Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger  (Read 1507 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« on: March 16, 2005, 12:55:40 pm »
I acquired a Cloak & Dagger board and am trying to get it working.

I did my own interconnect board. Talk about a nightmare

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 01:14:17 pm »
  Oh, it is missing a chip. The manual lists it as a "250 ns Tri-State Static RAM" chip. Would that make it lock up in a "rug" pattern? 

It is very possible, though impossible to say for sure.  What I CAN say for sure is that if the diagram calls for a chip, and all you have is an empty spot, you need that chip.  You're lucky it's only a RAM chip.

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2005, 02:01:02 pm »
Well, I scoured my boards and found a compatable ram on my Elevator Action board and put it in.

It only changed the rug pattern

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2005, 02:08:45 pm »
First question:

Do you know that the ram chip you put in is good?

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2005, 03:42:56 pm »
I knew someone would ask that

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2005, 09:17:18 pm »
I cleaned things up a bit, reseated chips, cleaned chip legs...

I did a check on the main CPU

Witchboard

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2004
  • Last login:October 26, 2018, 03:11:27 pm
    • Oklahoma Coin-Operated Collectors
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2005, 10:44:58 pm »
Well, if you're already doing logic probing, then you're already beyond any help I can offer.   ;)

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2005, 07:54:30 am »
Have you started at the beginning?  What I mean by that is, did you check the power supply?  Did you check the filter capacitor?  Any of those things could be caused by something simple like a bad filter cap.

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2005, 09:04:53 am »
I'm not using the Atari AR board.  I'm using a JAMMA adapter.  The voltages are all good.  I'm not sure what filter capaciter you're talking about. Is it on the game board or the power board?

Does anyone know what output the clock crystals should be giving?

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2005, 09:27:58 am »
The filter capacitor is the big cap in any power supply.  The Atari ones are well known to usually need replacing.

If you're working with an Atari board and a Jamma adapter you're adding a bunch of complexity there that's going to make it a total PIA to diagnose.  You're going to have to check ALL of the input pins on that adapter to make sure that the expected voltages (AND polarities) match what the board expects.

If there is a way for you to do this with the original power supply, do it.

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2005, 11:58:20 am »
I'm very confident it isn't a power problem.

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2005, 01:58:00 pm »
Well, at the very least, make sure there isn't any piggybacking AC on the power line.

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2005, 11:31:32 pm »
ChadTower,

It may be that you were right about the voltages. In my searching, I came across an old post on RGVAC that states that some Atari boards will get stuck on reset without the 10.3vdc.

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2005, 07:21:51 am »
You found a potential cause... awesome.  I looked that game up on KLOV, looks damn fun.  Now ifyou only looked like the kid from ET, you'd be all set (I did as a kid).  Cool looking cab, too, though doesn't look like you have it.

Keep us updated, I'd love to see this sucker living again.  Since you've made your own adapter anyway, I'd bring the 12v down to 10.3 on that line.  May as well, it's not like you're using that harness for anything else.

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2005, 03:10:56 pm »
Well, I finally got the Cloak & Dagger working

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #15 on: April 13, 2005, 05:35:47 pm »
Ha, awesome.  That really was the most likely problem.

Rocky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Last login:December 30, 2009, 12:38:41 pm
  • I want to finish my cab before I retire!!
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2005, 08:59:25 am »
Well, I'm please to say that the Cloak & Dagger is 100%

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Tech: Atari Cloak & Dagger
« Reply #17 on: April 19, 2005, 09:20:46 am »
Awesome.