Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)  (Read 673 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tandrews

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 01:34:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« on: January 12, 2019, 09:38:05 pm »
I have a ATI HD4200 with Calamity Emudriver 2 beta 14
I'm having the following issue:

I can only get some oddball resolutions working:
640x480 interlaced, this would be fine but it looks very flickery when using stuff with lines.
388x320 (or something odd like that)
588x432 (or something odd like that)

To be clear, the resolutions appear, but won't sync at all.

That's really about it, maybe one off one but can't recall.

I've tried different settings (arcade 15khz, 15khz, k7000, etc). Nothing seems to work. Is this an issue with the card I'm using? Worst case I'll use an odd ball resolution thats progressive but I'd need to slightly stretch it.

TIA!

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6508
  • Last login:Today at 02:15:46 pm
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2019, 01:18:26 pm »
That's the old issue with low dotclocks, affecting HD 2xxx & 3xxx cards. The HD 4200 is based on the HD 3400. In VMMaker,  video card options, set a minimum dotclock of 8.0 and redo the modes. Then, in mame.ini (in case you're using GM), set dotclock_min 8.0.

Search this board, this issue has been addressed a few dozens of times.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

tandrews

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 01:34:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2019, 10:11:27 pm »
I'm sorry for repeating a common question :(. I didn't know what to search for as there's so many terms. I will test this and report back, you're a god either way!

Question:
A lot of games are resolutions that don't fit. I set mame's dotclock to 8.0mhz and zoo keeper is very crushed. I'm sure I'm asking something stupid, so forgive me.
I am using GroovyMAME. My suspicion is lack of a square resolution? It works if I force 4:3, which I don't personally see any issues with but wanted a professional opinion.

ZK is 256x256.

I tried super resolutions and it did the samething, only much worse. I did verify GM was set to d3d.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2019, 11:46:02 pm by tandrews »

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 792
  • Last login:March 17, 2019, 03:48:13 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2019, 12:13:47 am »
Vertical resolution = horizontal lines = the critical factor when it comes to resolutions. So yes, set the aspect to 4:3, noting that super resolutions are preferable for a GM setup and will possibly stretch more evenly than, as an example, 320x256. Once the aspect is right, of course. You do have to make sure to set super_width to 2560, or to whatever number you've chosen as the horizontal in your super resolution setup.

Most games were still displayed in 4:3 on a monitor of that aspect, despite the actual numbers in the resolution. This easy to do with a CRT.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2019, 12:15:41 am by buttersoft »

tandrews

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 01:34:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2019, 12:42:34 am »
Duh, should have thought of that. So I should be good just choosing a resolution close to my desired settings and using 4:3.

The game looks fine and I don't see anything to be concerned with.

I am obviously using a CRT so that's not an issue.

Regarding the super resolutions:
Shouldn't switchres handle the aspect ratio and such? It is completely unusable when using SR. Honestly if the above is all I need to do, is there a benefit to super resolutions? Going to be building these as replacement systems for many of my more expensive to replace boards so I'd like to be sure everything is right.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6508
  • Last login:Today at 02:15:46 pm
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2019, 04:13:35 am »
Regarding the super resolutions:
Shouldn't switchres handle the aspect ratio and such? It is completely unusable when using SR.

It does handle everything, if you use it correctly it's actually boring because there's nothing else to do on your part.

My understanding is you're mixing two different methods. You're trying to use the old static resolutions method -which is fine aside of the dotclock issue with your particular card- but if you're willing to use that method you first need to create lots of resolutions that currently you don't have available, e.g. 256x256 (or 512x256) is not created when using the very basic "user_modes.ini" mode list. To do so, you have to list from xml, using the MAME's tab in VMMaker.

The prefered alternative these days is to use super resolutions. That way you target the dotclock issue and the odd ball resolutions issue at once.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

tandrews

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 01:34:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2019, 11:15:05 am »
See thats the thing. I've actually tried all of these methods and the game just always looks screwy unless I manually set aspect to either "-noka" or 4:3 manually.

I've tried to do the mame generation, it never adds square resolutions but does add others. I see them generated in VMMaker's output, but when I go to ArcadeOSD, it's not there.

I've also tried using the super mode, but only two show up 2560x240 and 2560x248.

Again I thank you for the support, because I'm at a loss.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6508
  • Last login:Today at 02:15:46 pm
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2019, 12:12:18 pm »
You're doing something wrong. Post a log and I'll tell you what.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

tandrews

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 01:34:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2019, 04:52:38 pm »
Okay.

I've gone through the process and documented my actions:
Since I know I'll be using other emulators in the future, I just installed static resolutions.

I used MAME to generate it.
When I went to ArcadeOSD all of the resolutions are 240p:
456x240
464x240
480x240
496x240
512x240
etc.

Attached is GM log:

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6508
  • Last login:Today at 02:15:46 pm
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2019, 04:58:02 pm »
You seem to have done the whole process correctly but forgotten the last step where you have to install the video modes.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

tandrews

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 01:34:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2019, 05:18:46 pm »
Oh no, I 100% hit "install"
Clicked yes to warning, it then flashed as the driver reloaded
Then went to ArcadeOSD

Before I installed I only had resolutions from EDID monitor I connected.
This has been very puzzling for me.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6508
  • Last login:Today at 02:15:46 pm
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2019, 05:32:25 pm »
Make sure you uncheck "Hide modes this monitor does not support" in the advanced display properties dialog (Windows).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 792
  • Last login:March 17, 2019, 03:48:13 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2019, 06:21:38 pm »
Duh, should have thought of that. So I should be good just choosing a resolution close to my desired settings and using 4:3.

Well, as long as you select a vertical resolution that matches or is slightly larger than the game needs. And same for the horizontal, unless you use super resolutions so the image has room to stretch more evenly. This stuff is all automated in GM though, if you set up super resolutions right. I'd try setting up super resolutions and getting GM to work right. The learning from that will help you move to static resolutions if you want to, though you can just type a few extra resolutions into the user-modes+super ini file, or whatever it's called, and cover the consoles you want.

Go with Calamity's advice and turn off hiding the modes. For a pre-EDID emulation card from the 4000-series or back, the monitor's own EDID does not allow for low resolution modes even if they're installed, so you need to tell windows to allow them.

tandrews

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 01:34:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2019, 05:24:13 pm »
Just checking, wouldn't ArcadeOSD show the missing resolutions?
I have tried super reses and only had 2 2560x240 and x248.
Is this expected?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6508
  • Last login:Today at 02:15:46 pm
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2019, 05:48:21 pm »
Just checking, wouldn't ArcadeOSD show the missing resolutions?
I have tried super reses and only had 2 2560x240 and x248.
Is this expected?

No, it's not expected.

In Arcade OSD, try unchecking the option "Lock unsupported modes".

In the past, I've seen 256/512 height modes disappear when there's a conflict with another monitor's EDID, typically a PC CRT's EDID. In your logs I've noticed a phantom ViewSonic PT775 monitor popping up at some. Is it possible that you're using that monitor in your tests and somehow its EDID is getting in the middle?

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

tandrews

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 01:34:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2019, 01:33:03 am »
Wow you're good...Cleared EDID's using CRU
Now super resolutions are working.

I added some extra resolutions in case I need them. But I think 640x480i will cover daphne and other things just fine.

Man, stupid stuff getting in the way as usual, thanks for being so awesome.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 792
  • Last login:March 17, 2019, 03:48:13 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Issues with CRT Emudriver (ATI HD4200)
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2019, 05:35:39 pm »
Wow you're good...

He's even better than that :)