Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Missile Command Help  (Read 923 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

j123vt_99

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 219
  • Last login:August 24, 2006, 09:41:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Missile Command Help
« on: July 07, 2005, 08:49:10 pm »
I have a missile command cab that is in pretty good shape.. It had worked well for a while.. About a month ago, I moved it to the other side of the room.. I guess I didn;t test it... Anyway, I decided to turn it on and have the following problem..

It flashes Missile Command continuously until I press the 1st player button... It then brings up the game screen saying Player 1, 1 x points etc and the roller ball works (so far so good).. The point/life display disappears and the game should begin... but the cursor on the screen doesn;t move.. the game then resets and flashs the missile command logo....

i checked all the connections and they look ok... i made sure the coin and power button are pressed in..... any suggestions?
Pictures of my Missile Command  http://www.nimsu.com/mc/mc.html

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Missile Command Help
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2005, 09:14:59 pm »
Yeah, open her up and re-secure the connector to the game board. (do this with the power off).
NO MORE!!

j123vt_99

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 219
  • Last login:August 24, 2006, 09:41:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Missile Command Help
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2005, 09:38:43 pm »
holy crap.. i can't believe it was that easy... THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ok.. i moved her again (like 6 inches) and same problem..but same solution worked... i guess either the cable is loose on the board or the cable itself is getting worn out...

is there any "easy" solution? i don't really need to move it again, but I will be having some people playing it on Sat and I'd hate for one accidental bump to mess it up
« Last Edit: July 07, 2005, 09:57:17 pm by j123vt_99 »
Pictures of my Missile Command  http://www.nimsu.com/mc/mc.html

Q*Bert_OP

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2089
  • Last login:October 25, 2012, 07:20:42 pm
  • Oh yes, we did!
Re: Missile Command Help
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2005, 11:48:43 pm »
Clean the connector...
WTB: The Grid by Midway (2001), looking for 2 or more complete games, and large marquee

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Missile Command Help
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2005, 10:42:53 am »
Atari's wiring is usually very well organized... Everything is tied together and held with cable clamps, etc. That said, make sure the connector is not so stiff that it is trying to pull away from the board. If that's the case, you might need to either loosen the cable clamp or move the board a bit so that it stays secure.

NO MORE!!