Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: My 27" WEGA Project  (Read 1577 times)

1 Member and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Gilrock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 09:29:24 pm
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #40 on: June 09, 2019, 11:48:29 pm »
The whole machine is black so I'd spray it black.

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #41 on: June 10, 2019, 01:13:07 am »
Iím not wanting to accept that Iím wrong... Iíll probably see this through with a clear coat, wonít be hard to redo later - I hate just painting over nice wood. 

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3068
  • Last login:Today at 07:34:47 am
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #42 on: June 10, 2019, 05:47:51 am »

Gilrock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 09:29:24 pm
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #43 on: June 10, 2019, 09:19:30 am »
If you don't like painting over nice wood you should have used nice wood for the whole project and stained it all the same.

yamatetsu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2162
  • Last login:Today at 01:27:46 am
  • Just because.
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #44 on: June 10, 2019, 10:18:29 am »
Iím not wanting to accept that Iím wrong... Iíll probably see this through with a clear coat, wonít be hard to redo later - I hate just painting over nice wood.

Now go ahead and tell me in all honesty that the stained CP would looker better than a painted one.

                  

leapinlew

  • Some questionable things going on in this room with cheetos
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7154
  • Last login:June 18, 2019, 06:31:50 pm
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #45 on: June 10, 2019, 10:47:47 am »
It can totally work with the wood if you put some black elements on the cp and a couple other wood elements to the cab. Check out knievels woody here for how he integrated black on the cp:
https://knievel.webs.com/thewoody.htm

Donít get me wrong, all black is fine but it seems to me if you are pushing for not traditional side art you should also consider other non traditional elements.

Consider 1/4Ē stainable sheets that you could cut out and create your own design for side art.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2019, 10:49:26 am by leapinlew »

yamatetsu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2162
  • Last login:Today at 01:27:46 am
  • Just because.
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #46 on: June 10, 2019, 11:20:28 am »
+1 for adding more stained wood elements. The CP alone doesn't work.
                  

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #47 on: June 10, 2019, 12:22:12 pm »
Damn you and your truthful renders, Yamatestu!

yamatetsu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2162
  • Last login:Today at 01:27:46 am
  • Just because.
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #48 on: June 10, 2019, 12:33:33 pm »
We live in wondrous times. One can actually use a computer to emulate reality  ;D
                  

Mr. Peabody

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:51:18 pm
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #49 on: June 14, 2019, 07:09:03 pm »
Once you go black......  I like it with the green T-molding. The panel corners need rounding. Also, while the sticks are at the same parallel (no one noticed!), they are way....way......high on the plane. Unless you're sitting, at the right height, your wrists will not be touching the panel. It looks cramped as well, and of course too close to the admin buttons.

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #50 on: June 14, 2019, 07:56:03 pm »
Lol. Not quite ready to build a new panel, but the crowd has spoken and Iíll want to use the power tools again soon enough... placement so far feels pretty good, I can rest my palms comfortably on the panel. Should player two be dropped down a little?

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3068
  • Last login:Today at 07:34:47 am
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #51 on: June 14, 2019, 08:19:25 pm »
The best way to figure that out is to try it out with two players.

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #52 on: June 14, 2019, 09:40:23 pm »
This is what ordering things in Canada is like. I order marquee and side art from the US Jun 3rd and a gfx card from Hong Kong June 7 for a third the shipping cost and just arrived today. Not sure where the art is
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.ca%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F163722092895
« Last Edit: June 14, 2019, 09:45:20 pm by MiteWiseacre »

Locke141

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1512
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:59:17 pm
  • Never grow up.
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #53 on: June 14, 2019, 10:11:03 pm »
In my cocktail cabe built form a wind case, I am going to try India Ink on some scrap. Then I'll decide if I'm going to do so for the CP. It should let you keep the wood look but match the black stile of the cab.


