Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: TFT Display  (Read 1234 times)

Sam66

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 29, 2003, 05:10:55 am
  • I'm a llama!
TFT Display
« on: August 16, 2002, 12:23:26 pm »
Ok, I'm new to all this so please don't flame me if this is a silly question but:

Other than cost, authenticity and maybe viewing angles, is there any reason a TFT display shouldn't be used for a mame cabinet (I'm thinking slimline cocktail cabinet).

Any response, positive or negative will be appreciated.

Sam66

MameFan

Re:TFT Display
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2002, 02:13:41 pm »
2 Words: Horrendous Scaling!

LCD monitors are great for a FIXED resolution and refresh rate.  As soon as you start playing around with displaying different display sizes, it forces the monitor to scale your picture to fit the FIXED dot layout it has.

Cheap old LCD's wouldn't even do that... they left you with a huge black border.

New ones will scale, but will cause 2 artifacts:
1) Blocky, uneveness
2) Fuzziness.

It all depends on the mfg, how much electronics is in the monitor, etc..

The problem is, for example, most "classic" games are in the range of 320 x 240 pixels.  If that were the case, then it would scale to 640x480 nicely (4 pixels for every 1), or even 960x720 (9 pixels for every 1). [Worse though not all use that.. it might be 328 x 244 pixels, making multipliers not work as well]