Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: shaking screen Hz issue I think  (Read 790 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
shaking screen Hz issue I think
« on: April 15, 2019, 09:30:01 am »
Hi all,

I am playing around with groovymame.

These are py specs:

Win 7 pc prof edition with HD7770 Ati card.
Arcade screen is a Hantarex polo 25 from my original mortal kombat 2 cabinet.
Mame.ini created from groovymame with no additional changes done on it.

now my issue:

When I select Mortal Kombat 1,2 or 3 my screen shakes up and down very fast. bouncing.

When I select sunset riders, street fighter 3 the screen is solid as a rock. Also my homescreen, Attract mode it is solid and doesn't move a muscle.

What I noticed (pictures in attachment) is that my mk games are running at 54.707Hz and my street fighter at 59,58Hz..

strange thing is.. my monitor was from a mk2 cab I would expect using a 1:1 change res sollution It would be perfect on the MK and not on the others.

Are there any steps I can do to fix this (I can provide my mame.ini, screenshot of attract mode mame settings, log of the game.

maybe i lock the Hz on 59.5 solid for all games to don't have these issues?

I also needed to adjust the mame settings in the attract mode to this: when running rom take this command: -inipath D:/mame [name] with the new mame. running mame from command line was not finding the ini file.

I hope this is clear and maybe somebody can give me some tips.

Kind Regards,

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2019, 01:30:42 pm »
So,

I did a new test.

It seems with savage reign its also jumps up and down.
This game is 60hz on the clock.

Maybe its my resolution then?

I canít understand what i am doing wrong.

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
  • Last login:November 21, 2019, 09:10:20 am
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2019, 03:38:03 am »
You should definitely post a log.

Anyway are you using 0.208 ? because MAME 0.208 has a problem with the sleep option and it's causing games to lose refresh stability.

Try again with 0.207
GroovyMAME oddball LCD user: W7 64, viewsonic vx3211-mh, i5-4690k @4.1GHz, Rx 570, crt_emudriver 2.0b15

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2019, 04:04:32 am »
yes, the log is coming. :)

I am using the latest version yes, installed this weekend.

I will send a log later on.

I don't use super resolutions at this moment, this can be an issue? or not realy?

It is very strange it does it with some games like mk games and savage reign and sunset riders, sfIII runs perfect perfect :)

I will test what you have said and report back.

I don't realy need the latest version, what is actualy the best version's to use? mame/groovymame on w7/w10?

I use attract mode as frontend.


schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
  • Last login:November 21, 2019, 09:10:20 am
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2019, 08:05:39 am »
Usually the latest is the best, but since MAME 0.208 seems to have a problem at the moment, then groovyMAME has it too, so just try 0.207 to compare.

If there is no difference then your problem might be elsewhere.


Note; I can't explain the technical side so this is only speculation, but the issue in 0.208 might be related to the 'sleep' option (which you can turn on or off in the menus and see if it makes any difference)
for reference: https://mametesters.org/view.php?id=7275
GroovyMAME oddball LCD user: W7 64, viewsonic vx3211-mh, i5-4690k @4.1GHz, Rx 570, crt_emudriver 2.0b15

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2019, 08:21:28 am »
ok thx! I will do that.

It oversleeps some time :D funny stuff.

I will try it on the 207. Thx for the info allready.

I will also report back with logs.

thx

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2019, 12:42:25 pm »
Setting sleep to 0 did not fix it. I will do more tests and provide log

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6790
  • Last login:December 10, 2019, 03:43:48 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2019, 12:45:36 pm »
Hi piensken1,

You need to adjust the V-freq potentiometer in your monitor's chassis, slightly, until it syncs the whole range from 50 to 60 Hz (it should be possible).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2019, 04:22:45 pm »
Hi piensken1,

You need to adjust the V-freq potentiometer in your monitor's chassis, slightly, until it syncs the whole range from 50 to 60 Hz (it should be possible).

Yes. Its on the limit now

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2019, 02:58:47 am »
This is the pot meter I need to range? for the 45-60hz ? am I going to see something on the screen for this? I probably wait until it starts shaking before I arrange?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6790
  • Last login:December 10, 2019, 03:43:48 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2019, 03:32:19 am »
Yes, that's the pot you have to adjust. You'll see the screen either stable or rolling. You need to find a point that locks the whole arcade range.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2019, 03:55:05 am »
ok, I am going to do this tonight.

I am on the limit now, I was playing around yesterday and It was solid, stable perfect and after like 10 min of gameplay it started and after 4 min it stopped and then restarted again..
So I think I don't need to turn it alot..

I also think I turned it a little before when I was looking to center the screen.

Thx for the info, I reply back.

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2002
  • Last login:November 16, 2019, 11:47:54 am
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2019, 10:26:09 am »
I also have a Hantarex Polo 25 (not Polostar).  In my experience, finding the sweet spot for that vertical pot takes a little trial and error but it can be done.

Also,  it seemed easier to keep things stable once I moved to super resolutions.  But it could be my imagination.

When setting up CRT Emudriver, be sure to pick the Hantarex Polo from the list of monitor presets.
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

piensken1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:June 25, 2019, 07:51:57 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2019, 03:31:36 pm »
Im about to give up. I had the sweetspot wanted to test more games..


When loading bionic comando my system started to lose the sync
Complete..

Now when i start, it stays ok for 3min.. then the screen start to scramble..

Maybe ill reinstall..

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2002
  • Last login:November 16, 2019, 11:47:54 am
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: shaking screen Hz issue I think
« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2019, 05:59:52 pm »
My monitor behaves differently when it's cold vs when it's heated up.
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard