a cheap router with a special bit accomplish this task? If so, how is it done, and what kind of bit is needed?

Thanks,
-Mani

rampy

• *shrug*
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:March 02, 2007, 11:32:16 am
  • ...as useless as a JPG is to Helen Keller
    • Build Your Own PVR
Re:total newbie woodworking question
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2003, 01:57:00 pm »