Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*  (Read 26980 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*
« on: May 04, 2005, 07:58:10 am »
Building this one for a buddy of mine. It's my usual Dynamo-inspired cab design so I won't go into it.
It's based on the newer X-Men movies, not the comic stuff. Black cabinet, chrome t-mold and blue accents.

Happ buttons, Supers, USB trackball and an Oscar V2 spinner. The chrome sticks are Groovy Game Gear's Versa-Ball sticks, really nice weight to them.
Here's a look at the CP art, print and the finished product...











« Last Edit: July 15, 2005, 11:40:04 am by Knievel »

BobbyG66

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 588
  • Current project: Dodgeball
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2005, 08:18:18 am »
Excellent job! Nice, clean and shiny!

I like the way you have the eyes looking out at you. Nice placement on the artwork.
Half of the people you meet are below average.

Dire Radiant

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 367
  • Cor, chief!
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2005, 11:44:35 am »
That CP is just gorgeous! /me drools I would have made some shiny metal dust washers myself but that's just me

namedos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 258
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2005, 11:55:18 am »
Very nice indeed.  Not too busy to be distracting but definitely makes a statment.  Are you going to add any text around the controls or leave it as is?  Not that you need to just curious.  Nice work!

markrvp

  • ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! True Genius!
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3346
  • NFL Expert
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2005, 01:29:31 pm »
Beautiful, once again.  I love the stainless sticks and the chrome T-molding. 

No pretty glowing buttons?

IntruderAlert

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 873
  • Chicken.. Fight Like A Robot
    • Intruder Alert
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2005, 01:38:10 pm »
Super job as usual Knievel!
By the way, how high res do you need your images to be when printing a CPO like that?
I have some ideas that I've been kicking around but finding HQ pics has not been easy.

cbmeeks

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 198
  • Metroid Classic
    • Metroid Classic
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2005, 01:40:18 pm »
Awesome.  Just awesome.

cbmeeks
RETRO COMPUTERS!
A NEW place to chat about retro computers!
RETRO

METROID
Metroid Classic

tommy

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2005, 01:55:45 pm »
Love it , one of the best ive seen.  8)

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1186
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2005, 02:34:33 pm »
ooh pretty  :o


dema

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 527
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2005, 03:03:44 pm »
That's fricking sweet!

Sinner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Half the lies they tell about me, aren't true...
    • Geek My Gadget
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2005, 03:33:58 pm »
That does look good...kudos...

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2005, 04:44:37 pm »
Thanks for the comments guys, I think it looks sharp too. First time using the chrome T-mold and I was really impressed with it.


-Shiny metal dustwashers are an intresting idea. I usually like to hide them all together but this unit is going to see a lot of kid-play so I thought it best to leave them on top for protection.

-No text as usual, I like the clean look and people figure the controls out pretty quickly.

-No glowing buttons on this one, just too labour intensive. Maybe if they get those translucent micro's into production.

-Resolution would depend on how sharp you want the CP picture to be I guess. Those images were cut from a 75dpi X-Men Movie desktop I found. I upped it to 300dpi in photoshop. The end result was really nice, a little soft but it works in this case.


Joystick Jerk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 491
  • Slave to the stick.
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2005, 06:50:15 pm »
Looks amazing! A couple questions though. What was the final cost for constructing it? I also noticed that your lexan(I assume) overlay on the CP has no screws in it. Is it only being held down by the lip on the buttons? If so, how does that design hold up over time?

Also, what are you using as the main body of the CP? The edges on one of the pics look rounded, and it looks like a plastic texture.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2005, 06:54:06 pm by Joystick Jerk »

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2005, 07:13:45 pm »
Haven't really calculated the cost of the CP. You should be able to ballpark the controls from the list I gave. Then add around $30 for wiring and the KeyWiz, and probably another $30 for the wood/plexi.

I use 1/8" plexi for protection. Lexan is easier to work with but I found it scratches easier. The plexi is also more ridgid, never had a problem with it staying down yet.

The CP body is MDF, routing the corners like that is just one of the many little things I do to make a cab look polished. And that's just paint, although I have wrapped the box in Happ Pica Vinyl before. That stuff is tough as nails.


