Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410  (Read 579 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Last login:March 01, 2021, 05:14:10 am
Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410
« on: December 23, 2020, 04:11:08 pm »
I've got a bit of an issue with Groovyarcade and this Fujitsu computer.

I'm using a Radeon HD 5450 with Atom15 firmware installed which I've had working on other machines but this one seems to reject anything related to 15khz.

The BIOS and groovyarcade boot screens seem to have horizontal sync but no vertical sync. The installer also seems to have hsync with no vsync but it looks like 480p (3 of the same screen).

It seems like this motherboard is somehow refusing to allow whatever tricks groovyarcade (and Atom15) use and I can't work out why.

I did have this before of a Dell office PC and never worked it out. Has anyone got any ideas?
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 566
  • Last login:Today at 01:31:24 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2020, 04:54:53 pm »
Hi!

Do you have the exact model of your hd5450 ? On my side, tried with 2 different Asus and one gigabyte (none flashed with atom15) and all work well. I don't know for atom15, but all have a negative sync, vertical or horizontal once linux has booted.

Why do you think it's a problem with the gfx card and not the monitor ?
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Last login:March 01, 2021, 05:14:10 am
Re: Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2020, 05:01:40 pm »
Well, it actually would seem to be the monitor.

It exhibits the issues above on a Bang & Olufsen MX7000. I tried the same setup and same scart lead on my Philips Amiga monitor and it works perfectly. Also on the B&O I have to select VGA2 to get any display output yet on the Philips monitor it works fine on VGA1.



I'm assuming this is something to do with EDID or monitor detection? I've got some resistors on the RGB to ground froma previous issue, do I want to maybe change the values for this TV?
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 566
  • Last login:Today at 01:31:24 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2020, 06:48:40 pm »
Edid or DDC are easily circumvented, my GA fork perfectly handles that if you're a little patient. The autodetection script will tedt each output and force analogue connectors to enabled for that very precise case. You should just stay in front of your PC and press enter when it's asking if you can see the output. Luckily it's talking while working so you know what's happening.
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Last login:March 01, 2021, 05:14:10 am
Re: Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2020, 10:18:12 am »
Well, turns out I had a screwed HDD so it looked like selecting VGA1 wasn't working but give it enough time and up it popped.

As for the sync issue, it seems I answered my own question..  almost 3 years ago lol:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,153394.msg1643419.html#msg1643419

Damned picky B&O TVs!

Thanks for the help!
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 566
  • Last login:Today at 01:31:24 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2020, 07:28:29 am »
You needed csync ? I don't remember you mentionning this ...
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Last login:March 01, 2021, 05:14:10 am
Re: Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2020, 10:22:12 am »
I mentioned above it was a TV..
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 566
  • Last login:Today at 01:31:24 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Groovyarcade on a Fujitsu E410
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2020, 11:45:32 am »
I don't know many TVs requiring csync ;) mine don't, for instance
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home