Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: centipede volume pot and test switch specs?  (Read 2169 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rchadd

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:June 10, 2013, 06:14:06 am
  • Made in Cornwall
centipede volume pot and test switch specs?
« on: June 28, 2005, 07:52:29 am »
i have just bought complete centipede wiring loom but notice that the volume pot has been damaged beyond recognition and there is no test switch fitted :(

wondering if anyone knows the specs of either, so i can get modern equivalents?

would appreciate any pics as well

cheers

- richard

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: centipede volume pot and test switch specs?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2005, 10:08:25 am »
I doubt it matter what you use for the test switch, since it will be a low voltage (+5?)

NO MORE!!

cw

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 776
  • Last login:April 05, 2020, 03:30:29 pm
  • Game over man game over
    • The Cab
Re: centipede volume pot and test switch specs?
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2005, 10:21:25 am »
Checked the Centipede manual and it just list it as a vol. pot.  The drawing package isnt much help either...Ill check my Centipede later today and see if it has anything on the pot.




Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: centipede volume pot and test switch specs?
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2005, 10:23:52 am »
Here is what Atari originally used:

Ohmite # RES-100 Power Wirewound Rheostat, 100 ohms (the volume control)

CW Industries # GF-624-6014 Slide Switch, S.P.D.T. (the test switch)

Both of these are available at mouser.com as the part numbers 629-GF6246014 (50 cents) and 588-RES-100 ($22.59)

rchadd

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:June 10, 2013, 06:14:06 am
  • Made in Cornwall
Re: centipede volume pot and test switch specs?
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2005, 10:41:21 am »
thanks ken

i'm in the UK so will try and find a local supplier

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: centipede volume pot and test switch specs?
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2005, 12:51:26 pm »
I'm sure you should be able to find local suppliers of those well-known manufacturers or at least be able to cross reference those part numbers to an equivalent part.

Paladin

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
  • Last login:February 04, 2020, 09:52:08 pm
  • Mmmm llamaburgers!
Re: centipede volume pot and test switch specs?
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2005, 10:37:34 pm »
On Tempest, the test switch is on the coin door.  Is Centipede the same way? 

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: centipede volume pot and test switch specs?
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2005, 12:33:27 am »
Not neccessarily. I've seen many Centipedes with the test switch and volume rheostat mounted on a bracket inside the cabinet next to the coin door hinge. I've seen a couple with the test switch mounted on the coin door, but that was only on COINCO brand doors. The cabinets were wired for test switches at both locations so you could use either area.