Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt (SOLVED)  (Read 428 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

@alaska-

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:May 21, 2019, 05:45:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt (SOLVED)
« on: April 19, 2019, 08:29:36 am »
Trying to build a mame pc with an hd6450 and crtemudriver but i can't get past the step (on calamity guide) where you enable edid emulation
pc monitor show scrambled picture (but altought still usable and still, and this get me confused since you re suppose to not have signal on lcd anymore)
and you switch plug to the crt
(usign umsa to convert vga to scart with negative polarity jumpers setting)

the crt i use works flawlessly with all the retroconsole i hooked up to it
but for some reason i m not aware of this doesn't work

also i'm not sure this is a syncing issue or the graphic card is still outputting a 31khz signal

anyway picture on the tv scrolling like crazy
i also already reinstalled everthing from scratch a couple of time and redid all the step
so i'm missing something here or probably the crt isn't enough flexible to display vga/rgb signal from pc

my setup:
Optiplex 760 with hd 6450 vga-out to umsa ultimate scart adapter (no tweaking, use it straight oot of the box)
normal consumer crt with scart in

EDIT: what worked for me is to import mame resolutions from the mame executable then click ok and go straight to generete modes and then import them
the process can take a few minutes but only after that you can go to the edid button and click it
« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 06:43:23 am by @alaska- »

BigDaddy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:April 20, 2019, 09:09:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2019, 09:23:33 am »
I have the same video card and the same problem! Here's my current setup:

6450 running VGA out to COMPONENT TRANSCODER to Component input on a 36FV300 Trinitron

Link to video:


Link to pictures:
https://imgur.com/a/QbMSMRq

Please help me!

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6555
  • Last login:Today at 06:24:18 am
Re: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2019, 01:08:34 pm »
also i'm not sure this is a syncing issue or the graphic card is still outputting a 31khz signal

It's a sync issue. That signal is 15 kHz.

I've used my 6450 through an UMSA, it works perfectly here. I don't remind having to change any jumpers.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

@alaska-

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:May 21, 2019, 05:45:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2019, 06:35:07 pm »
also i'm not sure this is a syncing issue or the graphic card is still outputting a 31khz signal

It's a sync issue. That signal is 15 kHz.

I've used my 6450 through an UMSA, it works perfectly here. I don't remind having to change any jumpers.
i, in fact, bought an hd6450 after read you did use it with success as i was struggling to make a good decision on what to buy as gpu
first of all thanks for the pointer, i was scratching my head really bad in the last three days

BigDaddy video talks better then my picture and is the exact same problem
the only difference is that my tv scrolls like two time faster, but i understand is the same problem just worse in my case?

in order to rule out what is causing it
it's a matter of Crt ( i should have a second one in my basement) and/or cables
thinking about sync signal on vga cable or on the scart one
or from software side since i'm using generic 15khz and there are setting that would suit better for my picky tube?
i'm also confusing about the crt quality since i have it for years now and it's pretty much able to work with all the retro console i'm using it with
ntsc or pal doesn't metter i always get crystal clear picture (usign rgb scart)

EDIT: got back the second crt from the basement and indeed show the same sync issue
am i safe to assume the crt isn't causing the problem?
i ran out of tubes :/
« Last Edit: April 21, 2019, 04:23:55 am by @alaska- »

BigDaddy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:April 20, 2019, 09:09:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2019, 09:09:47 pm »
also i'm not sure this is a syncing issue or the graphic card is still outputting a 31khz signal

It's a sync issue. That signal is 15 kHz.

I've used my 6450 through an UMSA, it works perfectly here. I don't remind having to change any jumpers.

Hi Calamity,
I just wanted to say thank you! You have provided so much for this community without expecting anything in return. You're the man!

I know this is a weird issue. I hope we can solve it, but even if we don't, I hope you know that you're appreciated. Is there any other info I can provide to arrive at a solution to this mess?

@alaska-

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:May 21, 2019, 05:45:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2019, 07:07:48 pm »
gravediggin to let you know i was able to made the driver works
what i did that apparently give the green light for me was to import mame resolution e then install mode after generating them
tried two times and this worked for me instead of simply go straight to the edid button

honestly i don't remember this step in the guide
i took the tip from a youtube video
but could be me misreading it some steps

one question that arise now that i can truly enjoy all those pixel and scanlines and how do you guys launch games
i was struggling to find any decent and stupid proof front end
nor emulationstaion or hyperspin (and i don't like its wheely interface) or retrofe works oob
i m gaming with just groovy as frontend but obv a poor retronerd wants his games filtered
(my choice would be something like fba - > cave - pgm - cps2/3 etc)
« Last Edit: May 03, 2019, 07:10:22 pm by @alaska- »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6555
  • Last login:Today at 06:24:18 am
Re: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2019, 05:22:30 am »
gravediggin to let you know i was able to made the driver works
what i did that apparently give the green light for me was to import mame resolution e then install mode after generating them
tried two times and this worked for me instead of simply go straight to the edid button

honestly i don't remember this step in the guide
i took the tip from a youtube video
but could be me misreading it some steps

The guide actually tells you to install some modes, but doesn't go through importing modes from MAME because this is an obsolote procedure, anyway I'm glad you got it sorted this way. It seems the issue is for some reason EDID emulation by itself doesn't achieve correct sync on your hardware combination. Only after installing some modes it works, that's a good point regarding transcoders for future reference.

Quote
one question that arise now that i can truly enjoy all those pixel and scanlines and how do you guys launch games
i was struggling to find any decent and stupid proof front end
nor emulationstaion or hyperspin (and i don't like its wheely interface) or retrofe works oob
i m gaming with just groovy as frontend but obv a poor retronerd wants his games filtered
(my choice would be something like fba - > cave - pgm - cps2/3 etc)

You can use Attract Mode.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

@alaska-

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:May 21, 2019, 05:45:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2019, 06:38:25 am »

You can use Attract Mode.

thanks for the tip
looks cool and judging from some tutorial easy to setup

i also would like to mention for future users who could stumble across a similar problem that the complete setup is this:
Optiplex 760 with hd 6450 vga-out to umsa ultimate scart adapter (no tweaking, use it straight oot of the box)
normal consumer crt with scart in

i'll edit my first post accordingly

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 144
  • Last login:Today at 06:05:46 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Crtemudrive with W7 have no sync on crt (SOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2019, 07:46:05 pm »
Ciao Alaska!

good to see you here and glad you've solved your problems :)