Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?  (Read 1578 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Magnet_Eye

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1011
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 06:49:55 am
  • Feel the heat?
    • Web Hosting deals for BYOAC Users!
Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« on: April 12, 2005, 11:49:05 pm »
Ok, what does it mean when an arcade game powers on, and is stuck on the screen with all the scrambled graphics...like its getting ready to boot up but it never does?

thx.



I offer discounted WEB HOSTING to BYOAC members! Only $2.49 a month for a FULL FEATURED account! www.cloud9media.com

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12946
  • Last login:July 13, 2019, 11:30:20 am
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2005, 11:56:58 am »
It means there's a problem with the game.

It could be anything.  You didn't post what the game was, or the error you were getting, so it's really hard to help here.

Stingray

  • Official Slacker - I promise to try a lot less
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10463
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 06:18:32 am
Re: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2005, 01:41:11 pm »
It means there's a smurf inside chewing on the PCB. A few D-con Smurf Motels
Stingray you magnificent bastard!
This place is dead lately.  Stingray scare everyone off?

missioncontrol

  • MC-Retro says Wot!
  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7857
  • Last login:August 22, 2019, 12:12:21 pm
Re: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2005, 03:14:16 pm »
It means there's a smurf inside chewing on the PCB. A few D-con Smurf Motels

Flinkly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1244
  • Last login:March 14, 2017, 01:14:21 pm
Re: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2005, 03:50:26 pm »
a history lesson?  and i thought this board was useless for anything but building arcade controls...

Magnet_Eye

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1011
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 06:49:55 am
  • Feel the heat?
    • Web Hosting deals for BYOAC Users!
Re: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2005, 05:23:40 pm »
A couple of games. One is a robotron. It just stays on that jumbled screen.

Another is a Dig Dug that was doing this, then eventually stopped powering up at all. So it is worse.

Gremlins? We don't need no stinking Gremlins!

I offer discounted WEB HOSTING to BYOAC members! Only $2.49 a month for a FULL FEATURED account! www.cloud9media.com

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2005, 10:36:33 pm »
My Digdug shows very briefly what looks like a background scene (like 1/4 second of time), then goes to the ram test.

APFelon

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 564
  • Last login:December 31, 2014, 03:42:56 pm
  • Posts: 5922
Re: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2005, 01:59:29 am »
Have you checked the power supply voltages on them yet? If the Dig Dug got "worse", that'd be the first thing I would check.

APf

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12946
  • Last login:July 13, 2019, 11:30:20 am
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: Stuck on bootup screen. What causes it?
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2005, 08:36:18 am »
Jeeze, I'm sorry.  That Robotron is irreversably damaged.  I'll get it out of your house, so you don't have to deal with it anymore.