Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: BUG!  SAINT PLEASE HELP!!!  (Read 3720 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Agent Davis

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
BUG!  SAINT PLEASE HELP!!!
« on: February 26, 2002, 06:03:23 pm »
Got the password and logged in.  But when I click anything at all it says I'm a guest and can't do that or whatever.  What the heck?  Can't change my profile or anything.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Agent Davis

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: BUG!
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2002, 06:18:07 pm »
It has me listed below as logged in and right after I log in it says Welcome, agentdavis at the top.  However, whenever I click ANYTHING that changes to Welcome, Guest.   It won't let me do anything as logged in.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

admin

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: BUG!
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2002, 07:05:26 pm »
Which Browser and Version. Also OS and version?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Agent Davis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 154
  • Last login:April 11, 2008, 04:14:41 pm
Re: BUG!
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2002, 07:14:49 pm »
testing  ???
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

nightowl007

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:November 01, 2004, 11:47:05 pm
  • This Space For Rent
    • James' MAME Page
Re: BUG!
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2002, 07:15:06 pm »
Quote
Which Browser and Version. Also OS and version?


Had the same problem. Seemed to be fixed now.

IE 6
Windows XP Pro
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

planetjay

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 547
  • Last login:April 22, 2019, 10:50:57 pm
  • Ex-Evil Admin Monkey.
    • planetjay.com
Re: BUG!
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2002, 07:16:37 pm »
Also what time zone?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
planetjay.com. Still in Chicago. Still no hurricanes!

Agent Davis

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: BUG!
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2002, 08:39:14 pm »
Still doing it.

Windows XP
IE 6.0
Eastern Time

Everytime I click it changes me to guest.

Got another suggestion though.  Change the number of posts to reach certain avatars.  There's people with 3 "buttons" and have only posted 15 times.  Like make it 100 for the first star, 200, 500, 1000, or something like that....  and change the names to something more arcade controls llike instead of just Member.

Also, why do people post useless post after useless post just so they can get their post number up?  Kinda annoying.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

JMDickson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Last login:October 21, 2011, 11:22:48 pm
Re: BUG!
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2002, 08:43:13 pm »
Do you have cookies turned off?  I don't see url threading or hidden fields to keep up with your userid, so I assume cookies are used.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

planetjay

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 547
  • Last login:April 22, 2019, 10:50:57 pm
  • Ex-Evil Admin Monkey.
    • planetjay.com
Re: BUG!
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2002, 08:46:58 pm »
So far everyone having problems is running Windows XP and IE 6. But mixed times zones...

Also, there are now only 2 levels. Newbie and Member.  Only 5 or 10 posts I think to Member. That may still change.

There are no other levels relating to number of posts.

Please continue to advise when this problem happens. Also You may try another PC with Netscape or different version of OS or IE.

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
planetjay.com. Still in Chicago. Still no hurricanes!

Agent Davis

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: BUG!
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2002, 08:49:39 pm »
Still doin it...  I've made sure cookies were on.  I'll change to Low Security and see what happens.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Tom.

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: BUG!
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2002, 08:55:33 pm »
Same problem here... except:

Win2k
IE6
Arizona time
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

JMDickson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Last login:October 21, 2011, 11:22:48 pm
Re: BUG!
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2002, 08:59:31 pm »
I bet it's IE 6.

planetjay

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 547
  • Last login:April 22, 2019, 10:50:57 pm
  • Ex-Evil Admin Monkey.
    • planetjay.com
Re: BUG!
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2002, 09:02:36 pm »
Ok. After hours of research I find this:

I've had this problem on my boards. Try the following two solutions :

1) If you are using a re-directing URL, give the people having the trouble the actual URL and see if that helps.

If not :

2) A number of people have recently upgraded to IE6. This has silly security settings. Tell them to :

Click :

Tools
Internet Options
Privacy

Slide the slider to "Accept All Cookies"
Apply
Ok

They may have to reboot for the changes to take effect.

