Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Minimum power requirements for JAMMA cards  (Read 206 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sollyscomputers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Last login:March 06, 2019, 01:31:51 am
  • Jukebox? check! Now on to cocktail cab
    • Softweb Developments
Minimum power requirements for JAMMA cards
« on: March 05, 2019, 12:58:55 pm »
Hey guys,
I have a 60 in 1 Jamma and looking for a power supply for it.  I found one which says it's for JAMMA cards, here is the link  https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/WM-138-Switching-Power-Supply-Output-5V-9A-12V-1-5A-For-Jamma-Arcade-Pinball/192806914920?hash=item2ce4300b68:g:~i0AAOSwiZVbmI4v

Would 1.5A be enough for the 12V??  What's the minimum required for it to run?

Thanks John

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8284
  • Last login:Today at 12:34:59 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6223
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:04:11 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Minimum power requirements for JAMMA cards
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2019, 02:27:13 pm »
the 60 in 1 card itself only uses +5 volts. the +12 volts is only used for the built in amplifier circuit. -5 volts is not even used on the cards and can be omitted completely.

if you plan on using external amp for audio via the "headphone jack" you can completely omit the +12 too.

sollyscomputers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Last login:March 06, 2019, 01:31:51 am
  • Jukebox? check! Now on to cocktail cab
    • Softweb Developments
Re: Minimum power requirements for JAMMA cards
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2019, 01:31:51 am »
if you plan on using external amp for audio via the "headphone jack" you can completely omit the +12 too.
Interesting.  So you could just use a 5V P/S.  Which brings me to my original question.  How many amps are needed.  I looked at the manual but that doesn't mention minimum req. for power.

PS.  I always use an external amp, but a real small one, just the circuit board type.  Only because I find it very easy to adjust the volume with a pot rather than going through the menu

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13503
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:08:32 pm
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Minimum power requirements for JAMMA cards
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2019, 08:46:51 am »
The draw on those boards is almost non existent, 1.5A is plenty
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.