Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!  (Read 13868 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19400
  • Last login:May 27, 2024, 04:25:50 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« on: August 18, 2005, 01:54:07 pm »
I was mucking around in the Dk code this morning (yes I still work on it) trying to find an easier way to get games with "no good dump known" warnings to auto-launch.  I used to do elaborate checks and such to figure out which roms migt cause problems, but I've found a way to exploit mame to bypass the "press any key to continue"  warning in the dos box. 

Simply add -ftr 1  to your command line arguments to mame.  That's it, the screen is passed!

An explaination:

Ftr is the "frames to run" command for mame.  It's used for benchmarking and debugging.  Because of this any and all warning screens are bypassed to allow the user to simply launch a game for X number of frames, walk away, and then come back with the dos box reporting the average fps. 

Now I'm sure some of you are thinking.  "Wouldn't -ftr 1 make the game run one frame and then quit?"  Well that's what I thought.  Apparently the ftr function doesn't work on the first frame, so setting the ftr to 1 let's the game run as normal, only all warnings are bypassed. 


For you people that are thinking.  "Ok this is useless" or don't have a clue what I'm talking about try this:

Run 64th Street in your favorite fe..... Most likely it'll lock up the system. 


Now run it in the fe with the ftr 1 command.  Poof!  It passes. 

How cool is that?

Buddabing

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1845
  • Last login:February 12, 2015, 02:51:45 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2005, 02:11:44 pm »
Great discovery!

Here's the lines of code that cause this effect. I don't know if it should be called a bug or a feature............

[code]
frames_displayed++;
if (frames_displayed + 1 == frames_to_display)
{
I have changed my nickname to "Cakemeister". Please do not PM the Buddabing account because I do not check it anymore.

Please read the wiki!

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4946
  • Last login:July 31, 2022, 10:26:34 pm
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2005, 02:41:49 pm »
beyond WAY COOL! 

I hate compiling my own for my cabinet... just to remove it..  1/2 the time I dont and just grab one from optimized mame build site... then forces me to pull out the keyboard control panel whenever I run the wrong game.

SirPoonga

  • Puck'em Up
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8183
  • Last login:April 12, 2023, 09:22:35 pm
  • The Bears Still Suck!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2005, 02:48:27 pm »
So, it actually displays (ftr - 1) frames for any ftr > 1.
If you put in 100 it will show 99 frames.

Hmmm, the if needs to be changed to
if ((frames_displayed != 1)  && (frames_displayed >= frames_to_display))
Which would be more accurate and robust :)

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19400
  • Last login:May 27, 2024, 04:25:50 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2005, 03:18:43 pm »
Well yes... but regardless, ftr 1 should still either not work or be infinate.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2005, 03:22:18 pm by Howard_Casto »

Buddabing

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1845
  • Last login:February 12, 2015, 02:51:45 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2005, 04:45:33 pm »
Also, the -ftr option is Windows-only.

So both DOS users are out of luck.

I have changed my nickname to "Cakemeister". Please do not PM the Buddabing account because I do not check it anymore.

Please read the wiki!

Minwah

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7662
  • Last login:January 18, 2019, 05:03:20 am
    • MAMEWAH
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2005, 04:57:23 pm »
Great discovery Howard, well done :)

Just to state the obvious, presumably 'frames_to_run 1' in mame.ini would work too...

Strange thing is, I have noticed that some MAME versions auto-skip the bad dump screen anyway.  For example, I just ran 'mame 64street' using standard MAME v0.98, and didn't have to hit a key to go on from the bad dump screen to the game.  I seem to recall this working in some MAME versions and not others over the past year or more - I've never bothered to look into it any more than that tho.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19400
  • Last login:May 27, 2024, 04:25:50 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2005, 05:04:22 pm »
Yeah I've noticed that too... I'm not sure what the deal is with that.

pointdablame

  • I think Drew is behind this conspiracy...
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5034
  • Last login:November 09, 2023, 09:11:07 pm
  • Saint and Woogie let me back in!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2005, 05:45:21 pm »
I'm running mame .69 and this doesn't seem to work for me.  Perhaps it is like Buddabing says and it is only for .78 and newer versions.  I just figured I'd let ya know.

I tried the command line and switching the mame.ini settings, and neither stopped the bad rom dump on 64street.

This could be great though, and could finally give me a reason to upgrade :)
first off your and idiot

Man I love the internet, haha.

SirPoonga

  • Puck'em Up
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8183
  • Last login:April 12, 2023, 09:22:35 pm
  • The Bears Still Suck!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2005, 05:48:33 pm »
What's new 0.79
Warning screens are now skipped if running with -ftr for less than 5
minutes [Aaron Giles]

2600

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1630
  • Last login:June 05, 2017, 10:20:56 am
  • I want my own arcade controls!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2005, 05:59:06 pm »
What's new 0.79
Warning screens are now skipped if running with -ftr for less than 5
minutes [Aaron Giles]

That's pretty funny.  The put it in the what's new and we all still miss it.  At least, Howard discovered it for us now.

