Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Move from Desktop to Raspberry PI  (Read 803 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jmiller5

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:April 06, 2020, 04:25:19 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Move from Desktop to Raspberry PI
« on: April 06, 2020, 03:48:26 pm »
Hi folks,
Looking for some advice.
I've got Mame setup on an old desktop pc running few emulators for Arcade, N64, Megadrive. Its mounted in a cabinet I made with the old monitor, two speakers and the two player joysticks and buttons on a panel.
I'd like to downsize the arcade cabinet if I can so looking to maybe change out the desktop for a Raspberry PI as read Mame etc can run via this and its a nice small size.
Is this easy enough to do?
Is there a way to turn the Raspberry on and off from a button on the outside of the cabinet?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

DorkVonWaterfall

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:April 07, 2020, 02:02:47 pm
Re: Move from Desktop to Raspberry PI
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2020, 01:57:43 pm »
One word :

Retropie

shazam0527

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:April 29, 2020, 01:22:47 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Move from Desktop to Raspberry PI
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2020, 05:20:39 pm »
I concur, retropie was SUPER easy to setup and run, just move your roms over to the proper directory on the pie after you install Retropi and it's cake from there.  I can help if you need more info.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1289
  • Last login:May 20, 2020, 07:42:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Move from Desktop to Raspberry PI
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2020, 09:15:28 pm »
retropie on a rpi3.
it isn't ready yet for the rpi4.
either way only some n64 games will run well on a rpi.

i had to go with a odroid xu4 to get smooth n64 emulation.

shazam0527

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:April 29, 2020, 01:22:47 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Move from Desktop to Raspberry PI
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2020, 02:04:55 am »
retropie on a rpi3.
it isn't ready yet for the rpi4.
either way only some n64 games will run well on a rpi.

i had to go with a odroid xu4 to get smooth n64 emulation.

This is true - N64's are rough, unless you overclock your RPi.  But you have to make sure you have some active cooling to combat the heat generated by oc'ing it.  I OC'd my old one and it worked wonderfully.  Yes there were still some hiccups, but no where near as many as if I left it stock.

THere is an official unsupported Retropie version 4.5.8 works on RPi4

« Last Edit: April 10, 2020, 02:07:02 am by shazam0527 »

DJO_Maverick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:May 15, 2020, 10:27:47 pm
  • Chrono Crosser
Re: Move from Desktop to Raspberry PI
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2020, 10:55:27 pm »
They've now got an official RetroPie build for the Pi4, and supposedly it is handling most N64 quite a bit better.  Haven't tried it myself.  RetroPie is definitely great to work with, however, even for a newcomer to Linux.