Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Connecting PC to Neo Geo MVS MV-1B monitor?  (Read 285 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ericthegreat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:May 02, 2020, 03:35:44 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Connecting PC to Neo Geo MVS MV-1B monitor?
« on: March 30, 2020, 01:49:55 am »
Is it possible or what is the best way to connect my PC (Nvidia 980ti) to a Neo Geo MVS MV-1B monitor, I understand using an encoder for the controls, but the monitor wires seem to be in a molex connector, do I need to get a different graphics card such as the ultimaker arcade 5000 (or just buy a old radeon?)? Then I would have vga and cga but I have not idea what to with the wires from the monitor, it is a jamma (I think all single mvs boards are?) if that makes an easier way to do this?

abispac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1160
  • Last login:June 14, 2020, 09:25:30 pm
Re: Connecting PC to Neo Geo MVS MV-1B monitor?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2020, 04:18:23 pm »
i did mine with an amd hd7450 and a vga breakout cable.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1030
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:25:35 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz

Ericthegreat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:May 02, 2020, 03:35:44 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Connecting PC to Neo Geo MVS MV-1B monitor?
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2020, 02:53:05 am »
I ended up ordering a jpac.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1030
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:25:35 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Connecting PC to Neo Geo MVS MV-1B monitor?
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2020, 05:27:07 am »
Nothing wrong with a JPac, good way to interface with the cab, normally works well.

I took your original question to be about getting 15kHz out of your PC as well tho, and the JPac doesn't do that part.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2020, 05:45:05 am by buttersoft »