Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller  (Read 616 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DimentoGraven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi, new to the forums, hopefully someone here can advise me.

I have a custom cabinet my younger brother built for me about 8.5 years ago, and over its use one of the Ultimarc sticks was getting stickier and stickier, so I recently had had enough of it and ordered a replacement, an Ultimarc 360 looks identical to the previous unit, and slipped into the cabinet with little issue physically.

However, now that controller isn't being seen when I launch mame based games.

It is 'seen' in the Ultimarc software, no problem, but in mame, it's not being seen.

Is there another level of software configuration I need to go through or some other interface/controller I need to update to resolve this?

Your advice is MUCH appreciated!

meyer980

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2019, 03:35:31 pm »
Have you tried hitting tab and using the menu to configure controls in MAME?

Zeosstud

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2019, 08:57:30 am »
Question, do you happen to have more than one U360 on your control panel?  I learned the very hard way that old U360s can not be combined with new U360s..  If not, I think the advice above is good, just see if you can map the new one in Mame..

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1019
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2019, 12:42:43 pm »
Your brother built it. Make him fix it.
%Bartop

DimentoGraven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2019, 06:28:24 pm »
Question, do you happen to have more than one U360 on your control panel?  I learned the very hard way that old U360s can not be combined with new U360s..  If not, I think the advice above is good, just see if you can map the new one in Mame..
Wow, seriously?  Yeah the cabinet was built with 2 controllers, and I just replaced the one.

Is it a firmware revision issue?  Perhaps I need to download and update the older joystick?

DimentoGraven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2019, 06:29:28 pm »
Your brother built it. Make him fix it.
LOL!

Nah, I want to show my appreciation for the gift by taking care of it myself.

DimentoGraven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2019, 10:49:32 pm »
In my troubleshooting I've downloaded the latest Ultimarc software and again, both controllers appear to be recognized by the software though, the new joy (P1) stick doesn't appear to be operating as analog, where the Ultimarc software shows the cursor movement more or less following the movement of the stick.  Instead it appears digital, as soon as I move the joystick the least little bit, the Ultimarc software jams the cursor all the way maximum the direction I have the joystick pointed, where as the old joystick (P2) seems to respond as I would expect an analog stick to perform, not maximizing unless I pull the joystick all the way to the maximum direction.

Is there something in the setup I've failed to do with the new joystick?

Pretty much every other location seems to recognize the new P1 joystick.

I'm also downloading the latest version of Mame Plus! XT, thinking maybe it's the old version of my emulator that's the issue.

Thoughts? 

I'm really hoping I don't have to purchase a new joystick for P2.  The current one, while older, works just fine.

MydknyteStyrm

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 313
  • Makeup FX Gamer
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2019, 10:53:44 am »
This sounds like the firmware issue I had when I replaced one of the U360s with a new one. You can ask Andy at Ultimarc, and he could sell you just the PCB board for your other joystick which is inherently less expensive


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

DimentoGraven

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2019, 11:25:46 am »
I resolved the 'analog' issue.  Apparently you can only have one joystick plugged in at a time when 'programming' it.  Once I programmed 'analog' again with just the P1 joystick plugged in, it seemed to operate closer to normal (though the older P2 joystick still seems to have a higher 'resolution/DPI' than the newer one).

I think the problem is that the older P2 joystick is now being recognized as P1.  I had to cut my troubleshooting short last night, so I wasn't able to confirm it completely, but when attempting to set the controller options the newer P1 controls seemed to be registering as Player 2.

Also, can anyone tell me if the pinouts for the new joystick changed from the old.  It appears that of the 6 buttons setup, 4 of them are swapped (though honestly they could have always been that way, not sure how my brother set this up).  The old P2 joystick has the buttons all sequential...

Zeosstud

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2019, 04:28:32 pm »
you can look at the board versions and find out if they are compatible or not, I recently ran into the exact same issue.. The was some sort of update that make the 2 not work together.. Sad but true..

isucamper

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 633
  • I'm a slasher... of prices!!
    • my project arcade blog
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2019, 02:27:01 pm »
This is just a guess, but the new U360 might be getting recognized as a different USB device than your old joystick. You may just have to remap the buttons in MAME to the new joystick configurations. You have to hit tab and go into the MAME settings to do this.
THE SYSTEM          Popeye

fytr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2019, 03:32:26 pm »
Hi, new to the forums, hopefully someone here can advise me.

I have a custom cabinet my younger brother built for me about 8.5 years ago, and over its use one of the Ultimarc sticks was getting stickier and stickier, so I recently had had enough of it and ordered a replacement, an Ultimarc 360 looks identical to the previous unit, and slipped into the cabinet with little issue physically.

However, now that controller isn't being seen when I launch mame based games.

It is 'seen' in the Ultimarc software, no problem, but in mame, it's not being seen.

Is there another level of software configuration I need to go through or some other interface/controller I need to update to resolve this?

Your advice is MUCH appreciated!

Probably a little late for this, but can you describe what you mean by "stickier and stickier"?  You can clean and even lube the joystick if required.

GeoMan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2019, 07:42:17 pm »
Make sure that each Ultrastick has a different ID defined in their software. Maybe you have 2 Ultrasticks both defined as joystick1?


Zeosstud

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Replaced 8.5 year old Ultimarc controller with new Ultimarc Controller
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2019, 07:25:51 pm »
Does not matter if you set the id's correctly.. nothing matters.. if you have an old U360 and a new U360 in the same cabinet, your hosed.  Sadly, I had the same problem..

- Zeosstud
Rodney Butler

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31