Joystick Jerk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 491
  • Slave to the stick.
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2005, 07:54:00 pm »
I use 1/8" plexi for protection. Lexan is easier to work with but I found it scratches easier. The plexi is also more rigid, never had a problem with it staying down yet.

Just to clarify, so the plexi is being held down just by the button lips?

And would you ever consider building a CP to be sold? I'm pricing out whether it would be cheaper to buy something like a SlikStik Co2, or just to commission someone like yourself to make a CP.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2005, 07:59:43 pm by Joystick Jerk »

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2005, 10:40:13 pm »
Buttons lips yes...and the T-mold to some degree. The holes on the plexi need to to match the button holes in the wood EXACTLY for it to lay flat. If you're having to force the buttons in because the holes aren't perfectly matched then the plexi is going to bulge in places. I router my holes in the plexi instead of drilling them.

I am building complete cabinets for people, locally so far. If you are in Canada we could discuss building a CP. I think shipping to the US would make it impractical.

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2005, 09:09:50 pm »
Marquee for this one..


RTSDaddy2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1100
  • Bees! Oh bother!
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2005, 09:26:38 pm »
Wow (wiping the drool from my mouth)...

Man, what a beauty - the control panel is stunning, just gorgeous.

I said it before on here, and I'll say it again. This is what drew me to this hobby...the fact that so many of the cabinets, built with love, are true works of art.

RTSDaddy2
« Last Edit: May 05, 2005, 09:38:17 pm by RTSDaddy2 »

JonnyBoy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Inka Dinka Do
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2005, 09:30:29 pm »
Another awesome CP. What did you print that overlay on? Just regular paper?
I had to beat them to death with their own shoes...

GameOver

  • That's right. I'm Abe Froman.
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 532
  • Got a quarter?
    • Check out my cab!
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2005, 09:31:00 pm »
Nice work!

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #20 on: May 06, 2005, 12:29:14 pm »
The CP was printed on the same paper I always use, some high-end glossy stuff which is then laminated for extra protection and shine.

I'm running Photoshop on a 1GHZ P3 with 512megs of ram, though I used to use 256 without any issues. Maybe your HD is too small?


« Last Edit: July 14, 2005, 07:46:05 pm by Knievel »

Dire Radiant

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 367
  • Cor, chief!
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #21 on: May 06, 2005, 03:14:16 pm »
I like Paint Shop Pro too. I usually create images there then manipulate them in Photoshop. Unfortunately PSP sucks bigtime at manipulating large images. Something is definitely borked with the memory management. I gave up trying to create a 300dpi CPO in PSP since it would take way too long to do anything and when it did, half the time it would crash. Photoshop is a little sluggish with that size of image, even with an Athlon XP3200+ and 1GB memory but it's certainly tolerable.

GameOver

  • That's right. I'm Abe Froman.
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 532
  • Got a quarter?
    • Check out my cab!
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #22 on: May 06, 2005, 06:52:53 pm »
My HD is 120gb, and I adjusted for max swap.  Still slooooow.  REALLY SLOW!  If it was any slower it woulda been going backwards.  I had to back my CP image down to 225 dpi to make it so I didn't throw everything out the window.

Does Photoshop let you apply neat effects like PSP?  Maybe I'll try a free (?) trial of Photoshop & see how it works.  Thanks.

Dire Radiant

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 367
  • Cor, chief!
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #23 on: May 06, 2005, 09:07:59 pm »
The nice thing is that they use a compatible plugin architecture so your PSP filters will work in Photoshop and vice versa (usually!)

Hutt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 143
  • I like eggs.
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #24 on: June 30, 2005, 10:37:08 am »
The CP was printed on the same paper I always use, some high-end glossy stuff which is then laminated for extra protection and shine.


You print this yourself? I just assumed you had it done at a printer.
What I don't understand is ...obviously the CP is bigger than 8 1/2 X 11...which is the biggest size paper that will fit into any standard printer I know of....
Do you print on more than one page and join them together?

