Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Best way to network/link 2 pcs?  (Read 3188 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MrBond

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Last login:March 10, 2012, 03:50:37 pm
  • ...The name's Do......Mr. Do!...
Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« on: December 03, 2002, 01:31:39 pm »
This may sound trivial to some of you guys, but I need to know the best way to link my 2 computers together- for transfering files.  My understanding is that I need a network card for each, which I already have, Ethernet cables, and some sort of hub.  Can't I just connect the two together directly with 1 cable somehow?  ???  Thanks!!
...they only live twice!...
(>")>----MAME----<("<)

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2002, 01:45:34 pm »
i heard about usb patch cables before..however..have zero clue on this matter.

MrBond

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Last login:March 10, 2012, 03:50:37 pm
  • ...The name's Do......Mr. Do!...
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2002, 01:50:37 pm »
...they only live twice!...
(>")>----MAME----<("<)

Mike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 307
  • Last login:September 22, 2005, 01:22:14 pm
  • Umm, yea about the TPS report
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2002, 04:05:21 pm »
That should work for you if you have network cards in both pc's. The rest is configuring networking. You will need to get them into the same work group and hopefully all works well. I'd use NetBEUI as my networking protocol if you are just transferring files. It is the easiest to get working. If you have a cable modem or a dsl modem you might want to spend the money on a router with a built in switch. This will allow you to transfer the files like you want but also it will allow both computers on the internet at the same time. For that you'll want to use TCP/IP instead of NetBEUI.

MrBond

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Last login:March 10, 2012, 03:50:37 pm
  • ...The name's Do......Mr. Do!...
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2002, 04:58:59 pm »
Will I be able to share my modem connection (56k) with my other computer?  Will I be able to play online games?   ???
...they only live twice!...
(>")>----MAME----<("<)

BobA

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5943
  • Last login:July 11, 2018, 09:52:14 pm
  • What Me Worry?
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2002, 07:30:39 pm »
From what I have know you can network 2 PCs using a eithernet cable with a crossover.  Not the regular cable from PC to hub.  You can network a max of 2 PCs this way at 3 you need a hub or router. I never did get a crossover cable but I hear they are commonly available.  I used an eithernet wall plate that had 2 connectors and cross wired it in the back.  That way I could use regular cables.

To share your modem connection you need some sort of modem sharing software.  I used to use Wingate when I just had 2 PCs. They used to have a free limited version that worked with 2 PCs but I dont know what they are up to lately. This basically gives you a software router and firewall in the computer with the modem.

It takes a bit of overhead so the hardware router or switch is cleaner and does not slow everything down.

Here is the link to a source of modem sharing programs.

http://cws.internet.com/modem.html

Hope that helps

Bob

mrhowell

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 198
  • Last login:Today at 08:08:17 am
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2002, 08:37:17 pm »
The crossover is the easiest.  You can make your own.  Pins 1 to 3 and 2 to 6.
What is that pappy?

BobA

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5943
  • Last login:July 11, 2018, 09:52:14 pm
  • What Me Worry?
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2002, 08:51:35 pm »
Here is a url that shows diagrams of what we are all talking about. Pictures are worth a 1000 words each.

http://homenethelp.com/web/explain/about-ethernet-crossover.asp

Bob

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2002, 09:11:00 pm »
bond..

playing games on 56k aint funny at all..dont even bother trying..only way i play online once in a while when i setup my own server then my brother joins from his room and i got people from kaillera in my server(no lag in my side and 4 players marvel vs capcom is fun)..however..very rarely i play online...its def not worth the hassle even with dsl or cable..sux thats all :-\
« Last Edit: December 03, 2002, 09:11:46 pm by SNAAAKE »

mrhowell

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 198
  • Last login:Today at 08:08:17 am
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2002, 09:25:31 am »
You can play games online with a 56K modem.  DSL is excellent for online gaming.  My DSL service is 1500 down and 256 up.  My ping to my favorite Quake 2 sever is about 80.  I used to ping 280 with my 56K modem.  It was still playable though.  
What is that pappy?

Chris

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4573
  • Last login:July 07, 2019, 09:52:34 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2002, 05:04:39 pm »
Note that if you use a crossover cable, you may need to set both network cards in half duplex mode.

--Chris
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

MrBond

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Last login:March 10, 2012, 03:50:37 pm
  • ...The name's Do......Mr. Do!...
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2002, 11:03:48 pm »
Thanks for the responses.   :)  Especially the crossover diagram from BobA.

Chris:  What exactly is half duplex mode?  Sorry- this is my first time networking pc's.

Snaaake: I agree that online gaiming with 56k isn't too hot.  However, sometimes I can get an OK ping on kaillera for some MVC (great game by the way)  Starcraft's battlenet always worked for me as well.

Any idea if DSL pricing is going down any time soon.  I'd love to have a faster connection, but don't have the $$$.

Thanks again!
~The names Bond,....you know the rest
...they only live twice!...
(>")>----MAME----<("<)

Chris

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4573
  • Last login:July 07, 2019, 09:52:34 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2002, 11:09:04 pm »
Chris:  What exactly is half duplex mode?  Sorry- this is my first time networking pc's.
Your card may automatically detect the mode it needs to be in.  If it doesn't, go into the advanced properies for the card under the Network icon in Control Panel.  One of the properties should be Link Type; look there for one that is not full duplex.

