Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???  (Read 2951 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

psilocybe_j10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« on: June 28, 2005, 08:56:22 am »
Hi there,

I'm just planning my first mame cab and will be starting work on a prototype mdf cp shortly, but I have a few questions first:

1) is it worth buying 2 spinners? (probably slikstik tornados)

2) what mame games would have p1 and p2 both using spinners at the same time?

3) would it be simple enough to piggyback the signals from the spinners onto the x-axis and y-axis of the KE72-T Trackball encoder?
(I'm planning to use the Happ 3"  'highball'  trackball).

Cheers.

NoOne=NBA=

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2718
  • Just Say No To Taito! -Nichibutsu
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2005, 09:35:12 am »
1) is it worth buying 2 spinners? (probably slikstik tornados)

Definitely.

The tornados are a bit on the expensive side though.
They also use their own interfaces.
I'm not sure if there are any issues to using more than one because of this.
You can replace the optics with Oscar's, but that kind of defeats the purpose of spending more in the first place.

Quote
2) what mame games would have p1 and p2 both using spinners at the same time?

Blasteroids, and alot of driving games.


Quote
3) would it be simple enough to piggyback the signals from the spinners onto the x-axis and y-axis of the KE72-T Trackball encoder?

It should be no problem using Oscar's switching circuitry, but I'm still not sure about using the Tornados.
I seem to remember some people having problems interfacing the stock optics on the Tornados for some reason.

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2005, 10:04:14 am »
2) what mame games would have p1 and p2 both using spinners at the same time?

Forgotten Worlds uses a spinner for aiming (2 players).
NO MORE!!

SirPoonga

  • Puck'em Up
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8176
  • The Bears Still Suck!
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2005, 10:05:32 am »
warlords.

It depends if you like those games or not.

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1896
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2005, 10:31:08 am »
You might find this useful...

http://mame.3feetunder.com/tornadomod/
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

KenToad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 860
  • Flap Flap Flap
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2005, 10:37:13 am »
I still love "Off The Wall," the Pong/Breakout clone.

Check out this sweet bartop from KLOV.

Cheers,
KenToad
« Last Edit: June 28, 2005, 10:57:07 am by KenToad »
Just Say No to Partially Hydrogenated Oil  www.bantransfats.com

psilocybe_j10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2005, 10:57:47 am »
wow, thanks for the quick replys guys.

I see what you mean about the tornados onboard controller.

Another question then....
 
Is it feasable to have a happ track ball running as a ps2 mouse (with 3 buttons) off the KT72-T, and at the same time have 2 tornado's running as 2 usb mice? or maybe even as a single usb mouse, one spinner as x-axis one spinner as y-axis? (Im planning to use a windows xp os)

basically im just trying to understand how best to hook up the trackball and spinners to work at the same time as seamlessly as possible.

thanks again =]


Kremmit

  • - AHOTW -
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3163
  • Who the heck is that?
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2005, 12:33:12 am »
I've never used a Hagerstrom product, so I can't say with 100% certainty, but I don't see why you couldn't run your KE-72T alongside as many mouse hacks as you like.  You'll shouldn't ever be using them all at once, so conflicts shouldn't be a problem. 

It is possible to get 2 players with spinners working under XP.  How hard it is may vary depending on which MAME build you use.  I am not the guy to answer MAME build questions, though.  I do remember that UncleT had some difficulty but finally got it worked out when using NoNameMAME, look here:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,36824.0.html

psilocybe_j10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2005, 01:04:21 am »
cheers, you guys have given me some real food for thought.

I think the best way forward is for me to experiment using a ps2 mouse, and 1 or more more usb mouse plugged into my system at the same time. Its a half decent way of checking how easy it would be to set up mame to read inputs from multiple mice (or spinners + trackballs that are pretending to be mice).

Ill let you know how i get on, and i will post some pics of my prototype cp once its seen some testing =]


xonix_digital

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • I am the Milky-Way Commander!!!
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2005, 02:27:25 am »
isnt your name like a genus of halucinogenic mushrooms?

-=XD=-
   

psilocybe_j10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2005, 07:56:33 am »
A bit ot, but yes :laugh:...

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4928
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2005, 07:59:27 pm »
I would consider getting a spinner and a trackball.  Or a weighted spinner and an arkanoid spinner.

so you can play those two player games (maybe not the best way)... but you will also have a ton of additional games to play.

psilocybe_j10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2005, 03:18:39 am »
Yeah, Im gonna geta trackball AND 2 spinners.....

KenToad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 860
  • Flap Flap Flap
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2005, 10:24:15 am »
Yeah, Im gonna geta trackball AND 2 spinners.....

Sweet.  Funny how few people actually seem to go that route.  I guess most people just go with the trackball and spinner, a la Lilwolf's suggestion.  Have fun building.

Cheers,
KenToad
Just Say No to Partially Hydrogenated Oil  www.bantransfats.com

rdagger

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 749
    • ROTOTRON
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2005, 11:22:49 am »
I would consider getting a spinner and a trackball.

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1896
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2005, 01:53:52 am »
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

Minwah

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7657
    • MAMEWAH
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #16 on: July 01, 2005, 04:48:01 pm »
I still love "Off The Wall," the Pong/Breakout clone.

