Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers  (Read 1166 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 662
  • Last login:April 21, 2019, 03:07:34 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« on: January 23, 2019, 04:22:53 pm »
Spindizzi, the same guy who got the the multiplayer network working in Supermodel, has figured out how to get FFB working in the remaining Model 3 racers that previously didn't support it, including Le Mans 24, in the latest versions of Supermodel. You'll need to modify your existing ROMs with an EPROM from one of the games that already supports FFB, like Scud Race. Find out more here. Le Mans is a little different to the others and needs a bit of additional work to enable it. This is pretty awesome! I like Le Mans anyway (it's one of those racers that really seems to divide opinions. Some love it, some hate it) but it feels a lot better to play now, with the wheel now providing some resistance as you turn around corners and such. Great work!
« Last Edit: January 23, 2019, 06:59:40 pm by MrThunderwing »

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 792
  • Last login:April 18, 2019, 12:27:38 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2019, 08:09:41 pm »
That's cool. I still don't have FFB wheels, but one day. One day.

How is supermodel networking coming along, btw? Was it a fork, or is it in every new build? And has it been updated at all, or still requires single-threading?

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 659
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:02:48 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2019, 10:25:33 pm »
That's great news Thunderwing, thanks for sharing mate.

I do hope this gentlemen takes a look at ScudRace though. The ffb in that game is, well...it could use some work(no offense to Nik).

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 662
  • Last login:April 21, 2019, 03:07:34 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2019, 10:47:12 am »
That's cool. I still don't have FFB wheels, but one day. One day.

How is supermodel networking coming along, btw? Was it a fork, or is it in every new build? And has it been updated at all, or still requires single-threading?

No change at the moment, in terms of still being single core only, but each new build incorporates it now.

Moksi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 109
  • Last login:Today at 02:13:25 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2019, 05:16:17 pm »
i think only Harley davidson & LA riders doesnt have ffb

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 662
  • Last login:April 21, 2019, 03:07:34 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2019, 06:12:29 am »
Yarp. Also, using the advice from Spindizzi (from the link in my first post) about a bit of ROM swappery, I've been able to get Sega Rally 2 DX working in Supermodel, which is a tiny little bit different to the regular version:

NinjaZero

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:February 21, 2019, 02:11:52 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2019, 05:55:15 pm »
I think this is just for wheel setups, not rumble on x360 pads.  Still good news but I would love for Boomslang to contribute his talents to the Super Model emu.

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 659
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:02:48 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2019, 12:17:50 am »
I think this is just for wheel setups, not rumble on x360 pads.  Still good news but I would love for Boomslang to contribute his talents to the Super Model emu.

You and me both  :afro:

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1157
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:49:20 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2019, 06:42:03 pm »
Eh? Wasn't lemans24 the game that supports both model2 and model3 driveboards by changing the FFB type in the game config?
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 662
  • Last login:April 21, 2019, 03:07:34 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2019, 10:30:43 am »
I've never looked at the FFB type in the game config for Le Mans personally. Off the top of my head, I recall seeing Spindizzi mentioning something, in one of the Supermodel threads, along the lines of the official rom for FFB in Le Mans being the same as the one in Sega Touring Car for the Model 2 Board, but when he tried swapping it into the Le Mans ROM, it didn't do anything, hence the use of the Scud Race FFB rom.

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1157
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:49:20 pm
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2019, 04:19:11 pm »
Well... You can change the cabinet type
"TWIN-NORMAL" sends Model2C style FFB commands and most likely uses an STCC cabinets and drive boards.
"TWIN-LEMANS" sends Model3 style FFB commands and most likely uses SCUD RACE cabinets and drive boards.

But as we only emulate the M3 drive board, that rom swap should be fine :)
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


ignignot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:Today at 12:38:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB now working in all Model 3 Racers
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2019, 11:45:47 pm »
What version of supermodel do I need for this? I'm running 0.2a and lemans24 plays but FFb is not working.  I tried SVN 761 and it crashes before the game loads :(
« Last Edit: March 29, 2019, 10:10:17 am by ignignot »