Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Which button to which key ?  (Read 613 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Animal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Last login:August 20, 2019, 01:41:02 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Which button to which key ?
« on: February 20, 2019, 07:06:36 am »
So, I'm just completing my build (waiting for my decals) and just getting round to mapping the buttons on the CP to the Ultimarc Ultimate.

I'm old school retro and just used to left, right, up down and fire :).

What would everyone map the other 5 buttons for each player too ! keyboard Control to left player Button L for example.

I've attached a pic of the control panel showing what I have (1 player - L, R, X, Y, B, A coin insert and player start and the same for player 2).

Thanks and looking forward to getting this up and running :)


Gilrock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:56:03 am
Re: Which button to which key ?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2019, 09:05:24 am »
I'd just do a google search for default MAME mapping and use that.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7463
  • Last login:Today at 05:59:31 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Which button to which key ?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2019, 02:16:32 pm »
1. MAME defaults include "modifier" keys (Ctrl, Alt, Shift) that can cause problems.

Here's some good advice from BadMouth.

On the encoder, I replace the first four default MAME keys (Left Ctrl, Left Alt, Space, Shift) with z,x,c,v.
Do this, then remap those four keys globally in MAME before setting up any individual games.
With an I-Pac, you can remap them on the encoder itself.  With a key-wiz I just run the wire to the appropriate other connection.

It saves a lot of headaches down the road when you get to emulators, programs, or games where those keys either can't be mapped or cause issues.
Also no worries about triggering hotkey combos that would rotate windows and such.

Stick with ESC for exit on everything.

2. MAME is more flexible control-wise than other emulators.

If you are running other emulators, check if they need specific, hardcoded keystrokes.  i.e. ESC is exit and you can't change it.


Scott

Animal

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Last login:August 20, 2019, 01:41:02 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Which button to which key ?
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2019, 02:24:22 pm »
Thanks - that's a good starter for me.

Cheers



1. MAME defaults include "modifier" keys (Ctrl, Alt, Shift) that can cause problems.

Here's some good advice from BadMouth.

On the encoder, I replace the first four default MAME keys (Left Ctrl, Left Alt, Space, Shift) with z,x,c,v.
Do this, then remap those four keys globally in MAME before setting up any individual games.
With an I-Pac, you can remap them on the encoder itself.  With a key-wiz I just run the wire to the appropriate other connection.

It saves a lot of headaches down the road when you get to emulators, programs, or games where those keys either can't be mapped or cause issues.
Also no worries about triggering hotkey combos that would rotate windows and such.

Stick with ESC for exit on everything.

2. MAME is more flexible control-wise than other emulators.

If you are running other emulators, check if they need specific, hardcoded keystrokes.  i.e. ESC is exit and you can't change it.


Scott

Mr. Peabody

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 810
  • Last login:November 05, 2019, 02:30:42 pm
Re: Which button to which key ?
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2019, 07:53:08 pm »
At least one game you played had two buttons. Three were common by '86 or 7. And then there's Defender.

killallhumans

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:August 14, 2019, 04:52:47 am
  • What does this red button do?
Re: Which button to which key ?
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2019, 11:35:36 am »
Some friendly advice from someone who learned the hard way,

Ask RandyT
Quote
Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
Trying to force keyboard controllers into arcade servitude causes weird things to happen.
Extra key bindings and ghosting will kill your enjoyment of games.
Wiring becomes a total nightmare.
I know it's really fun to feel like you built everything from scratch, but this is not one of those
times when mad modding pays off.
Best of luck, and happy gaming.
- David
Auto•It 3 fixes everything.
Game loading, lights, sounds,
control mapping, screen rotation...
Compile scripts to EXEs and drop them
into your arcade Frontend.