--Chris
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2002, 01:47:48 am »
$40 a month is cheap.UNLESS you are some 12 year old..LOL :D

I dont really pay for my DSL(my brother does but would have been still okay if i had to pay since i am the one who uses all the time).. ask your local isp so they can hook you up with a deal or two

MrBond

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Last login:March 10, 2012, 03:50:37 pm
  • ...The name's Do......Mr. Do!...
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2002, 10:47:52 am »
Thanks Chris
Snaaake, ya I agree, $40 a month isn't too bad.  However, I'm a college student, and I don't have enough to splurge on the internet...*sigh* :'(
Once I get a real job, I'll get DSL  ;D
...they only live twice!...
(>")>----MAME----<("<)

MrBond

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Last login:March 10, 2012, 03:50:37 pm
  • ...The name's Do......Mr. Do!...
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2002, 02:40:24 pm »
HELP!  Well, the cable the crossover Ethernet cable worked just fine.  I networked by PC's with ease.  HOWEVER, ever since I ran Windows XP's Networking Setup Wizard, I can't connect to the internet anymore!!!  I'm using my OLD computer now (very SLOW...) to get on the net.  Please, can anyone help me out?  Is this a configuration issue?  I'm using Juno and Netzero as my dial up programs.  Each dials the number as usual, but only connects for a split second, then boots me off.  I even tried reinstalling both Juno and Netzero. Nada.  Any clue as to how I go about fixing this?
Thanks in advance-
Bond
...they only live twice!...
(>")>----MAME----<("<)

u_rebelscum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3633
  • Last login:April 21, 2010, 03:06:26 pm
  • You rebel scum
    • Mame:Analog+
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2002, 08:38:14 pm »
HELP!  Well, the cable the crossover Ethernet cable worked just fine.  I networked by PC's with ease.  HOWEVER, ever since I ran Windows XP's Networking Setup Wizard, I can't connect to the internet anymore!!!  I'm using my OLD computer now (very SLOW...) to get on the net.  Please, can anyone help me out?  Is this a configuration issue?  I'm using Juno and Netzero as my dial up programs.  Each dials the number as usual, but only connects for a split second, then boots me off.  I even tried reinstalling both Juno and Netzero. Nada.  Any clue as to how I go about fixing this?
Thanks in advance-
Bond

I can think of two possiblities OTTOMH:
1) the network cards IP addresses are not valid for public use (ei are not private IP addresses)
2) the IP "gateway"  does not go through the modem anymore.

I don't have winXP, so this is not be of much help on how to do it.
You should check how your two computers are talking to each other.  If they're using TCP/IP, make sure their network card IP addresses are private: "192.168.x.y" and "192.168.x.z"; x, y, and z being anything from 1 to 253.  Then, on the computer with the modem, check to see if the modem also has an IP address assigned by the PPP connection, and that the gate goes through this.

The checking in win9x would be done in Control Panel :: Network, but I'm not sure about XP.  Good luck!  Maybe someone else can help you more.
Robin
Knowledge is Power

BobA

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5943
  • Last login:July 11, 2018, 09:52:14 pm
  • What Me Worry?
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #17 on: December 11, 2002, 02:21:23 am »
Take a look at this link.  It explains some of the pitfalls of using the XP networking wizard.  After you work the kinks out of your network settings then take a look at the link to Internet Connection Sharing as well.

http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/xp/addxp.htm

BobA

MrBond

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Last login:March 10, 2012, 03:50:37 pm
  • ...The name's Do......Mr. Do!...
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #18 on: December 11, 2002, 09:12:35 pm »
Thanks once more.  I was able to get my Juno connection working again after doing a System Restore (Yep, it's actually useful!).  I'm a little scared to try to attemp to put my network back up again though.  I'll check out those links, thanks Bob, and thanks for the tips rebelscum.
When i feel brave enough, I'll attempt networking them again.  Wish me luck!  (Anyother great sites for networking newbies? he he)
...they only live twice!...
(>")>----MAME----<("<)

tom61

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
  • Last login:September 18, 2017, 12:46:56 am
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2002, 04:53:14 pm »
Hey, thanks for that link, I'm currently having trouble with file sharing between 2K and XP, and that page looks like it'll help.

wee beastie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 180
  • Last login:October 06, 2003, 03:33:02 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #20 on: December 20, 2002, 03:28:56 pm »
don't cheap out.  Buy a hub, it will make life easier, plus you'll have extra ports in case you want to have friends over and do a lan party ;)

I used to do computer networking (before I got a real job heheheh) and this is the easiest way to go IMHO.

SirPoonga

  • Puck'em Up
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8176
  • Last login:September 05, 2017, 09:45:52 am
  • The Bears Still Suck!
Re:Best way to network/link 2 pcs?
« Reply #21 on: December 20, 2002, 06:49:31 pm »
BTW, about the crossover cable part.  You will have to make sure each PC has a seperate IP.  something like 192.168.101.1 and 192.168.101.2