Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Flush mounting a trackball help...  (Read 14171 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sinner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • Last login:May 05, 2020, 06:22:06 pm
  • Half the lies they tell about me, aren't true...
    • Geek My Gadget
Flush mounting a trackball help...
« on: April 05, 2005, 12:15:11 pm »
Hi,
I'm looking to add a trackball to my cabinet and I would like to have it mounted flush to the CP.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2005, 12:19:19 pm by Sinner »

Flinkly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1244
  • Last login:March 14, 2017, 01:14:21 pm
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2005, 12:27:09 pm »
you just get any old trackball with it's mounting plate (two seperate items), and then router out the top of your control panel to a depth the same as the thickness of the trackball plate.  then follow the rest of the directions to mount the trackball.  someone should have a picture of this, so just wait for a day and someone should drop one in.

Sinner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • Last login:May 05, 2020, 06:22:06 pm
  • Half the lies they tell about me, aren't true...
    • Geek My Gadget
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2005, 12:35:38 pm »
OK, if someone could drop in picture, I'd really appreciate it...

Frosty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 336
  • Last login:April 30, 2021, 10:06:26 am
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2005, 02:13:48 pm »
Here's a version of the trackball and mounting plate flush mounted on the CP, with Lexan and artwork on top.

Basically, I set my router depth to match the depth of the top of the mounting plate (about 1/8" of an inch), and routed the outline of the plate.  When dropped into the recess, it sat flush with the top of the CP.  The artwork was placed on the panel and mounting plate (covering it) and then Lexan on top of it.

I don't have a picture of the 'naked' CP after I had routed the top out, but I hope this helps...

dema

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 527
  • Last login:September 02, 2014, 03:05:34 am
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2005, 02:48:44 pm »
The only question I have is how do you keep the router so accurate to the template? Do you route out the trackball plate by eyeballing it?

Shape D.

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1607
  • Last login:July 05, 2012, 06:17:57 pm
  • >Look at me, I'm a Newbie<
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2005, 02:53:16 pm »
The only question I have is how do you keep the router so accurate to the template? Do you route out the trackball plate by eyeballing it?
you use a template to cut your template hole. this one you have to make yourself though.

or be really really good at freehanding.   ;)

oooh...  or use a cnc machine   :o

or use a straightedge clamped down to your cp.  ;) ;)
Hey Baby, Have you ever met a Newbie with 38 pages of previous posts before? Do you Want to?

Sinner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • Last login:May 05, 2020, 06:22:06 pm
  • Half the lies they tell about me, aren't true...
    • Geek My Gadget
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2005, 03:00:09 pm »
So, I guess in an existing CP with an arborite finish, you would have to refinish it, or have the plate mounted on top?

Sinner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • Last login:May 05, 2020, 06:22:06 pm
  • Half the lies they tell about me, aren't true...
    • Geek My Gadget
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2005, 03:06:06 pm »
How was this done?  It's kind of what I'm looking for...

Flinkly

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1244
  • Last login:March 14, 2017, 01:14:21 pm
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2005, 03:11:27 pm »
without asking the guy, we can only speculate.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2005, 03:14:28 pm by Flinkly »

dema

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 527
  • Last login:September 02, 2014, 03:05:34 am
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2005, 03:24:51 pm »
I didn't realize that it's best to use a straight edge to cut the trackball/joystick plate depression. I figured everyone did it by eyeballing it once you outlined the plates.

ErikRuud

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1710
  • Last login:March 05, 2021, 10:20:27 am
  • I'll build a cab for only 99.99.99!!!
    • Erik's humble video game page
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2005, 03:33:46 pm »
You could do it the way I do, but you almost have to have planned for this from the start.





This was done with a Betson Trackball that has a lip that is almost 1/4".

The panel is built with a 1/4" plywood top layer and a 1/2" or 3/4" plywood bottom layer.
Real Life.  Still a poor substitute for video games!       
American Laser Games Wrapper
O2em Rom Utility

dema

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 527
  • Last login:September 02, 2014, 03:05:34 am
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2005, 04:09:52 pm »
That looks really nice Erik! I'm going to be using a cpo, so I'll be doing it a little differently, but your work is definitely impressive.

Quarters

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 218
  • Last login:July 08, 2010, 06:53:17 pm
  • I am not now, nor have I ever been, a llama!
    • Quarters Arcade Site
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2005, 05:20:51 pm »
How was this done? It's kind of what I'm looking for...

I used a ultimarc 2 1/4" Trackball. I had to modify it a bit. I cut the posts that would usually attach to the mounting plate. I also routed the shape from the bottom leaving almost 1/2 " of wood to screw into.

More pics of this here: http://quarters.is-a-geek.com/arcade/gal1.html

While mine is very strong (the control Panel is solid oak)I would not recommend this approach with MDF. Also I'm looking at a Happ 3" trackball in front of me. It is quite different to the ultimarc version. I am not sure yet how I will mount this one.
97.4 percent of all statistics are full of crap.

Nocturnaloner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
  • Last login:May 05, 2016, 12:39:53 pm
  • AARRRRcade!
Re: Flush mounting a trackball help...
« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2005, 05:31:26 pm »
My trackball is exactly like Erik's, the Betson 3" red translucent, and I did something similar: I countersunk some long togglebolts, filed down their tops a bit, then filled in the holes with JB weld (2-part epoxy).  Then I covered my cp with adhesive backed vinyl from Parts Express.  You can kind of see it on this page: http://www.nocturnaloner.net/cp3.htm