I like the other (Sente's) Off the Wall, it uses a 2-way stick & spinner.  I'm not sure if it's 2 player but I think so...

quarterback

  • King Of The Night Time World!
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3062
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2005, 04:54:28 pm »

1) is it worth buying 2 spinners? (probably slikstik tornados)

Hey, with 2 spinners you could play this the way your remember it!
No crap, don't put your kids in a real fridge.
-- Chad Tower

Flinkly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1244
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2005, 11:37:00 pm »
is that supposed to be some sort of tron clone?  cept, i can't seem to get past the light cycle stage... there are no enemies to get.

PoDunkMoFo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • If we weren't all crazy we would go insane... JB
    • Visual Horizons
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2005, 11:56:21 pm »

1) is it worth buying 2 spinners? (probably slikstik tornados)

Hey, with 2 spinners you could play this the way your remember it!

quarterback

  • King Of The Night Time World!
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3062
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #20 on: July 02, 2005, 12:13:32 am »
Hey, with 2 spinners you could play this the way your remember it!
No crap, don't put your kids in a real fridge.
-- Chad Tower

PoDunkMoFo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • If we weren't all crazy we would go insane... JB
    • Visual Horizons

SOAPboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1779
  • ..::GeeK::..
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2005, 12:41:59 am »
warlords.

It depends if you like those games or not.

Im thinking about putting spinners in for that game alone.. man that game owns so much.

Kremmit

  • - AHOTW -
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3163
  • Who the heck is that?
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #23 on: July 02, 2005, 12:56:35 am »
If you get two spinners, and map one to the X-axis and one to the Y-axis, you can not only play Etch-A-Sketch, but you can play trackball games and mouse your Windows Desktop with your Etch-A-Sketch controls!

KenToad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 860
  • Flap Flap Flap
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #24 on: July 02, 2005, 02:48:57 pm »
Yeah, Im gonna geta trackball AND 2 spinners.....

Sweet.  Funny how few people actually seem to go that route.  I guess most people just go with the trackball and spinner, a la Lilwolf's suggestion.  Have fun building.

Cheers,
KenToad

I actually have an Opti-Pac, TWO trackballs, and TWO spinners waiting patiently in a box next to my cab.

If I quit scuba diving every weekend, maybe I'll find time to actually put them all in my cabinet.

I've got my C-card as well, went scuba diving several times in the chilly waters north of Cape Cod.  I would dive more often, but here in Ohio, the water is just a bit murky.

Get to work hooking up those controls. :D

Cheers,
KenToad
Just Say No to Partially Hydrogenated Oil  www.bantransfats.com

KenToad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 860
  • Flap Flap Flap
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #25 on: July 02, 2005, 02:51:22 pm »
I still love "Off The Wall," the Pong/Breakout clone.

I like the other (Sente's) Off the Wall, it uses a 2-way stick & spinner.  I'm not sure if it's 2 player but I think so...

I haven't even tried that game, yet.  The screenshot makes it look so complex. ;)

Cheers,
KenToad

If you get two spinners, and map one to the X-axis and one to the Y-axis, you can not only play Etch-A-Sketch, but you can play trackball games and mouse your Windows Desktop with your Etch-A-Sketch controls!

Exactly what I'm looking forward to when I get my spinners built.

Cha-Ching,
KenToad
Just Say No to Partially Hydrogenated Oil  www.bantransfats.com

Cronos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #26 on: July 02, 2005, 05:05:34 pm »
I have two spinners and a trak on mine... I love it! Lay them out right and it adds playibility to a lot of games besides just spinner ones. Driving games as mentioned... And I use the spinners with Happs Supers in place of rotary sticks so you have two player Ikari Warriors, Forgotten Worlds, etc. Maybe not "authentic"... But makes the damn games multi player and enjoyable!

On a side note since it was mentioned, my spinners are Tornados... I recently upgraded MAME after a long while. They still work great, I just can't get regular newer MAME to recognize them as seperate mice of course and as usual. So it has seemed to me that the official MAME build would seem to require a board swap and optipac combo to distinguish the spinners on different axis. I was just getting into looking how to do that so the link provided on board swapping to an Oscar's part came in very handy! Thanks!

Thankfully though, most the games that take advatage of a dual spinner or mouse are emulated nicely in my older Analog+ build... Plus the switchable mice feature allows you to basically turn off (As well as on) other mice... So if you or a buddy accidentally touch one of the other mice or spinners, it's not going to tweak your game because everything is acting as the system mouse. So I still use that build for most games especially those analog ones. Using an alt emu option in a frontend to make things a little easier.

Now getting curent build dual lightgun support with PC ActLabs guns? We're prolly gonna have to wait for Robin to quit enjoying life and come back to the sk3n3! Of course someone PLEASE enlighten me if there is a current work around for version .97 and beyond! lol!

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1896
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Is it worth getting 2 spinners???
« Reply #27 on: July 04, 2005, 12:07:32 am »
On a side note since it was mentioned, my spinners are Tornados... I recently upgraded MAME after a long while. They still work great, I just can't get regular newer MAME to recognize them as seperate mice of course and as usual. So it has seemed to me that the official MAME build would seem to require a board swap and optipac combo to distinguish the spinners on different axis.

What operating system are you using?

The current MAME build can only dual mice in windows 98 and DOS.
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31