Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?  (Read 1888 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rchadd

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:June 10, 2013, 06:14:06 am
  • Made in Cornwall
Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« on: July 10, 2005, 12:55:52 pm »
Hi i just been testing my "ebay untested AR2" board and happily it all seems to be working.

to test i just hooked up the transformer block to the mains and wired up the connections to the AR2 (figured that didnt want to plug in the game board just yet until confirmed that the PSU was working)

i tested the voltage using a multimeter at the variou test points on the AR2 board. here are the results:

test point  = reading
-5VDC = -5.11
+12VDC = 12.39
+22VDC = 25.9
36VAC = 38.3
+10.3VDC = 14.39

do these readings sound ok? 

i see there is adjustment pot on the AR2. with the above reading do you think any adjustment down is required? as most reading exceed the required value

safe enough to progress on to connecting the game board? as i figure next step is to measure power on the game board?


rchadd

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:June 10, 2013, 06:14:06 am
  • Made in Cornwall
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2005, 01:03:13 pm »
BTW anyone know what the +Sense and -Sense test points are for?

rchadd

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:June 10, 2013, 06:14:06 am
  • Made in Cornwall
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2005, 04:07:14 pm »
connected up the game board and tested the voltages

here are the readings

test point = reading
+5V = 5.10
+22V = 25.6
-22V = -25.9
-15V = -15.0
-30V = -26.8
-5V = -5.17
+12V = 12.32

not sure if these are ok (within acceptable range)

havent connected up to a monitor yet so unable to figure out if it is working ok

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2005, 09:42:55 pm »
Should be perfetly fine.
NO MORE!!

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12951
  • Last login:February 03, 2020, 04:31:27 pm
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2005, 10:09:15 pm »
havent connected up to a monitor yet so unable to figure out if it is working ok

*taps foot impatiently*

One of the best ways to see if your game is working properly, is of course to have all proper equipment hooked up.  Display would certainly apply here.  Do you have a monitor already?

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10994
  • Last login:February 03, 2020, 04:57:50 am
  • Awesome face!
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2005, 02:59:25 am »
Those ratings look fine.

Now be sure and do the "sense mod"

    Jumper wired +Sense on ARII to 5V out of ARII )bypasses overvoltage
    Jumper wired -Sense on ARII to GND out of ARII )'frying' problem with age

This keeps your ARII board from thinking the voltage is low and overloading your PCB.

The "sense" reads the voltage coming BACK from the board, and cranks up the voltage if it is too low. All too often this fails because of wiring resistance and for other reasons and it can cause the ARII to shoot WAY TOO MUCH voltage into the board until it gets +5 back.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2005, 11:35:12 am »
Those ratings look fine.

Now be sure and do the "sense mod"

NO MORE!!

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2005, 11:49:44 am »
*taps foot impatiently*

One of the best ways to see if your game is working properly, is of course to have all proper equipment hooked up.

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2005, 12:00:23 pm »
The variance seems tolerable.
NO MORE!!

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2005, 12:44:35 pm »
Slight unders always bother me a bit.  What does the -30V lead to, anyway?  The lights?

rchadd

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:June 10, 2013, 06:14:06 am
  • Made in Cornwall
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2005, 02:01:22 pm »
looking at the schematics the -30V test point is on the High Score Memory Circuit.

"A11 produces a 0-15V square wave at a 1V rate. This signal when +15V forward biases diode CR5 and allows capacitor C86 to charge to -29V. When the signal is 0V, CR5 is cutoff and CR4 is forward biased which causes C84 to develop a charge. C84 charges to approximately -28V. This is the potential required for EAROM C0 to operate."

doesn't really mean anything to me, i figure if the high scores are not saved then it could be a problem.

i'm sure it should be ok
« Last Edit: July 11, 2005, 03:56:41 pm by rchadd »

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2005, 02:07:53 pm »
That's a lot of voltage for high scores... are they usually that high?

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12951
  • Last login:February 03, 2020, 04:31:27 pm
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2005, 07:29:52 pm »
There is something to be said for the prudence of not hooking up equipment to a power supply you're not sure is working properly.  The risk is much smaller to the monitor than to the PCB, but it's not an unreasonable thing for him to do.

For all intents and purposes, the monitor and PCB are two seperate entities, though working in tandem.  If you want to know if your game board is working properly, you *must* have a way of displaying it's output.  Having correct (or mostly correct) voltage isn't enough.

rchadd

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:June 10, 2013, 06:14:06 am
  • Made in Cornwall
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2005, 07:43:34 pm »
There is something to be said for the prudence of not hooking up equipment to a power supply you're not sure is working properly.

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2005, 09:38:30 am »
For all intents and purposes, the monitor and PCB are two seperate entities, though working in tandem.

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #15 on: July 12, 2005, 11:58:14 am »
NO MORE!!

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Are these Centipede AR2 readings ok?
« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2005, 01:22:33 pm »

That could be the case, in which he wouldn't have much choice, unless he had equipment to generate a test load... which few if any of us would have reason enough to invest in.