Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Newbie w Pacman -1981 stand up cab (HELP)  (Read 218 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

normanmsuengineer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:April 25, 2019, 07:47:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Newbie w Pacman -1981 stand up cab (HELP)
« on: April 23, 2019, 10:24:54 am »
I am confused if I need to keep existing PCB harness and use a converter or will that even work?  Some have directed to wire for a Jamma without the converter.(not sure what that means)  Currently I have the old 1981 Midway Pacman board that will not work.  CRT has severe burn in so I know I am changing it and a new power supply.  The board wiring harness is my big question.  Do I need converter to connect to current PAC harness for Jamma or should I wire into control panel molex connector and other as necessary ?  Which is best and/or easier?

 :dunno

I can post pics if needed.

JimmyU

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 421
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:54:09 pm
  • I believe I can fly!
Re: Newbie w Pacman -1981 stand up cab (HELP)
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2019, 11:29:38 pm »
You can use a Pac-Man to JAMMA adapter.
https://www.mikesarcade.com/cgi-bin/store.pl?sku=JA-PACMAN

Gilrock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:32:17 pm
Re: Newbie w Pacman -1981 stand up cab (HELP)
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2019, 11:14:35 am »
You can use a Pac-Man to JAMMA adapter.
https://www.mikesarcade.com/cgi-bin/store.pl?sku=JA-PACMAN

I'm not an expert on this so just trying to help.  That adapter appears to me to be for running original PCBs in a JAMMA cabinet.  But it sounds like norman is planning to switch to a board with a JAMMA connector and needs to interface it to the original harness.

Norman what are you planning to use to drive the game?

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2927
  • Last login:Today at 07:43:25 am
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: Newbie w Pacman -1981 stand up cab (HELP)
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2019, 11:19:10 am »
They have adapters that go the other way too.

normanmsuengineer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:April 25, 2019, 07:47:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Newbie w Pacman -1981 stand up cab (HELP)
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2019, 02:41:12 pm »
You can use a Pac-Man to JAMMA adapter.
https://www.mikesarcade.com/cgi-bin/store.pl?sku=JA-PACMAN

I'm not an expert on this so just trying to help.  That adapter appears to me to be for running original PCBs in a JAMMA cabinet.  But it sounds like norman is planning to switch to a board with a JAMMA connector and needs to interface it to the original harness.

Norman what are you planning to use to drive the game?

I am planning for a Jamma 60 in 1 since my old PAC-MAN PCB is dead.  I will get a new power supply but regarding connection to the Jamma 60 in 1 board.  Do I just buy a jamma harness and use it or any need to adapter to the existing harness left from the PAC-MAN.  Some have said just use this from amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/BLEE-28PinX2-Interface-Multicade-Consoles/dp/B07F721HHT/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?keywords=jamma+harness&qid=1556217600&s=gateway&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1