Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: pls recommend setup  (Read 438 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

16el

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Last login:October 04, 2005, 03:06:26 pm
  • I'm a llama!
pls recommend setup
« on: April 28, 2004, 09:27:24 am »
Any advise apreciated.

hardware
Cel 600 with 256 MD RAM
Asus V7100 w/ svid output to TV
10 GB HD

Originally I wanted to run dos with gamelauncher but I'm not sure I can get output to the svid in dos

I am now thinking of running windows 2000/xp instead.

What is a good way to run a graphical front end in windows 2000/xp to hide the windows environment.

It will be mostly for fighters and 4 player bash'em up games.

Thanks in advance.

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12951
  • Last login:February 03, 2020, 04:31:27 pm
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re:pls recommend setup
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2004, 11:13:09 am »
I'm pretty sure you can use DOS with TV out.  

You didn't mention sound.  What sound card are you going to use?  Drivers may be an issue if that's the case, and you'd HAVE to use Windows.

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4943
  • Last login:May 06, 2020, 03:16:13 pm
Re:pls recommend setup
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2004, 11:33:35 am »
The only card I thought which had TV-out in dos was ATI.

I thought the geforce ones only worked in windows.  But its VERY easy to test... just boot it and see.

With that machine... DOS will be worth it.  The extra 5-10% speed increase might add an additional 500 - 600 games easily which will work at full fps.

Don't forget the sci display doctor is now freeware.  Best thing since sliced cheese for dos users. <edit>  not sure if its useful for TV- out though... let us know </edit>
« Last Edit: April 28, 2004, 11:34:14 am by Lilwolf »

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12951
  • Last login:February 03, 2020, 04:31:27 pm
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re:pls recommend setup
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2004, 11:49:33 am »
I've got two TV out cards.  One is  some no-name card with an S3 chipset I got at a swap a year ago.

The other is a TNT2 card made by Asus.  Outputs both SVideo and composite in DOS just fine.