Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: How does GroovyMAME display and rotate vertical games on 15 kHz monitors?  (Read 354 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sofakng

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 646
  • Last login:February 18, 2021, 04:19:21 pm
How does GroovyMAME display and rotate vertical games on 15 kHz monitors?

For example, a lot of SHMUPs are 240x320.  You can't simply rotate it because 320p is too high for 15 kHz.

Does GroovyMAME automatically use 480i or how is this handled?

dmckean

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
  • Last login:Today at 12:32:46 pm
Yes, by default GroovyMame will convert resolutions outside your monitor's scan range to 480i. There's a downscale option too but both are ugly though. There's no real good solution to this and is why most of us have separate horizontal and vertical setups.

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1559
  • Last login:Today at 03:22:21 pm
Groovymame will automatically rotate the screen according to your specifications in VMMaker.

Check the "edit settings" tab and you'll see a monitor rotation pictogram displaying how you want you monitor. If you choose "rotate to the right". You'll see two full looking 3:4 CRT screens, with one rotated. Do it this way you get the UI/menu in horizontal but vertical games are rotated to the right and in proper resolution.

EDIT: You must also check the "export settings to mame.ini" box on the 4th tab, otherwise VMMaker doesn't update mame settings for you.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2021, 04:43:04 am by Zebidee »
Check out my completed projects!