Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Transplanting the bartop over to a regular cabinet  (Read 257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

negative1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 473
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:11:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Transplanting the bartop over to a regular cabinet
« on: May 24, 2019, 02:30:53 pm »
Since Dig Dug is a countercade unit, someone brought up the idea of transplanting the internals
into a regular arcade 1up cabinet.

This is totally feasible, as the LVDS converter should work with the arcade 1up monitor[actually
it depends on the model].

I can test it out with my pac-man machine at some point.

Will report back with the results.

later
-1

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3292
  • Last login:Today at 10:48:20 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Transplanting the bartop over to a regular cabinet
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2019, 03:08:00 pm »
Will the 17" monitor run with the resolution that the counter cades use ? ( the 8" monitor is using a lower resolution than the 17" does )

negative1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 473
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:11:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Transplanting the bartop over to a regular cabinet
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2019, 11:01:59 pm »
Will the 17" monitor run with the resolution that the counter cades use ? ( the 8" monitor is using a lower resolution than the 17" does )

I don't know.

But I figure the software is written in way to compensate for it,

or maybe not.

I still have to try it out.

later
-1

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3292
  • Last login:Today at 10:48:20 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Transplanting the bartop over to a regular cabinet
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2019, 11:08:26 pm »
I don't know.

But I figure the software is written in way to compensate for it,

or maybe not.

I still have to try it out.

later
-1

THat's the thing since they did not give us access to the config files It may only work at the set resolution and not sure if the 17" monitor will self adjust or not.