Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Grounding metal control panels  (Read 2645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

JoyMonkey

  • Voodoo Wiki Master . . .
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2898
  • Last login:February 08, 2019, 08:13:52 am
  • Candy is Dandy but Liquor is Quicker
    • JoyMonkey.com
Grounding metal control panels
« on: March 04, 2005, 05:28:51 pm »
To avoid electrocuting my friends, should I ground my metal control panels?
If so, is this the correct method of wiring it:
« Last Edit: March 08, 2005, 06:20:24 pm by JoyMonkey »

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12943
  • Last login:February 19, 2019, 05:03:43 pm
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: Todays dumb question: Should metal control panels be grounded?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2005, 05:33:56 pm »
Yes.

JoyMonkey

  • Voodoo Wiki Master . . .
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2898
  • Last login:February 08, 2019, 08:13:52 am
  • Candy is Dandy but Liquor is Quicker
    • JoyMonkey.com
Re: Todays dumb question: Should metal control panels be grounded?
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2005, 05:37:49 pm »
Thought so. None of my friends like electrocution, oddly enough.

Actually, my monitor uses a 3 prong plug, so I don't think it's AS dangerous as having a 2 prong ungrounded monitor. But still, better safe than sorry, eh?
« Last Edit: March 04, 2005, 05:39:53 pm by JoyMonkey »

APFelon

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 564
  • Last login:December 31, 2014, 03:42:56 pm
  • Posts: 5922
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2005, 02:29:47 pm »
I have a story for you that you might enjoy.

When I was a rookie tech, I was rewiring a Street Fighter II's AC on location at the Minneapolis Airport. I wired the ground to the field ground thinking "what's the difference?"

Well, the wall plug had taken some abuse and was missing the field ground prong. Whenever anyone tried playing the game, they received mild electrical shocks through the CP. It was like this for a week before someone called the shop to complain about the machine "biting" them.

I repaired it and explained what happened to my boss. He looked at me for a second and just shook his head.

Today I think it's kind of funny. But I used to be extremely... uh, "anal" I guess I could call it about my job, as I was trying to "prove myself" because of my inexperience. What a stupid, stupid mistake. Hah.

APf

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 17, 2018, 11:19:59 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2005, 10:14:05 pm »
APFelon,
Are you saying that what's been said above is wrong, or not?
NO MORE!!

fredster

  • Grand Prophet of Arcadeology
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2311
  • Last login:February 16, 2019, 04:28:53 pm
  • It's all good!
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2005, 10:14:57 pm »
It doesn't hurt to do that, and every arcade machine I ever saw had a ground comming off the metal panel.

It protects it from things you might not expect, like a mouse eating through a wire or some totally unforseen incident.

It costs like $.05 and takes 3 minutes.
King of the Flying Monkeys from the Dark Side

APFelon

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 564
  • Last login:December 31, 2014, 03:42:56 pm
  • Posts: 5922
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2005, 02:47:08 am »
APFelon,
Are you saying that what's been said above is wrong, or not?


Heh, nope. Grounding the panel is standard procedure. Wiring 110 VAC up to the FG is uncommon. My mistake was actually giving people shocks.

APf
 

menace

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2567
  • Last login:January 29, 2019, 05:01:12 pm
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2005, 06:59:32 am »
I don't understand where this 110VAC is coming from in order to bite people? is the metal panel touching the tube frame or something?  I can't for the life of me figure out how an isolated metal panel would shock people unless it was wired to do so... ???
its better to not post and be thought a fool, then to whip out your keyboard and remove all doubt...

JoyMonkey

  • Voodoo Wiki Master . . .
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2898
  • Last login:February 08, 2019, 08:13:52 am
  • Candy is Dandy but Liquor is Quicker
    • JoyMonkey.com
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2005, 08:03:29 am »
Grounding the panel is standard procedure. Wiring 110 VAC up to the FG is uncommon.

How do you normally ground the panel then? Do you use the ground connection from the power supply?

Stingray

  • Official Slacker - I promise to try a lot less
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10459
  • Last login:July 20, 2017, 01:22:24 pm
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2005, 01:40:18 pm »
I have three arcade machines all of which have metal control panels, none of which are grounded.

Quote
I don't understand where this 110VAC is coming from in order to bite people? is the metal panel touching the tube frame or something?  I can't for the life of me figure out how an isolated metal panel would shock people unless it was wired to do so...

That's a good question.  ???

-S
Stingray you magnificent bastard!
This place is dead lately.  Stingray scare everyone off?

APFelon

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 564
  • Last login:December 31, 2014, 03:42:56 pm
  • Posts: 5922
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2005, 03:33:35 pm »
I'm sorry, I thought I was clear.

I wired the 110 through the FG as a lazy "shortcut",  thus electrifying the panel, the coin door, and everything else that the FG wire ran to.

So, when a customer touched the panel, they got a shock.

You have 3 wires running in to a game through the line cord: A black, a white, and a green. Typically, the power runs trough the black and the white, with the green as kind of a "catch all" for static and the like. That's why it runs to various metal components throughout the game (the panel, the marquee light housing, the coin door, the monitor mounting frame). I ran 110 through this green wire and it electrified all of it. So when someone touched the panel (or the coin door, monitor mounting frame, marquee light housing, etc) they would receive a shock.

I clearly suck at telling stories, so never mind.  :P

APf



fredster

  • Grand Prophet of Arcadeology
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2311
  • Last login:February 16, 2019, 04:28:53 pm
  • It's all good!
Re: Todays dumb question: Do metal control panels need to be grounded?
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2005, 04:11:10 pm »
Your diagram is fine. 

All of the green wire runs to the ground, you don't have to ground it separately.

Shocks can be caused from lots of things, like static or a malfunction, or a frayed wire.

Grounding the CP (every metal control panel I have was grounded) is fine.

Sometimes the ground is just on the metal frame around the CP.  It's just a wire.  It can go to the FG.

It makes the risk of shock 0.

King of the Flying Monkeys from the Dark Side