Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Could I use a 26" chassis (ie Nanao MS8) on 25" tube?  (Read 281 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jabb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:April 07, 2019, 11:02:28 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Could I use a 26" chassis (ie Nanao MS8) on 25" tube?
« on: March 26, 2019, 02:55:55 pm »
Howdy folks.  I've got a Die Hard cabinet that I would like to run a mixture of medium and standard resolution games on. Currently has a STD res WG U2000 in it.

Any thoughts on if a MS8-26 safely drive a 25" tube? I'd prefer a Nanao over the other dual/tri res 25"options eg. WG u5000 or Wei ya.

Thanks

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5808
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:25:07 pm
Re: Could I use a 26" chassis (ie Nanao MS8) on 25" tube?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 05:45:35 pm »
ms8-26 has a very specific yoke, its high impedance vertical and 0.300mh horizontal- it will not safely work on the u2000 yoke

jabb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:April 07, 2019, 11:02:28 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Could I use a 26" chassis (ie Nanao MS8) on 25" tube?
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 10:37:11 pm »
Sorry, I left that a little ambiguous.  I was expecting a yoke swap on a spare tube, but was unsure if the higher voltage for a 26" tube would smoke a 25".

However, I was just looking up ms8 tubes and realized that they are also A63 size  :o. So looks 25" donor tubes are viable.  I'll leave this here in case it will help someone googling it in the future.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5808
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:25:07 pm
Re: Could I use a 26" chassis (ie Nanao MS8) on 25" tube?
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2019, 06:03:51 am »
i test ms8-26 on polo 25 tubes using a ms8-26 yoke so its no problem