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2005, 11:14:28 am »
No I just meant the same paper that was used for my other CP's. I have a friend who does the printing for me. Your local print shop will have a large-format printer that'll do the job or visit: www.mamemarquees.com

owenowen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 90
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #26 on: July 03, 2005, 01:02:07 am »
Thats one beautiful cabinet youve got there!

Any chance of whiping up a quick photoshop tut. for the amatuers among us on how to do those slick shaded sections around your buttons?.......... Please?  ;)

owen.

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #27 on: July 12, 2005, 09:08:57 pm »
Thanks Owen, just sent a PM regarding that tutorial.

Sinner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Half the lies they tell about me, aren't true...
    • Geek My Gadget
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #28 on: July 12, 2005, 11:56:08 pm »
Thanks Owen, just sent a PM regarding that tutorial.
I would love a copy of that tutorial, if you have one...

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #29 on: July 13, 2005, 12:59:37 pm »
Done.
Getting requests for this so I'm adding it to my website, you can check it out there. <

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5506
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #30 on: July 13, 2005, 04:46:38 pm »
What are you using on the sides of the cabinet as far as finish goes?  Black paint?  Poly?  Thanks.

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #31 on: July 13, 2005, 09:12:07 pm »
I use a semi-gloss black latex paint from Home Depot, Painter's Touch I think.

BTW I'm going to the owner's house tomorrow. I'll snap some pictures of the whole cabinet.

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade
« Reply #32 on: July 14, 2005, 05:19:21 pm »
More pic's as promised. Cup-holders are on, sideart is still in the works. He's planning on making some aluminum X-MEN logos for that, the newer one with an X inside of a circle. Should be REAL sharp.















KonkeyKong

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 219
  • Monkey is my business and business is good.
Re: X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*
« Reply #33 on: July 15, 2005, 02:03:53 pm »
It would be pretty sweet if the aluminum sideart was backlit along the lines of say...one Neon MAME cab.

flampoo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 354
  • BYObsession
    • flampoo
Re: X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*
« Reply #34 on: July 15, 2005, 02:55:26 pm »
That cab is pretty slick! You should consider adding a chromed-out coin door.

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*
« Reply #35 on: July 15, 2005, 06:15:47 pm »
Yea I think we'll probably sandwich a neon ring in there. ;) He wants the sideart to stand-off from the sides anyway, that would do the trick nicely.

Thanks flampoo, I think a chrome coin door would look real sweet. No one I build machines for ever wants one though. Maybe we'll do something X-MEN related down there, it's begging for something.

BTW I had a few people ask about how I got the marquee to glow so blue. It's actually a blue Actinic bulb normally used in saltwater aquariums, another hobby of mine. I used one in my Neon cab as well, matches the glowing buttons perfectly.

Level42

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5965
  • A Suzo stick is a joy forever...
Re: X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*
« Reply #36 on: August 15, 2005, 02:05:11 am »
Looks fabulous.....but why doesn't the 4-way stick also have a metal shaft and ball ?
Also, I prefer to see a real arcade monitor, but if you use a PC monitor, this is the way to do it.....

Mucho respect Knievel !

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*
« Reply #37 on: August 15, 2005, 09:54:02 am »
Thanks, the controls were selected by the buyer. It makes a nice contrast actually.

I use PC monitors in all my machines. I went the ArcadeVGA route once and wasn't happy with the results. If you're using your cab for just Mame it's ok, although Vector games look lousy.

My machines are multi-use. You can surf on them, run the jukebox program, play PC games, etc. For me, a regular arcade monitor is unacceptable for these things.

One of the new Hybrid monitors would be the best of both world I guess, if you've got the bucks.

TimmyB

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*
« Reply #38 on: August 15, 2005, 02:24:49 pm »
Another work of art!

Where did you get your drink holders?

Knievel

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 965
  • Who's up for a game of Stunt Cycle??
    • Knievel Kustoms
Re: X-MEN Arcade *New Cabinet Pic's*
« Reply #39 on: August 15, 2005, 02:36:12 pm »
Thanks.
Those holders are from Canadian Tire. If you're not in Canada you'll have to look elsewhere though.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31