Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: PI PSUs  (Read 544 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5645
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
PI PSUs
« on: January 22, 2019, 01:47:21 am »
Frys have a sale on Pi PSUs at $2.49 + Tax. 

They are the Rhino brand and if you do not like seeing the lightning bolt on the screen when you boot up your PI this will solve it.

They normally retail at $9.99.

I bought 10  ;D
If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

J_K_M_A_N

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 768
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:04:39 pm
Re: PI PSUs
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2019, 08:47:30 am »
I have found that it is not always the power supply itself if you have those USB power supply adapters. I had like 6 cables that would give the lightning bolt and 3 that did not (using a monoprice USB plug adapter). I think if you have those and they are at least 5V 2A, you should try different cables before tossing them aside.

J_K_M_A_N

drewjbx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Last login:April 18, 2019, 06:28:25 am
Re: PI PSUs
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2019, 10:06:09 am »
I looked for these on frys website didnít see them, are they not listed.. I would like to grab some too but frys is about an hour from me, guess I could call. Can you tell me a sku number or model and brand?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5645
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
Re: PI PSUs
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2019, 05:56:30 am »
I looked for these on frys website didnít see them, are they not listed.. I would like to grab some too but frys is about an hour from me, guess I could call. Can you tell me a sku number or model and brand?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Model PSA CA005

SKU 5419000514  Phino
If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1606
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:15:15 pm
  • Web Developer.
Re: PI PSUs
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2019, 06:51:10 am »
https://www.frys.com/product/9447501?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Hopefully itís good. I ordered a 3a psu off Amazon specifically stating for pi 3b and will eliminate unervoltage lightening bolts. Well, I got the bolt. They sent me a replacement that works fine. I think with the pi craze, companies are cheaping out and not paying the manufacturers enough for quality control.

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1606
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:15:15 pm
  • Web Developer.
Re: PI PSUs
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2019, 06:52:03 am »
https://www.frys.com/product/9447501?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Hopefully itís good. I ordered a 3a psu off Amazon specifically stating for pi 3b+ and will eliminate unervoltage lightening bolts. Well, I got the bolt. They sent me a replacement that works fine. I think with the pi craze, companies are cheaping out and not paying the manufacturers enough for quality control.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1156
  • Last login:April 20, 2019, 07:00:38 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: PI PSUs
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2019, 09:40:22 pm »
I got the bolt at boot the other day on my RPI 3 after booting it up the first time.
It went away after boot and didn't see it again playing genesis stuff.
I bought 3 supplies together so I swapped one out and no bolt so I think kiel is right.
these were "certified" rpi supplies off amazon.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8296
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:06:00 pm
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: PI PSUs
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2019, 11:07:02 pm »
Just disable the bolt in your config file.
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

newmanfamilyvlogs

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1611
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:11:06 pm
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,103584.msg1096585.html#msg1096585
    • Newman Family Vlogs
Re: PI PSUs
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2019, 01:44:44 pm »
Just disable the bolt in your config file.

Isn't that a bit like turning up my car stereo so I can't hear how bad my engine sounds? :D