Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Does AMD Ryzen 3 3200G work with crt_emdriver?  (Read 372 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

punkysuen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:March 06, 2021, 03:01:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Does AMD Ryzen 3 3200G work with crt_emdriver?
« on: February 23, 2021, 01:02:07 am »
I look at the GPU list, see that AMD Ryzen 5 2400G and AMD Ryzen 3 2200G are supported.
However, they may be too old to be found in my local stores.
I can only find AMD Ryzen 3 3200G.

Have anyone tried?

Thanks.

Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 457
  • Last login:Today at 08:32:46 am
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Does AMD Ryzen 3 3200G work with crt_emdriver?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2021, 04:21:13 am »
If the 2200 and 2400 both work, I see no reason at all the 3400 (3200) won't. What I wanna know, is will it work with (I'm guessing probably) the 4750g.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2021, 04:23:29 am by Phreakwars »

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 567
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:19:45 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Does AMD Ryzen 3 3200G work with crt_emdriver?
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2021, 02:25:28 pm »
why bother, it doesn't support interlace, you're quite limited
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7085
  • Last login:Today at 05:48:06 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Does AMD Ryzen 3 3200G work with crt_emdriver?
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2021, 04:02:55 pm »
The Ryzen 3000 APUs are not supported by most recent available CRT Emudriver, that dates from 2018. A new version based on current AMD drivers would support these APUs, but I don't have a schedule for this. The problem is Windows drivers don't have support for interlaced on this hardware, so it's rather pointless. Although 15-kHz low resolution modes work, lack of interlace means no usable 15-kHz desktop.

Any chance of using this new hardware will mean Linux.

I look at the GPU list, see that AMD Ryzen 5 2400G and AMD Ryzen 3 2200G are supported.
However, they may be too old to be found in my local stores.
I can only find AMD Ryzen 3 3200G.

Have anyone tried?

Thanks.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

punkysuen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:March 06, 2021, 03:01:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Does AMD Ryzen 3 3200G work with crt_emdriver?
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2021, 03:01:48 am »
Thanks for all replies!

dmckean

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
  • Last login:Today at 02:33:44 am
Re: Does AMD Ryzen 3 3200G work with crt_emdriver?
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2021, 03:37:03 am »
I don't think lack of 480i is a total deal breaker. It would be nice to have a frontend that works with 240p better.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7085
  • Last login:Today at 05:48:06 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Does AMD Ryzen 3 3200G work with crt_emdriver?
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2021, 05:20:58 am »
I don't think lack of 480i is a total deal breaker. It would be nice to have a frontend that works with 240p better.

I'm with you. But having tried Windows 10 at 240p, I can say it's unusable even for me. For instance, you can't even see the password on the logon screen. It's theoretically possible to setup everything first using a normal monitor, then tweak it remotely later on.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi