Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Megatouch motherboard WILL NOT auto-power on  (Read 122 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1508
  • Last login:Today at 11:36:06 am
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Megatouch motherboard WILL NOT auto-power on
« on: March 25, 2020, 03:18:32 pm »
I've replaced the CMOS battery with a brand new battery.,

The Pwr On After Pwr Failure setting is set to true.  IT WILL NOT power back on if I unplug it / plug it back in.  Could this be a power supply issue?  I'm using the motherboard in a non-standard case and the power supply that came with it doesn't have an on/off switch.. -- but the LED on the motherboard glows red instantly when I plug it back in.

Oh and another interesting tidbit, the clock in the "Standard Settings" page of the bios counts seconds at double-time... Like 2 seconds for every 1 real second (not that i think that has anything to do with it).

Suggestions?

Megatouchmike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:March 26, 2020, 06:47:17 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Megatouch motherboard WILL NOT auto-power on
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2020, 06:46:18 am »
Which board?

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1508
  • Last login:Today at 11:36:06 am
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: Megatouch motherboard WILL NOT auto-power on
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2020, 02:51:11 pm »
Itís the standard ECS Force mainboard.  I couldnít find the model number, but this is an image of it.


mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 603
  • Last login:Today at 11:34:21 am
Re: Megatouch motherboard WILL NOT auto-power on
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2020, 11:09:30 am »
I have had this problem once. No matter what, cmos settings would never save. Tried everything under the sun. New battery, known working bios chip, replaced the rtc crystal, tested and replaced any visually swelling caps (even caps that tested good) Eventually i gave up and tossed the Board in the "for parts" bin.

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1508
  • Last login:Today at 11:36:06 am
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: Megatouch motherboard WILL NOT auto-power on
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2020, 07:53:13 pm »
Odd thing is, the settings save just fine. 

Theyíre set correctly, if I change them they save. It just will
Not power on after power is restored.  Itís weird.