Minwah

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7662
  • Last login:January 18, 2019, 05:03:20 am
    • MAMEWAH
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2005, 06:39:48 pm »
What's new 0.79
Warning screens are now skipped if running with -ftr for less than 5
minutes [Aaron Giles]

Awesome...I didn't get from Howards first post (even tho he said it) that ALL warning screens are skipped, even the bad emulation ones.

Wicked  :)

pointdablame

  • I think Drew is behind this conspiracy...
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5034
  • Last login:November 09, 2023, 09:11:07 pm
  • Saint and Woogie let me back in!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2005, 07:12:50 pm »
heh I never read that either in the whatsnew.

Hey, at least we know it's there now.... and looks like I should upgrade ;)
first off your and idiot

Man I love the internet, haha.

mccoy178

  • It's hard to work with a straight jacket on
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3127
  • Last login:September 03, 2021, 10:23:42 am
  • Go Bucks!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #13 on: August 18, 2005, 11:45:39 pm »
Okay, okay, I'll be the board idiot for the noobs; in Mamewah, what should this adjustment look like exactly, and where?  Hazing is welcome.

KenToad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1500
  • Last login:May 27, 2024, 08:36:54 pm
  • Flap Flap Flap
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2005, 12:13:37 am »
That's truly incredible, Howard.  I'm so sick of seeing that Galaga error screen.  I'll give it a go tomorrow morning.

Cheers,
KenToad

M3talhead

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 747
  • Last login:October 09, 2020, 07:35:12 pm
  • Dont let Donkey Kong use your toilet.......
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #15 on: August 19, 2005, 12:56:37 am »
Okay, okay, I'll be the board idiot for the noobs; in Mamewah, what should this adjustment look like exactly, and where?  Hazing is welcome.

Ditto.
Signature tags are dumb.

pointdablame

  • I think Drew is behind this conspiracy...
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5034
  • Last login:November 09, 2023, 09:11:07 pm
  • Saint and Woogie let me back in!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #16 on: August 19, 2005, 01:16:19 am »
Okay, okay, I'll be the board idiot for the noobs; in Mamewah, what should this adjustment look like exactly, and where?  Hazing is welcome.

It has nothing to do with Mamewah.  It just gets rid of all the error/warning messages that pop up before a game.

If you want to test it with mamewah, load a game that gives an error message (try galaga or 64street)

Now make the changes and load up the same games in Mamewah... it should load up immediately without any error message.
first off your and idiot

Man I love the internet, haha.

mccoy178

  • It's hard to work with a straight jacket on
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3127
  • Last login:September 03, 2021, 10:23:42 am
  • Go Bucks!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #17 on: August 19, 2005, 01:19:23 am »
You have to idiot it down for us.  Where exactly do you add that adjustment and exactly what should it look like? (i.e.   -ftr 1,  ftr 1, ftr1)  We need some idiot vision on this one.

loadman

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4306
  • Last login:May 26, 2024, 05:14:32 am
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #18 on: August 19, 2005, 05:16:46 am »
I love that discovery! By chance I use Mame .79 because any version beyond that won't load Galaga (Fastshoot) without resorting to a tacky cheat option.

I just changed my mame.ini line to
« Last Edit: August 19, 2005, 05:29:35 am by loadman »

darthbane2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 546
  • Last login:September 30, 2009, 04:54:06 am
  • Built the cab, just need the time to play!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2005, 05:39:48 am »
woah woah woah! Hold up a sec..

So this will enable me to disable those "this game has no sound / inaccurate video emulation/wiggle OK to continue" messages on my .89 version of mame32 WITHOUT having to recompile it?


will this have any side effects on working games etc?

Minwah

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7662
  • Last login:January 18, 2019, 05:03:20 am
    • MAMEWAH
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #20 on: August 19, 2005, 05:44:51 am »
So this will enable me to disable those "this game has no sound / inaccurate video emulation/wiggle OK to continue" messages on my .89 version of mame32 WITHOUT having to recompile it?

Yes :)

Quote
will this have any side effects on working games etc?

No :)

darthbane2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 546
  • Last login:September 30, 2009, 04:54:06 am
  • Built the cab, just need the time to play!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #21 on: August 19, 2005, 06:56:18 am »
sweet as Candy!  ;D

Tiger-Heli

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5447
  • Last login:January 03, 2018, 02:19:23 pm
  • Ron Howard? . . . er, I mean . . . Run, Coward!!!
    • Tiger-Heli
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #22 on: August 19, 2005, 07:56:10 am »
Howard, great find, I can't believe it got missed in the Whatsnew.txt file.

