Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error  (Read 1022 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Drakin

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Last login:January 27, 2019, 09:28:53 pm
hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« on: January 21, 2019, 08:13:56 am »
Any suggestions....Thanks

Sorry the last picture is kida hard to see.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2019, 08:15:28 am by Drakin »

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 160
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:35 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 08:19:43 am »
You have a Force machine that's being recognized as a Maxx. This generally means your ioboard is not being detected. There have been numerous forum posts about this

Sent from my XT1687 using Tapatalk


Drakin

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Last login:January 27, 2019, 09:28:53 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 08:59:33 pm »
Yea....I've looked at those posts....I have unplugged the I/O board but still have the error...I never get the I/O board error....all 4 led's light up...I've re-installed the os many times with no luck.

Anyway I'll try a few more things...

Drakin

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Last login:January 27, 2019, 09:28:53 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 09:24:20 pm »
There isn't a "key" on the I/O board....Is there  supposed to be one?

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 160
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:35 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2019, 07:23:06 am »
Assuming this is a Fusion? Key will be in the ioboard or on the opposite side of the monitor on the osd board. From your pictures, it appears to be in the osd board

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 581
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:06:49 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2019, 08:13:15 am »
If you pull the key out of the osd board, do you get a "no key detected" error? Im wondering if your key's battery died. Also try taking the key out of the osd board and put it in the IO board to rule out bad wiring going from the osd to IO.

Drakin

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Last login:January 27, 2019, 09:28:53 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2019, 07:43:43 pm »
If you pull the key out of the osd board, do you get a "no key detected" error? Im wondering if your key's battery died. Also try taking the key out of the osd board and put it in the IO board to rule out bad wiring going from the osd to IO.

Thanks for the reply...Ill try that...thnx

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 160
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:35 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2019, 10:41:11 pm »
Is your key SA3526? That's Force 2007. You have a 2004 hard drive judging by the error message.

Sent from my XT1687 using Tapatalk


Drakin

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Last login:January 27, 2019, 09:28:53 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2019, 04:59:51 pm »
Ok I dont get an "no key detected" when removing key. Key is a SA- 3579

The Hard drive in the picture had died so I'm using a Hitachi DeskStar 30gig
« Last Edit: January 26, 2019, 05:01:50 pm by Drakin »

Drakin

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Last login:January 27, 2019, 09:28:53 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2019, 05:05:45 pm »
So a SA-3579 key is for Force 2010 right? is this system capable of running that and the bios boot screen says FORCE 2003.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 581
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:06:49 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2019, 05:19:40 pm »
What version did you install on this hitachi hard drive? Or did you buy it with software installed?

Drakin

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Last login:January 27, 2019, 09:28:53 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2019, 05:34:44 pm »
I had installed 2004 ... in the process of getting the 2010 version...I'll install that and let you know what happens.

Thanks for the help btw.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2019, 05:39:26 pm by Drakin »

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 160
  • Last login:Today at 05:20:35 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2019, 05:49:37 pm »
Just when I thought I'd heard of everything

Sent from my XT1687 using Tapatalk


mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 581
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:06:49 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2019, 05:59:13 pm »
I had installed 2004 ... in the process of getting the 2010 version...I'll install that and let you know what happens.

Thanks for the help btw.

Make sure you get 2010 force not 2010 ion. You are looking for this image: V28_20T100329_1757_1OF1

Drakin

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Last login:January 27, 2019, 09:28:53 pm
Re: hard drive failed on mega touch now I have error
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2019, 11:56:26 am »
Alright game is up and running!....thanks for the help...always a learning experience.

Probably an easy fix for somebody that has worked on allot of these...I was figuring it was something more than just a simple correct OS install.

I know now to look closely at the key regardless of what the splash screen says. :)
« Last Edit: January 27, 2019, 11:59:02 am by Drakin »