Thats worked for my users. Good luck.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
planetjay.com. Still in Chicago. Still no hurricanes!

planetjay

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 547
  • Last login:April 22, 2019, 10:50:57 pm
  • Ex-Evil Admin Monkey.
    • planetjay.com
Re: BUG!
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2002, 09:05:56 pm »
I know some people don't like cookies.....

So try:

Tools
Internet Options
Privacy

Click on Edit.
put "http://www.arcadecontrols.org" in box.
Click Allow.

Click OK and OK.

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
planetjay.com. Still in Chicago. Still no hurricanes!

planetjay

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 547
  • Last login:April 22, 2019, 10:50:57 pm
  • Ex-Evil Admin Monkey.
    • planetjay.com
Re: BUG!
« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2002, 09:07:47 pm »
BTW.... Not bug.... Microsoft IE6 feature!  ;D
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
planetjay.com. Still in Chicago. Still no hurricanes!

dhansen (almost)

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: BUG!
« Reply #15 on: February 26, 2002, 09:09:28 pm »
Yeah, I'm getting the same shiznet.. ???
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Agent Davis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 154
  • Last login:April 11, 2008, 04:14:41 pm
Re: BUG!
« Reply #16 on: February 26, 2002, 09:09:36 pm »
PJ,  YOU DA MAN!!!

It was definitely the cookie problem.  I just installed XP and didn't realize the cookie settings that they have.  I thought all cookies were enabled but apparently not.  Before changing it was on Medium.  I changed it to Accept all cookies and that fixed it!  Thanks a lot bro!

AD
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

nightowl007

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:November 01, 2004, 11:47:05 pm
  • This Space For Rent
    • James' MAME Page
Re: BUG!
« Reply #17 on: February 26, 2002, 09:11:32 pm »
Quote
I bet it's IE 6.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Agent Davis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 154
  • Last login:April 11, 2008, 04:14:41 pm
Re: BUG!
« Reply #18 on: February 26, 2002, 09:15:47 pm »
Started the first hot topic... Sweetness!!!  LOL....
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

dhansen

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 293
  • Last login:July 13, 2019, 12:09:06 am
  • No Quarters Needed
    • Arcade Stupidity
Re: BUG!
« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2002, 09:17:15 pm »
Ahhhhh the cookie thing fixed it! ;D
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
..as his cold lifeless fingers lie motionless on the garage floor, all he could hear in his head was...I JUST WANTED TO PLAY A GAME OF DONKEY KONG!!

nightowl007

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:November 01, 2004, 11:47:05 pm
  • This Space For Rent
    • James' MAME Page
Re: BUG!
« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2002, 09:40:23 pm »
Quote


Hmmm.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

1UP

  • Token Junkie
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2081
  • Last login:November 11, 2014, 01:37:18 am
  • Yes, that is a joystick in my pocket.
    • 1UPArcade
Re: BUG!
« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2002, 11:12:20 pm »
The "allow" thing worked even better, without further compromising privacy.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Free resource for building your own rotating control panels!

My other job...


Magnet Eye

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
The problem is the frame usage...
« Reply #22 on: February 27, 2002, 05:06:17 pm »
if i open in new window it works fine for me and IE6. but something with the frames is screwing everything up. Personally, I don't even like frames. Anyway, hope you guys figure out a way to stop this from happening.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

planetjay

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 547
  • Last login:April 22, 2019, 10:50:57 pm
  • Ex-Evil Admin Monkey.
    • planetjay.com
Re: BUG!
« Reply #23 on: February 27, 2002, 05:21:45 pm »
The cookie settings will fix that too. Because your IE is set to not allow cross-domain cookies.

In other words. The message board is not on arcadecontrols.com. But the frame around it is. Your settings prevent cookies from domains other than the domain of the MAIN frame.

This is actually good in that it prevents companies with banner ads from tracking your surfing habbits. By following the second set of instructions that I posted you can retain this feature but allow ONLY www.arcadecontrols.org to give you cookies.

Also note that these cookies are only used for YaBB to recognise you. There is no tracking associated with them. Anyone with doubts can download the source code from the link at the absolute bottom of the page.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
planetjay.com. Still in Chicago. Still no hurricanes!