BTW, I can confirm that adding "Frames_to_run   1" to the gamename.ini file works as well.

Also, this does not bypass the initial copyright warning screen or the game info screen, but these could be bypassed from the mame.ini file anyway.

Mccoy178 - I don't have MAMEwah set up on this computer, but if you are using my batch file, you would just edit it to change the line

MAME %1

to

MAME %1 -ftr 1

In MAMEwah, in it's MAME.ini file, change:

commandline_format                        [name]{autodosbox}{nosafelaunch}

to

commandline_format                        [name] -ftr 1{autodosbox}{nosafelaunch}

Blue elements are added, and red elements are optional, may not match your settings, and shouldn't be changed.

Minwah - pls comment if I got it wrong.

Try Lunar Lander with and without the fix to veryify it works.
It's not what you take when you leave this world behind you, it's what you leave behind you when you go. - R. Travis.
When all is said and done, generally much more is SAID than DONE.

mccoy178

  • It's hard to work with a straight jacket on
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3127
  • Last login:September 03, 2021, 10:23:42 am
  • Go Bucks!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #23 on: August 19, 2005, 08:38:11 am »
Nice Tiger!  I was doing that yesterday, but I had ' or something else going on, so it wasn't working.  That is pretty cool Howard.

Minwah

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7662
  • Last login:January 18, 2019, 05:03:20 am
    • MAMEWAH
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #24 on: August 19, 2005, 09:49:09 am »
commandline_format                        [name]{autodosbox}{nosafelaunch}

to

commandline_format                        [name] -ftr 1{autodosbox}{nosafelaunch}

Minwah - pls comment if I got it wrong.

I'd recommend you leave Mamewah alone, and do as you (Tiger-Heli) did and just set frames_to_run 1 in mame.ini - that's what I've done today  :)

Edit: what you said is right and will work fine tho, I just think it's neater to use mame.ini.

mccoy178

  • It's hard to work with a straight jacket on
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3127
  • Last login:September 03, 2021, 10:23:42 am
  • Go Bucks!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #25 on: August 19, 2005, 10:57:59 am »
Quote
I'd recommend you leave Mamewah alone, and do as you (Tiger-Heli) did and just set frames_to_run 1 in mame.ini

Just for the idiot in me, I applied this in my mame.ini within mamewah.  It works, but is it correct?

Tiger-Heli

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5447
  • Last login:January 03, 2018, 02:19:23 pm
  • Ron Howard? . . . er, I mean . . . Run, Coward!!!
    • Tiger-Heli
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #26 on: August 19, 2005, 12:22:24 pm »
Quote
I'd recommend you leave Mamewah alone, and do as you (Tiger-Heli) did and just set frames_to_run 1 in mame.ini

Just for the idiot in me, I applied this in my mame.ini within mamewah.  It works, but is it correct?
No - if I understand you correctly.

There are three ways to run this (and it would help if everything didn't use the same names).

You can add -ftr 1 to the commandline format in the Mamewah\ini\mame.ini file - simple and direct, but not elegant.

You can add "frames_to_run    1" to your mame\mame.ini file as MAMEwah recommends - a little more straightforward but changes (not noticeably) games that don't require it.

You can add "frames_to_run    1" to your mame\ini\gamename.ini file - direct but requires you to individually figure out what games require it.

HTH
It's not what you take when you leave this world behind you, it's what you leave behind you when you go. - R. Travis.
When all is said and done, generally much more is SAID than DONE.

darthbane2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 546
  • Last login:September 30, 2009, 04:54:06 am
  • Built the cab, just need the time to play!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #27 on: August 19, 2005, 02:40:58 pm »
Okay just want to clear something up
This works for the black box 'press OK to continue warnings' but it doesnt work for the bad ROM dump window that 64th street for example brings up.

Am I missing something?

Sonic Smash

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:August 19, 2005, 03:04:32 pm
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #28 on: August 19, 2005, 02:47:55 pm »
cool im trying it!

M3talhead

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 747
  • Last login:October 09, 2020, 07:35:12 pm
  • Dont let Donkey Kong use your toilet.......
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #29 on: August 19, 2005, 03:05:47 pm »
Signature tags are dumb.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19400
  • Last login:May 27, 2024, 04:25:50 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #30 on: August 19, 2005, 03:35:27 pm »
Okay just want to clear something up
This works for the black box 'press OK to continue warnings' but it doesnt work for the bad ROM dump window that 64th street for example brings up.

Am I missing something?

No it works just fine.... the message still is rendered in those cases but you don't have to "press any key" which is impossible when a fe is launching.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19400
  • Last login:May 27, 2024, 04:25:50 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #31 on: August 19, 2005, 03:41:33 pm »
What's new 0.79
Warning screens are now skipped if running with -ftr for less than 5
minutes [Aaron Giles]

That's pretty funny.

