Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Williams Pharaoh not getting out of settings mode  (Read 961 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

WHJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:April 20, 2019, 04:08:32 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Williams Pharaoh not getting out of settings mode
« on: April 13, 2019, 11:37:04 am »
Hello all,

I have a Williams Pharaoh pinball. Nice machine and it has worked for over a year, but now it is 'stuck' in the settings mode and no matter what I try, I can't seem to be getting out of it to be able to play. According to the manual I should go to setting 50. I can get there but it should exit to game over when I depress advance with switch set to auto-up, but it never does that.
Another option at setting 50 would be to reset to factory settings. I should operate the credit button until 45 is indicated in player 1, but all I see is the number 65 there. I can move this one up to 66 (and no futher) or go down but then player 1 is blank. Nothing else, no matter what combo I try or how often I press credit button.
The same 65/66 thing is also in other places, like for example setting number 18 (maximum credits) which should be set to 0 for free play but that also can only be set to either blank or 65 or 66.

Anyone have any ideas on how I can get to playing again? Is something broke or am I overlooking something?

Kind regards,
Wieger

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6929
  • Last login:Today at 11:39:04 am
  • Technician
Re: Williams Pharaoh not getting out of settings mode
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2019, 02:24:31 am »
Any battery leakage damage to the board and/or the battery holder?

WHJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:April 20, 2019, 04:08:32 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Williams Pharaoh not getting out of settings mode
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2019, 04:48:05 am »
Hi Ken,

No there doesn't appear to be any leakage damage, at least not visible. I had also replaced the batterys just to be sure, but it had no effect and the batterys coming out also looked fine.

The weird thing is that the problem happens with all settings it seems, I can only seet it to either empty, 65 or 66. I just tried to set number 13 which is for 'Current highscore to date' and although it has 6 trailing zero's (million) the number before that which I can change is either 65,66 or empty so it makes 65000000, 66000000 or 000000.

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6929
  • Last login:Today at 11:39:04 am
  • Technician
Re: Williams Pharaoh not getting out of settings mode
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2019, 01:10:53 pm »
Sounds like the 5101 ram chip has gone corrupt and needs to be replaced.

WHJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:April 20, 2019, 04:08:32 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Williams Pharaoh not getting out of settings mode
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2019, 01:48:56 pm »
Thanks Ken. Will try to find a replacement and see if that works.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 9016
  • Last login:Today at 08:52:49 pm
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Williams Pharaoh not getting out of settings mode
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2019, 06:52:31 pm »
Turn it on, off, on, off, on quickly. That can bypass the 5101.

Also replace batteries and make sure the holder is making solid contact.
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

WHJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:April 20, 2019, 04:08:32 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Williams Pharaoh not getting out of settings mode
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2019, 02:48:16 am »
Hello pbj,

I've tried to on/off as fast as i can several times, but it didn't work. I had already replaced the batteries and the holder does seem to make solid contact.

I found a pinball repairman close to my home, so will take the board to him to replace the 5101 chip.

Thanks and kind regards,
Wieger