« Last Edit: June 14, 2019, 10:21:21 pm by Locke141 »

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #54 on: June 14, 2019, 11:38:25 pm »
Thatís pretty nice Locke, definitely a consideration

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #55 on: June 18, 2019, 01:40:19 am »
I am seriously struggling with groovymame
I was able to get crt_emudriver up and running windows in 640x480 from the amd card > vga to component converter > crt tv. That was pretty exciting.
But trying to figure what to download and how to get Groovy MAME to run s convoluted

Arroyo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 612
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:57 am
  • Budgets are boring
    • newforum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,156267.0.html
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #56 on: June 18, 2019, 02:29:21 am »
Did you follow one of Calamityís guides?

If your card is HD 5000 or newer then follow this:

http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1052#p1052

If older then this:

http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1016#p1016

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #57 on: June 18, 2019, 11:46:38 am »
Followed the guides, the emudriver guide was great got that going.
Working through the groovymame guide is not going well, MAME will not launch. I may have forgotten how to install MAME. My existing mame 137 still launches fine, attract mode is messed, and trying to install mame .159 (that was oldest I could find)

Arroyo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 612
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:57 am
  • Budgets are boring
    • newforum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,156267.0.html
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #58 on: June 18, 2019, 12:28:30 pm »
Working through the groovymame guide is not going well, MAME will not launch.

I'm willing to bet it's because you are working with MAME beyond 0.170 and you changed in the mame.ini the:

"video    d3d9ex"

It actually should be set to auto.  Just overwrite the d3d9ex to auto.

There are subtle notes in the tutorial that link the changes but are easy to miss.  It really should be update to make it more obvious.

The link to the changes is here:

http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1235#p1235

sealcouch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 123
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:00:40 pm
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #59 on: June 18, 2019, 09:37:30 pm »
Build is looking solid. Hell of a screen to use here. I'm about to start a build and I'm thinking about using a big ass consumer tv with component in.

Keep it up.  :cheers:

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #60 on: Yesterday at 04:50:27 am »
Build is looking solid. Hell of a screen to use here. I'm about to start a build and I'm thinking about using a big ass consumer tv with component in.

Keep it up.  :cheers:
Thanks! If I ever get this sorted out Iíll try to explain how :o
Still canít get a version of groovymame to launch, Iím going to try on my normal PC tomorrow, probably easier not using a big 480i tv screen connected to a dinosaur

sealcouch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 123
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:00:40 pm
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #61 on: Yesterday at 09:58:58 am »
Build is looking solid. Hell of a screen to use here. I'm about to start a build and I'm thinking about using a big ass consumer tv with component in.

Keep it up.  :cheers:
Thanks! If I ever get this sorted out Iíll try to explain how :o
Still canít get a version of groovymame to launch, Iím going to try on my normal PC tomorrow, probably easier not using a big 480i tv screen connected to a dinosaur


I'm watching intently for the GroovyMame stuff. I have a compatible card but I feel like I see so many threads of people giving up on it.  Seems like it's a hassle to get working but when it works, it's awesome. 

I've considered going the (ever blasphemous) Pi route simply because there are so many plug and play video solutions like the pi2scart or rgbpi.

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #62 on: Yesterday at 02:16:42 pm »
Iíve got groovymame running easily on my main PC, copied it over to the arcade and it doesnít want to launch. It seems my problem is totally related to the resolution Iím running. No time now will get back at it tonight.
RetroArch seems to work quite easily with crt emu.. but itís a little clunky and Iíve set up everything around attract mode, but if you went ground up with RetroArch and did the research Iím sure itís a more up to date solution.

MiteWiseacre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My 27" WEGA Project
« Reply #63 on: Today at 05:02:43 am »
I did finally get groovymame to launch by running it in compatibility mode, windows 10 tries to force it into 480p I think and that's why it won't work unless windowed or if I switch to 648x486 res
Now the problem I have is that switch res keeps resorting to 480i on everygame, I have all these super-resolutions loaded but it won't use them.