SirPoonga

  • Puck'em Up
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8183
  • Last login:April 12, 2023, 09:22:35 pm
  • The Bears Still Suck!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #32 on: August 19, 2005, 03:44:40 pm »
What's new 0.79
Warning screens are now skipped if running with -ftr for less than 5
minutes [Aaron Giles]

That's pretty funny.  The put it in the what's new and we all still miss it.  At least, Howard discovered it for us now.

But ftr 1 is not 5 minutes, so there has to be more to this.

Tiger-Heli

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5447
  • Last login:January 03, 2018, 02:19:23 pm
  • Ron Howard? . . . er, I mean . . . Run, Coward!!!
    • Tiger-Heli
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #33 on: August 19, 2005, 04:01:31 pm »
What's new 0.79
Warning screens are now skipped if running with -ftr for less than 5
minutes [Aaron Giles]

That's pretty funny.  The put it in the what's new and we all still miss it.  At least, Howard discovered it for us now.

But ftr 1 is not 5 minutes, so there has to be more to this.
But it's definitely less than 5 minutes, although Aaron's original wording makes me wonder if something strange will happen AFTER 5 minutes. . .
It's not what you take when you leave this world behind you, it's what you leave behind you when you go. - R. Travis.
When all is said and done, generally much more is SAID than DONE.

2600

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1630
  • Last login:June 05, 2017, 10:20:56 am
  • I want my own arcade controls!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #34 on: August 19, 2005, 04:03:38 pm »
What's new 0.79
Warning screens are now skipped if running with -ftr for less than 5
minutes [Aaron Giles]

That's pretty funny.  The put it in the what's new and we all still miss it.  At least, Howard discovered it for us now.

But ftr 1 is not 5 minutes, so there has to be more to this.

I totally missed the minutes part when I first read it.

Buddabing

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1845
  • Last login:February 12, 2015, 02:51:45 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #35 on: August 19, 2005, 04:18:45 pm »
There are two bits of code here. The first bit is what I posted earlier which will not terminate MAME if -ftr 1 is selected. The first bit of code is much older, it goes back to at leat v0.69, the earliest version I checked.

This second bit of code is what Aaron added in v0.79. Before he added this bit, you would have had to hit ok if you wanted to benchmark Galaga.

[code]
frames_to_display = ftr;
if (frames_to_display > 0 && frames_to_display < 60*60*5)
I have changed my nickname to "Cakemeister". Please do not PM the Buddabing account because I do not check it anymore.

Please read the wiki!

darthbane2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 546
  • Last login:September 30, 2009, 04:54:06 am
  • Built the cab, just need the time to play!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #36 on: August 19, 2005, 04:23:58 pm »
just noticed that if you use mamescreensaver , when you add this setting it does not allow you to leave the game when run in screensaver mode. pressing escape only switches game and not exit back to front end.

Because of this issue I have now disabled the setting. I NEED my Mamescreensaver
« Last Edit: August 19, 2005, 04:32:17 pm by darthbane2k »

mccoy178

  • It's hard to work with a straight jacket on
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3127
  • Last login:September 03, 2021, 10:23:42 am
  • Go Bucks!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #37 on: August 20, 2005, 02:37:15 am »
Wow I crack myself up.  Now that I have read the mame doc, I figured out that in the mame.ini in my mame folder (not mamewah mame.ini for the rest of us idiots), that there is an option called Frames_To_Run.  Go figure!  And better yet, it was set to '0'.  Amazing!  And when I changed that to '1', you all won't believe it...........it worked! 

Now, I have been through that damn file about a half a dozen times looking at where to add this 'ftr 1', just like in mamewah's mame.ini.  So, in closing, for all of us non dos, command line, programming minded individuals in the world, in the mame.ini, in the mame folder, there is an option more than halfway down, properly named Frames_To_Run, and it has a '0' to the right of it.  Change that to '1'.

  :police: Okay, okay, idiot police may now arrest me.  I surrender in peace. :police:

darthbane2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 546
  • Last login:September 30, 2009, 04:54:06 am
  • Built the cab, just need the time to play!
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #38 on: August 20, 2005, 05:38:19 am »
just noticed that if you use mamescreensaver , when you add this setting it does not allow you to leave the game when run in screensaver mode. pressing escape only switches game and not exit back to front end.

Because of this issue I have now disabled the setting. I NEED my Mamescreensaver

anyone wanna address this problem?

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12963
  • Last login:August 04, 2023, 09:51:57 am
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: Important Discovery... Everyone Read!
« Reply #39 on: August 20, 2005, 08:21:00 pm »
Well...someone posted this @ Mameworld, and Haze states it will be fixed in a future release.

Link