Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: PC Questions  (Read 300 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 310
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:30:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
PC Questions
« on: November 21, 2020, 08:30:19 am »
Hi all, hope everyone is keeping alright.

I finally came into some PC parts and am going to piece together a rig to run GroovyMame so I can install into a JAMMA cab.

My parts are older but still sufficient I believe. It's a Z87 Motherboard and an i7 4770 processor. Naturally I need other parts to complete this... Which leads me back here.

Others have told me they run 8gb ram on their GroovyMame rigs and others run the now typical 16gb. I am curious how much ram is needed to properly run GroovyMame and whether there is benefit to more than 8gb of ram. This board takes DDR3.

Planning on an SSD and finding a suitable Radeon card to push 15khz.

Can I run Windows 10 or is it not recommended? If that is the case, is Windows 7 the suggested OS?

Thanks in advance.

Osirus23

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 798
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:33:34 pm
Re: PC Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2020, 08:50:41 am »
8 GB is plenty and so is that CPU. My GroovyMAME test setup is an i5 3470 with 8 GB RAM and a Radeon HD 6450. I'm running Windows 7 but I think 10 would work just as well.

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 310
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:30:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: PC Questions
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2020, 09:45:07 am »
Thanks. There isn't a ton of used DDR3 kicking about but I should be able to scrounge 8gb up easier than 16gb anyways.

Do you find any drawbacks to only 8gb? If one were to use various lag reduction and latency reduction features etc, would adding more ram have any benefit? What about if I wanted to try other options like ShmupArch etc?

I see GroovyArcade as an alternative OS but presume there are many caveats. It appears that it's a Linux distro of GroovyMame yes? I have a Windows 7 key here so I could probably just use that for an OS I think? I presume Windows has the most flexibility and support vs the alternative OS's?

Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 357
  • Last login:Today at 02:12:41 am
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: PC Questions
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2020, 10:44:33 am »
I use 8 gigs in mine under windows 7 x64. Make sure you are using an x64 version of the OS if you plan on 8. Will work fine on both Windows 7 & 10 & Linux distros as long as you are using a compatible x64 version of it. I prefer Windows 7 because of the ability to hack and modify the boot up and shutdown screens, turn off updates so you can administer remotely and have it connected to wi-fi. I also prefer older boards like the socket 1155 or 1150 that are name brand like Asus, MSI and have BIOS boot logos that can be modified. You don't have to do all that at all, you can easily use an old Dell or HP board with Windows 10 and hide the OS and boot right into your front end, but I like customizing personally.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2020, 10:46:59 am by Phreakwars »

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 490
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:52:13 am
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: PC Questions
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2020, 01:55:55 pm »
I see GroovyArcade as an alternative OS but presume there are many caveats. It appears that it's a Linux distro of GroovyMame yes? I have a Windows 7 key here so I could probably just use that for an OS I think? I presume Windows has the most flexibility and support vs the alternative OS's?
Takes 10 minutes to setup a cab with GroovyArcade, you can even simply test it from a live USB if you're scared of installing it. No harm will be done to your HDD.
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 310
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:30:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: PC Questions
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2020, 10:13:43 pm »
My board is an Asus Z87 which is an 1150 socket so I should be good there. I'm not sure I have the wi-fi antenna or if it has onboard LAN. Once set up, online connectivity is not a need for me but it's something to think about.

So there is no real benefit in doubling ram to 16gb?

I'll have to give GroovyArcade a shot at some point. Really, 10 minutes to try something... I have that.

Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 357
  • Last login:Today at 02:12:41 am
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: PC Questions
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2020, 01:44:49 am »
For wi-fi I buy these up like crazy. https://amzn.to/3lVaaka

Please make a habit of disclosing when a link is an affiliate link - thanks!  --- saint
« Last Edit: November 23, 2020, 12:27:26 pm by saint »

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
  • Last login:November 23, 2020, 06:09:02 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: PC Questions
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2020, 05:11:47 am »
My board is an Asus Z87 which is an 1150 socket so I should be good there. I'm not sure I have the wi-fi antenna or if it has onboard LAN. Once set up, online connectivity is not a need for me but it's something to think about.

So there is no real benefit in doubling ram to 16gb?

I'll have to give GroovyArcade a shot at some point. Really, 10 minutes to try something... I have that.
16gb it's overkill for emulation proposes, my system runs well with 4gb.

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 310
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:30:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: PC Questions
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2020, 05:23:59 pm »
My board is an Asus Z87 which is an 1150 socket so I should be good there. I'm not sure I have the wi-fi antenna or if it has onboard LAN. Once set up, online connectivity is not a need for me but it's something to think about.

So there is no real benefit in doubling ram to 16gb?

I'll have to give GroovyArcade a shot at some point. Really, 10 minutes to try something... I have that.
16gb it's overkill for emulation proposes, my system runs well with 4gb.

Good to know. I and my wallet thank you.