Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load  (Read 477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

max.r.mccarty@gmail.com

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:July 29, 2020, 03:50:13 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« on: July 01, 2020, 02:08:50 pm »
Is there a way to bypass the system spec window that shows up when you launch (specifically MAME roms)?  The one that shows game name, CPU, sound and Video Info - where you have to click past?

This might seem trivial, but hosting this in an arcade cabinet it's unappealing every time you start a game.

Trying to google this question, you get everything about system specs and system requirements and nothing about how to bypass (if possible).

newmanfamilyvlogs

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1668
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:01:23 am
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,103584.msg1096585.html#msg1096585
    • Newman Family Vlogs
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2020, 02:18:56 pm »
You'll need one of the various builds of mame that incorporate a "No Nag" feature.
GroovyMAME supports this, as do many others. You can learn more about that particular build in it's subforum here:
http://newforum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/board,52.0.html

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3415
  • Last login:Today at 11:56:48 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2020, 03:15:11 pm »
Just remember if you do start using a no-nag build - if you run into problems with certain games you will not get the warnings that would normally tell you what the problem is - SO best to use them after you already have your game list set and working before using it - or use a stock build for testing newly added roms that you are not sure of their status before asking for help if they are not working properly !  :cheers:

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18550
  • Last login:Today at 02:19:17 am
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2020, 03:38:12 pm »
Actually the info screen goes away after the first time you play the game unless it's a game with preliminary drivers or has something wrong with it... aka an info screen you SHOULDN'T skip.  So it's best to use stock mame... those screens are there for a reason.

Osirus23

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 712
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:31:06 pm
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2020, 08:27:34 pm »
Just ran a stock Mame build and the info screen, NOT warnings, appeared each time I launched a game. It didn't go away after the first time.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18550
  • Last login:Today at 02:19:17 am
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2020, 08:35:58 pm »
Then you don't have it turned on in the mame.ini

Osirus23

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 712
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:31:06 pm
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2020, 09:28:26 pm »
Then you don't have it turned on in the mame.ini

Which is exactly what the OP is asking how to do.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7862
  • Last login:Today at 03:28:48 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2020, 11:00:07 pm »
Is there a way to bypass the system spec window that shows up when you launch (specifically MAME roms)?  The one that shows game name, CPU, sound and Video Info - where you have to click past?
Pretty sure the option you're looking for in mame.ini is "skip_gameinfo".

Quote
#
# CORE MISC OPTIONS
#

skip_gameinfo             1

Open mame.ini in Notepad to edit it.
- "0" = disabled
- "1"  = enabled

If you don't have a mame.ini file, run the mame executable with the "-cc" (create config) switch. i.e. "mame64.exe -cc"


Scott
EDIT: Other .ini files that override mame.ini may have "skip_gameinfo       0" (disabled) so look there if properly dumped and working games still have the system info popup window.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2020, 05:37:13 am by PL1 »

bobbyb13

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:01:52 pm
  • I'm TRYing to build arcade controls!
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2020, 04:13:50 am »
Is there a way to bypass the system spec window that shows up when you launch (specifically MAME roms)?  The one that shows game name, CPU, sound and Video Info - where you have to click past?
Pretty sure the option you're looking for in mame.ini is "skip_gameinfo".

Quote
#
# CORE MISC OPTIONS
#

skip_gameinfo             1

Open mame.ini in Notepad to edit it.
- "0" = disabled
- "1"  = enabled

If you don't have a mame.ini file, run the mame executable with the "-cc" (create config) switch. i.e. "mame64.exe -cc"


Scott

Thanks for posting Scott.  :cheers:
I thought this was only possible with a no-nag version (which I never tried due to caveats like that from Howard)
Why'd you kick me?
Where's your brain?

Robbbert

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Last login:July 30, 2020, 12:51:58 pm
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2020, 04:46:56 am »
The OP might want to consider NOT using his email address as a Nickname - you're inviting all the spammers into your inbox.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7862
  • Last login:Today at 03:28:48 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Possible to Remove System Spec window on ROM Load
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2020, 05:35:52 am »
Thanks for posting Scott.  :cheers:
I thought this was only possible with a no-nag version (which I never tried due to caveats like that from Howard)
Glad to assist.   ;D

Also, forgot to mention that other .ini files that override mame.ini may have "skip_gameinfo       0" (disabled) so look there if properly dumped and working games still have the system info popup window.


Scott