Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE  (Read 1729 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« on: March 11, 2005, 12:42:39 am »
I JUST PICKED A NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO ARCADE MONITOR.  DO I NEED AN ISOLATION KIT OR CAN I JUST PLUG IT IN AND PLAY?  (1942)
THANKS
SEAN
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2005, 01:57:30 am »
GOLDSTAR DOES NOT MAKE COMMERCIAL ARCADE MONITORS!

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2005, 09:23:15 am »
then is it a pc monitor?  if so then what will i need to use it on my 1942 arcade game
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2005, 10:18:59 am »
Is this a cased monitor or is it an open frame? If it's open frame then the Goldstar sticker is on the picture tube. Goldstar does make picture tubes for arcade monitors, but they don't make the monitor.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2005, 10:35:10 am »
here is a picture of it. I have not recieved it yet.
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2005, 10:46:30 am »
That's a Kortek brand widely sold by Betson-Imperial (a.k.a. Imperial International) and several other monitor resellers.

This monitor REQUIRES the use of an isolation transformer. Don't connect it to power without one or it WILL be damaged. It may or may not come with a power cord with the usual arcade 2 pin white Molex power connector on the end to plug into the game cabinet's monitor power connector. It's possible the monitor may come with a plain old power cord. Don't plug it in to a wall outlet! If it has a plain power cord you'll need to chop it off and put an arcade Molex connector on the end to match the connector in your machine.

The video/sync input connector should already match what's in your machine, but they normally include a video cable with the monitor in a little plastic bag.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2005, 10:58:50 am »
this will work won't it?
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2005, 11:15:38 am »
Yeh, that looks like an isolation transformer.

MonitorGuru

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 774
  • Last login:October 05, 2005, 11:29:43 pm
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2005, 03:59:02 pm »
Heh... that looks like the pic from Video1963's auction of a iso.

The concern I have with his (and specifically the on you pictured above) is that it is only rated for 85 watts. (See the marking in blue on the top label)

However, these monitor chassis that he sells and presumably what/who you're buying from (the Weiya's) are rated at:
80 watt/1.2 amp max. (1.2A = ~132 watts @110v) for some 19" chassis
85 watt/1.3 amp max. (1.3A = ~143 watts @110v) for some 19" chassis
100 watt/1.5 amp max. (1.5A = ~165 watts @110v) for the 25" chassis

Therefore that transformer is "on the edge" for the 19" chassis normal current draw, and definitely too small for the 25" chassis, and not to mention, no headroom for the maximum draw (presumably power up or with extremely bright screens) on any of them.

I would get a larger ISO myself.  Ken--what are your thoughts on the topic?

(And BTW--I think it is incredibly stupid for those chassis to be sold with a standard power plug, even if you buy the power-plug/receptacle equipped ISO... too much chance for it to be plugged in directly and cause untold damage.)

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2005, 06:33:59 pm »
All the isolation transformers I have worked with have all been rated at least 100 watts.

I've always wondered why some of them came with a standard 'plug-into-the-wall' power cord myself.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2005, 08:31:45 pm »
so what do you recommend I do?
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2005, 01:47:03 am »
That picture of the transformer you posted, is that the transformer currently installed in your game cabinet? If it is then you should call up Happ Controls, Bob Roberts, or Arcadeshop and order a real arcade isolation transformer.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2005, 01:53:24 am »
no it is one that I saw on ebay.  Which of the three would you recommend?
thanks
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2005, 02:17:45 am »
What transformer is installed in your game cabinet now?

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2005, 02:27:07 am »
im not sure
I can find out tomorrow
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #15 on: March 12, 2005, 02:31:17 am »
Take a picture of the inside rear of your cabinet so we can see what's in there now.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2005, 02:35:23 am »
O.K I will do that  and send you a messege tomorrow, thanks for your help
Don't let your meat loaf

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #17 on: March 12, 2005, 04:50:51 pm »
ken here are the guts
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #18 on: March 12, 2005, 07:57:35 pm »
A picture is worth a thousand words.

You have a Stern upright cabinet. If the original cabinet paint color was yellow it was a 'Bagman' game If it was clay red it was a 'King Tut' game. Anyway you already have a great isolation transformer sitting in the machine shown in the last picture. If I remamember corrctly on that cabinet there should be a black and a white wire terminating in a male white 2 pin Molex connector. That's where your monitor plugs in. Take the back door off the cabinet and look around for this cable and if you follow it backwards will lead you to the power transformer. Everything should already be wired for you in that cabinet. That old transformer had several windings inside it that went to the original game power supply circuit board, yet there was also a winding that fed the monitor isolated 115 volts AC power.

That blue unit with the black face/terminal strip is the switching power supply for running the gameboard.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2005, 09:12:14 pm »
Great
Thanks Ken for all your help.
OHH one last thing before I forget what is the best way to take my old monitor out without frying my self?
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2005, 11:29:23 pm »
Take off the back door.

Unplug the monitor power connector.

There should be a ground wire/strap connected to the monitor metal frame. Disconnect that.

Unplug the video/sync connector from the monitor.

Now go around the the front and open the upper coin door. Unlatch the control panel and unplug it. Set it out of the way somehere.

Lift the monitor glass up and out of the machine. Now remove 4 monitor mounting bolts (I think they had 3/8" hex heads). The monitor will pull straight out the front of the machine. Be careful not to bust the neck of the tube as you lift the old monitor out and you drop the new monitor in.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2005, 11:32:26 pm »
thanks
Don't let your meat loaf

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2005, 03:23:18 pm »
Ken
Does it matter if I put the new monitor in vertical or hori.?
I would like to put my NBA Jam board in there and be able to play both.
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2005, 05:51:36 pm »
The cabinet you have was originally a vertically mounted monitor so if you want NBA Jam it's a horiz game so you'd have to chop/carve/modify the wood monitor cutout to put the monitor in horizontally.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2005, 05:59:43 pm »
O.K.
other than that there should be no problem?  I know that would make 1942 hori. but I think that would be kind of cool.  I might have to rotate the joystick.  What would you recommend to use to connect multiple boards?  Is there a limit to the number of boards?
Don't let your meat loaf

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:07 pm
  • Technician
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #25 on: March 25, 2005, 06:05:48 pm »
If you want to run multiple Jamma boards in one cabinet visit www.multigame.com and buy the multijamma kit.

sean2276

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:June 22, 2005, 10:47:04 pm
  • SHAKEN NOT STIRRED
Re: NEW GOLDSTAR AGT 19" COLOR VIDEO MONITOR. ARCADE
« Reply #26 on: March 25, 2005, 06:23:39 pm »
Can I run a non-jamma board? and do I need to re-wire everything?
« Last Edit: March 26, 2005, 06:49:37 pm by sean2276 »
Don't let your meat loaf